NARS Light Reflecting Pressed Setting Powder

4.4

99 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

synthetic fluorphlogopite, silica, cetearyl ethylhexanoate, glycerin, squalane, octyldodecyl stearoyl stearate, polysorbate 80, caprylyl glycol, ethylhexylglycerin, carrageenan, xanthan gum, 1,2-hexanediol, pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate, maris aqua (sea water), ascophyllum nodosum (ascophyllum nodosum extract), magnesium silicate, tocopheryl acetate, phenoxyethanol, potassium sorbate, tin oxide, mica, ci 77891 (titanium dioxide), ci 77491 (iron oxides)


on 6/28/2015 10:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is an excellent setting powder I really enjoy it because I don't have to use setting spray as much and it gives my skin an almost photoshopped glowey without being sparkly appearance. I love how long this lasts too. I use an elf powder brush and it applies perfectly without picking up too much product. On me it is completely translucent and it controls oil very well. I barely need to touch up with this powder as well.

I really love the pouch it comes in I personally like to use a brush with this. So my sponge remains untouched. I have a 187se that I keep in my makeup bag and use that if I even need a touch up. I have combination skin so it controls my oily spots without drying out the rest of my skin. This is expensive but to me is worth the money. The padkaging is lovely and comes with a good mirror for touch ups. To me it's truley lasts and is a great setting powder. In terms of holding makeup I can say my blush and highlighter remain on longer and look great when I use this.

I would repurchase because the product itself is just awesome! It truley makes my skin look better. It's great for low mu days as well. This is a really great setting powder and it keeps my oil at bay very well. I really like how it gives that blurring effect without being shimmery too. Love! Recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/26/2015 2:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My t-zone is oily and after i apply my foundation i just like using this powder.I apply it on my t-zone and my under eyes and the result is amazing.The texture is amazing it feels like velvet and it brightens the area you apply on.It is my favourite product.


on 6/25/2015 6:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really like this powder. It sets my makeup beautifully with a soft glow and keeps my face matte. When I swatched it on my hand, I saw microscopic glitter but it's not noticeable at all when applied - also, it doesn't give off a white cast in photos. Finely milled, smells a little like soap. Very expensive but the product lives up to all of the hype.


on 6/22/2015 2:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have had this powder for a few months now and have yet to notice any glow. In fact it does not seem to do anything, I would return it to Sephora if I still had the receipt. I am baffled by the positive reviews.


on 6/11/2015 2:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Redundant on fair skin tones.

Super fine texture and doesn't feel dry once on. It's hard to tell how much you've picked up on a brush, if any. It's definitely not a "setting" powder. More of an "effect" powder. I found the effect to be zero until someone took a picture with flash. Theeeeeeeere it was.

Didn't do a thing for me, so gave it away to a friend with a much darker skin tone. Gives her a dewy glow. She loves it.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love silica powders but I hate the mess. And sometimes they look chalky and unaturally matte. This one is amazing because it fixes the mess issue by being pressed. And the "light reflecting" part makes it slightly less chalky so it sets beautifully but looks more natural and less dry. I wasn't sold on it and one day I hit pan and realized I must really like it to hit pan. The down sides are that it's so dry and stiff it's hard to tell if it's on a brush and applying to the skin. Also it's very pricy. I'm currently trying out the Sonia Kashuk chic luminosity powder as a dupe. So while I love this, it's pricy enough that I may go with Sonia Kashuk instead.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/5/2015 12:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I actually filmed a video on reviewing this product here is link and everything in the video is my review on it.







on 5/26/2015 11:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

In the store, I was amazed by how my skin felt nicer with the powder on. I went and checked some other high-end brands, but I was less than impressed with how they settled into the fine lines on my hand. Went back and bought the pressed version for its portability.

After lightly scouring the top with a disposable mascara wand (no fingers, for reasons I will describe below), I was able to get this on my brush. I could barely perceive the powder, but it did its job. The finish on my skin was lovely, naturally matte, and it did not cake into my skin, even with my moisturiser addiction. The sparkly bits are barely noticeable even up close, and provide a gentle lightening effect. A fine-tuned, real-life Gaussian blur for your pores. Makeup was nicely set. Requires a mid-day touch-up for the oilier areas of my face, but I live in a humid climate, so it is to be expected.

I am very glad I got this and not the loose powder version. Less really is more with this product, and it is easier to control application with the pressed. If you have bad habits from applying cheaper powders which require heavier application, you with have to break them. One swipe per area is all you need, and will yield the best results. Use a black natural hair brush if you want to confirm that you have product on it. Also be careful not to use a dirty brush with this, as it is so absorbent, the oils will form a thin cakey layer on the top of the pan.

The price is a bit scary at the register, but with how long I can tell it will last, it is a much better value than less expensive powders. When you calculate the cost over time, it could very well end up being cheaper. Save your shekels for this one. Definitely my HG setting powder.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2015 1:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am completely in LOVE with Nars especially their face products so once I stocked up on all their foundation I had some store credit left so naturally I went straight to this. To be honest, $40 is not what I would normally spend on a finishing powder but I thought I'd give it a try. When I opened it I was kind of surprised... "what the...". It looks like a solid, white plastic slate! Then I tried it and was very surprised! It's a super FINE, tightly pressed pearlescent powder that releases a subtle amount with every brush swipe. It eliminates the greasy look and replaces it with a soft, fresh appearance. I will definitely enjoy it while it lasts because I think it takes my foundation from an A to an A+, however, I can't say I will for sure spend $40 on another. To be honest, Physicians Formula, Revlon and NYX are a few names who offer very similar products for a fourth of the price... For ME at least. In my opinion, as long as you have an amazing foundation, everything else should just work together just fine.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2015 1:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This NARS setting powder... What can I say that hasn't already been said..? Sheer perfection! It's a very translucent powder, invisible when applied, but it gives such a nice glow and sets foundations perfectly. When I team this up with my YSL foundation & MAC Studio Sculpt Bronzing Powder it just looks like I took 5 years of me. I apply it with a Real Techniques Powder Brush. My nose is slightly too oily for this, but that's not a deal breaker for me, even with a slight shine it just looks better than without it. This will never leave my side again!


Back to Top