MakeupAlley has a FREE Android App!

NARS • Light Reflecting Pressed Setting Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 4.5(62 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thecharm on 3/2/2013 10:33:00 AM more reviews by thecharm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I'm going to let you in on a little secret about NARS Light Reflecting pressed powder: It's silica. It's silica with a makeover. It's like Mia Thermopolis, although instead of trading bushy hair and glasses for sleek and contacted, it trades the messy dust and white cast for a super hard-pressed powder with subtle micas breaking up the whiteness. The good news is there's a reason people like silica-based powders: they control oil and they blur pores. So if you like silica-based powders, you will really like this. If you like silica but find the tendency loose silica powders have to fly up into your face annoying or want a pressed version for travel, you will really like this. If silica makes your skin react or feel tight... you're not going to like this. It may be prettier than normal silica but that is what it is, mostly, at its core. NARS LRP is hard and has virtually no dust. I apply it with a black natural-hair brush so I can see just what I'm picking up and putting down. If you look closely you can see shimmery micas in the powder, however, they do not show up on my face at all. The effect is a satin, dry but not entirely matte finish. I needed a pressed powder, and I like this one, but I'm not so sold on it that I would call it a HG.

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkharbour on 2/7/2013 7:45:00 AM more reviews by darkharbour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an unusual product. When you first look at the tablet, it appears to be a milky white with some undertones of blue and perhaps green. You stroke a brush over it, look at the bristles, and . . . see nothing. So you go back and start scouring the tablet with your brush. Don't do that. It really should look clear or colorless on the brush. This is gossamer light, does not grab at all when applied over creamy foundations and blushes. I just used mine over LM Silk Cream and an Illamasqua cream blush. If you apply it sheerly, it evens the skin texture, reduces shine, and sets makeup. The texture is smooth but not dry. If you overapply, you can look a bit ghostly. There is no shimmer that shows up on your face, so the name may be a bit misleading. This stuff is virtually dust free. For reference, I am NW 20/25 with mature skin.

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aspiecutie on 4/14/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by aspiecutie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

For the longest time I was wondering how the NARS Light Reflecting powders compared to the Ambient Lighting Powders by HOURGLASS.

I kept reading through blog reviews trying to find a clear comparison. Long story short, I left home one morning, heading to Sephora, on a mission! I made swatches, checked them in different lighting, went outside. They end up being quite different in direct sunlight. The NARS powder stands somewhere between Diffused and Ethereal Light. It gives the glow of Etheral but has some of Diffused's frikkinn amazing micro-fine stardust, which can only be seen at very close inspection under direct sunlight. It combines the best of both, and is my favorite.

I am male with very oily skin and use this on my cheekbones as highlight. Unlike other subtle highlights I have used in the past, this will never appear shimmery - no matter the lighting. I love it especially for daylight. At night I prefer to upgrade to WnW Reserve Your Cabana. Or should I say Downgrade? Well, sunlight IS the most difficult test, isn't it? Having to go High End for the subtlest high light is not surprising. Despite the very low price, WnW is great and whoever enjoys this kind of illuminating powders should go ahead and buy it. NARS on the other hand is a beautiful all over face powder for bridal makeup or that only special highlight which is office appropriate.

NOTE: Because this is more of a powder than a highlight, it's better if you don't apply your regular powder on the same areas. This adds subtle luminosity but also sets well and mattifies just enough. A great example of advanced, modern makeup.

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rtobiejr on 2/11/2013 5:33:00 PM more reviews by rtobiejr

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. I have owned several powders (MUFE's revered HD, Ben Nye's banana powder, NARS loose powder in Mountain)-- so, I've been around the block. MUFE is great, but makes me itch (it has to be the silica, because there's only one ingredient). Banana powder is nice but is more for an evening event, as it is a mess to apply on the go. But this-- oh this-- in the words of Baby Bear is juuust right. does not make me look pale or splotchy, or oxidize or cast shadows, and the pressed powder variety travels so well. would I repurchase? you bet your porridge I would...

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deadonarrivals on 8/5/2013 9:43:00 AM more reviews by deadonarrivals

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I tested this powder out for a week and I'm ready to give a detailed review.
Skin type/tone: Oily/Olive
I tested this out on normal days 70s and very hot days 90+. The last day of the test was the ultimate conclusion which is I love this powder. The last day was on a boat in the sun with sea spray and wind. The very first thing you do after a boat ride is go into the head and fix yourself. I went in and my makeup was still on point! I didn't need a touch up after 4 hours of riding the sea! Being oily and in the sun, this is pretty amazing. This powder really blows MUFE HD setting powder out of the water. With Nars LRPSP, it makes your skin flawless and glowing. You'll never get a powder white cast with this. It blots the oil yet doesn't make you look cakey. But I stress technique is KEY for this powder to work at it's best. I don't recommend you buff this in like you would with regular powder. I use a technique called the "TV Swoop" using the Too Faced Flatbuki brush. You lightly swipe the brush in the powder and swoop your tzone (making a T), your right cheek down to your chin and your left cheek into your chin (making a V). This is a firm powder so don't expect to see a lot of product when you swatch it and this isn't made to be piled on the skin. Do light wispy swoops when you need a touch up. There is a possibility that this is causing a skin reaction which I'm not surprised being a Nars face product (typical for me). But I'm still not 100% sure this is what is causing some breakouts yet.

