MAC #228 Mini Shader Brush

4.3

61 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/3/2015 11:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

For a tiny brush the 228 packs a lot of punch. I use this brush with every eye look in some way or another. I love it for applying my inner corner highlight, applying shadow under my lower lash line, brow bone highlight, pack color in my outer V and when I want to apply shadow precisely on my lid. You might look at the size of this brush and wonder what you could do with it, but I could promise you that it will be a brush you reach for everyday. I own 2, but would definitely repurchase more.



on 4/9/2014 11:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been searching forever for the perfect lower lashline brush, that will allow me to apply eyeshadow in a very thin line and also blend the eyeshadow seamlessly. No brush I have tried has ever given me the results that I want; the MAC 266 was too thin and created sharp lines, the MAC 219 was too thick and didn't blend eyeshadow properly, and the No7 'Smokey Eye Brush' also created a line that was too thick. One night I was watching Makeup By Kandice, and I noticed she was using a MAC brush to apply AND blend eyeshadow to her lower lashline, and the brush was doing it incredibly well! Luckily Kandice said it was the 228 brush and I instantly went on the MAC site and purchased it.


Finally I have found the perfect lower lashline brush! The 228 has a round-tipped head which makes it apply eyeshadow so well in a very thin line on the lower lashline. It blends the eyeshadow effortlessly, all I need to do is simply swipe it back and forth. I really love using this brush with bright shades like Urban Decay 'Fishnet' or Sugarpill 'Afterparty' eyeshadows, I can create a very thin, blended pop of colour really quickly. I just wish I'd know about the 228 sooner!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2014 3:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is one useful brush for my small eyes. I use this brush to create outer v or cut crease, which other brushes can't do. I love the texture. Downside is the $$$$$$$.


on 4/12/2013 1:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I never found a good use of this brush. It's too small to apply colors on the lid, it's not flat enough to blend the liners, and the bristle is so hard that actually stings my eye when I use it.

If you only need a brush to pack on the eye shadows, and have other good blending brush and liner brush to work with the color, you may like this. BUT don't expect it to do double of triple duty. NOT a must-have for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/15/2012 6:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This little brush is amazing! I use this for so many eyeshadow purposes. I love this for smudging eyeshadow on my lower lash line, inner corner highlight, brow bone highlight and defining/blending my crease colour. Prior to this, I was using my MAC 219 and 266 for lower lash line e/s application, but they where far to scratchy :( but this little gem is perfect ! It's even great for setting liners. I don't know how I used to do my makeup without this brush. It's very essential and wonderful :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2012 8:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This eye brush is amazing!!! I use it more than Mac 239 and possibly competing with 217! I would never have thought to buy this tiny brush just that I got this frm a swap and I'm so glad I did! It introduces to me thE importance of a small shade/accent/smudge brush! I use this way over 219, which I found is abit scratchy
For my lower lash line. I use this on inner corners, lower lash line ESP. And works v well! A good cheaper dupe is REal techiques' accent brush, which I just got and will use it for lining dark colors on lower lash line!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2012 2:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great multiuse Mac brush, delicate and small enough to smudge eyeliner, precisely apply eyeshadow on the Botton lash line and top lash line. Wide enough to use as a blender and to apply colour in the water duct. Over all, I LOVE THIS BRUSH!
Science purchasing it in America (i forgot how much but cheaper than you woud in Australia) I have literally neglected all other brushes except for this and the 239. I manage to blend right, and my V's in the outer corner are more neat and I can control where the powder goes better than a round shader. I use this to apply eyeshadow in the way that I would apply gel eyeliner on the days that I want to wear navy eyeliner, or deep purple eyeliner (as I only own brown an dblack eyeliners in gel and pencils etc). Creates a very natural and easy line if I have a steady hand that day.
Densely packed hairs, very soft and catches the right amount of powder. Haven't had any shedding.
Probably one of the better eye brushes of the range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2012 12:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like this brush and actually own two in my collection. Great brush for precision work with either cream or powder shadows. I use this to apply products on the lid, brow bone, and inner corner high light. Washes easily, maintains it shape, and never sheds.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2011 4:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the few brushes I think EVERYONE should have at some point even though it is not a brush I would recommend for someone just starting out and looking to invest in those absolutely necessary basic brushes or casual makeup wearers who don't like spending a ton of time doing their makeup. I definitely think everyone could get A LOT of use out of this brush though so to me, it's worth it to have at least one of them. I only wish I had looked at this brush before I bought a 231 brush.

PROS:

- YOU CAN DO A LOT OF DIFFERENT THINGS WITH IT. It's one of the few true multi-use brushes in my opinion. It's flat, thin and just stiff enough for defining the outer V, smudging eyeliner, putting color on the lower lash line, filling in brows, etc.

- IT'S AN AMAZING LIP BRUSH. Applying bright red lipsticks and working them into my lips is what I use this brush for more than anything else. The brush is small enough to be precise and give you good control. It's really important to work red lipstick into your lips if you're going to wear it and this brush does that really well without being too scratchy.

- EASY TO CLEAN. The thing that pushes this from a 4 to a 5 in my opinion is how shockingly easy it is to clean. It's much easier to get all traces of lipstick off of this brush than the 231 brush or the regular lip brushes which are actually designed for sticky products.

- GREAT QUALITY. I've washed it several times and I've had absolutely no shedding. It's very sturdy and it retains it's shape perfectly. It also dries pretty quickly so I don't have to wait around for it for hours. Bonus points for the fact that unlike the 231 brush, this one is available at MAC counters so you don't have to go all the way to a MAC store or buy it online.

CONS:

- IT'S EXPENSIVE: This brush costs $19.50. Yes, it's not as expensive as the vast majority of MAC brushes, but $20 for a teeny tiny brush is kind of hard to swallow, especially if you already have good brushes that do everything this one does. On the other hand, you could pay $22.50 for MAC's lip brush which isn't nearly as versatile or easy to clean as this one.

- IT'S DELICATE: Unlike the 231 brush, the handle on the 228 brush is SO thin that I'm always terrified that it's going to snap in half if I drop it on a hard floor or put it in a bag while traveling.


***EASY TIP*** If you decide to pick up this brush (or any other MAC brush), take some clear nail polish and swipe it over the silver MAC # lettering on your brush a few times. Redo this every year and it will prevent the number from rubbing off and keep your brush looking like new. Lots of people already know to do this, but I see tons of people with brushes that have labels nearly rubbed off all the time so it's worth mentioning.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 5/7/2011 4:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not quite sure why I bought this or what I intended to do with it. Its not bad and I'm not by any means a professional, but I just personally can't figure out a good purpose. So the cute little brush just sits there :(




Back to Top