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinahb on 3/12/2013 10:06:00 AM more reviews by xtinahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I already know I will hit pan on this amazing powder. Kett, MUFE HD, Laura Mercier, all now take a total backseat to the Pressed Nars setting powder. It is truly colorless on my light tan Asian NC30/C4 complexion. It truly keeps my skin satin/almost matte (but still healthy) for a solid 6 hours. There is no powderiness. I can layer and layer and buff and buff and I just get more and more surreal skin, but after a couple layers it definitely looks, well, surreal, so I tend to stop after a quick layer using a flat-top natural hair brush for my major planes and a smaller setting brush for around the nose, etc (I like a discontinued Lancome 'Cheekers' brush for the flat top brush and Nars Yachiyo around the curves of my face). If you buy be sure to have the MUA "ground" up the top layer of your powder. They can just use a big, flat kabuki style brush and scrape away the top film as they did at the Nars store for me here in NYC. You don't lose hardly any powder at all and it just makes the powder all ready to use! It's ah-may-zing. A+.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missmelsie on 9/27/2013 3:14:00 AM more reviews by missmelsie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best powder ever!!

I've been on the hunt for a good setting powder and my criteria is that it's mattifying, lasts a long time, doesn't break me out, looks natural, easy to touch up and handy to carry around. Sounds like too much to ask for? Apparently so, until I started using Nars LRPSP!

First of all, it really is translucent. I have medium-dark skin (NC42-43 in MAC, Bobbi Brown Honey) and this is undetectable on me. Even on days where I've used a lot (ie. I can see it heavily on my mineral powder brush before I brush it onto my skin) it doesn't leave a white cast. Also, there's a very visible shimmer to the product in the pan, but that's not at all noticeable on my skin.

I have a shiny t-zone and always feel greasy and have to blot after 2-3 hours. I am so paranoid about looking oily but I do hate having to keep an eye on my makeup and my oil levels during the day. I apply this powder with my ELF mineral powder brush (so I guess I use more than I need to, but you can't tell) in the morning and I DON'T HAVE TO BLOT ALL DAY. THIS is what makes this powder amazing!!! I've never found anything that controls oil this well and I've tried everything from MAC Blot Powder to Ben Nye, Black Opal, the list goes on.

This powder also doesn't leave you feeling powdery or heavy. I still use my Bobbi Brown powder over my foundation (simply because I use the golden orange colour and it warms up my complexion) and then I apply the NARS powder, and there's no difference with or without the NARS powder.

I love that it's in a generous sized compact with a big mirror, and it comes in a cute pouch with a little puff in a separate compartment. I found when I used to touch up with my Bobbi Brown powder, using the puff would be too heavy and I'd have to blend with my fingers (I don't want to carry around a brush with me!) and it was a hassle. The truth is, with this NARS powder, I haven't even needed to use the puff or touch up at all because it seriously lasts me ALL DAY. The reason I purchased the pressed powder was so it would be easier for on-the-go touch ups, but I haven't needed it!

Yes, it's expensive ($74 NZD) but I've spent so much money on oil controlling products that don't clog my skin and break me out that don't work, I'd honestly pay more for this. Based on reviews here, I used a kabuki brush to brush off the top layer of the powder to reveal the shimmery stuff, and even though I'm sure I use loads each day (because I'm using a mineral powder brush rather than a big powder brush) I know this will last me ages. I haven't noticed a lot of "light reflecting" properties, but I guess it doesn't make my face look as "flat" as usual - I'm probably more relieved that the shimmer in the powder doesn't really show up on the skin.

Bottom line: I love this stuff and will be purchasing it forever.

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mjenap on 6/13/2013 1:36:00 PM more reviews by mjenap

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am in love with this powder. I bought the pressed, not the loose, powder because I make a mess and didn't want to waste any of it. It travels perfectly. Most setting powders I've tried have highlighted any of my dry spots and this is the first one that hasn't. My skin looks beautiful and I definitely don't have nice skin. I wore it on a cruise and it made my makeup last for hours...into the wee hours of the morning in fact! And in all the pictures taken my skin looks great. It absolutely blurs all of your imperfections. I will never be without it.
When I bought it at Sephora, there was a Nars rep there and he told me to run my brush over the top a few times to break up the top layer. That will improve the texture immediately.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sanduhra on 2/26/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by sanduhra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

With sensitive, acne-prone combination skin tending on the drier side, my skin reacts (belligerently) when I experiment with new products. I use two products on my face only - bb cream and stick concealer - and have rarely found success with powder. It usually doesn't stick around long enough to offset the danger of clogged pores.


This. Is. Different! Like the first reviewer, I initially thought that my brush wasn't picking anything up and kept swiping to no avail. Eventually I just applied whatever, not having high hopes. I thought I noticed that my skin looked softer and more even, but I was feeling pretty skeptical, and I didn't feel any product on my face. But by 3PM, I noticed something interesting: there was no oil in my customary forehead oil slick. NONE. And in pictures, I just looked GOOD. My skin glowed, but not in the typical feature-erasing flash that most powders produce.


This is the real deal. It controls oil, creates a diffuse glow, keeps makeup looking flawless and does not irritate skin. Repurchasing FOREVER.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawnzartandlife on 7/25/2013 2:29:00 PM more reviews by dawnzartandlife

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Again I have been influenced to purchase an item due to reviews on MUA. I wanted a setting finish type powder, I went to Sephora and tried 3. The MU artist tried Guerlain Meteorites, Laura Mercier and this one. I chose this one, and have been using it and really like it. It gives a hint of pretty glow without being over the top and does exactly what I wanted it to. Big fan, and will repurchase. I like the pressed version over the messier loose type. I love the little holder with elastic band it comes with for my purse too. I am extremely fair and it is translucent like it reports, other brands actually turned out too dark and claimed to be translucent too. This one actually is.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Pressed Powders products