MISSHA • Time Revolution First Treatment Essence • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.4(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 bbyhaeiny on 9/23/2014 3:48:00 AM more reviews by bbyhaeiny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I never had a big problem with acne in my teens other than the occasional period zits or slept-with-my-makeup whiteheads. I started breaking out, more so on the cheeks, as I entered my early 20's. I was pissed. Especially since I've come to realize that once you leave your teens, the cells start working a lot less harder to clear away those acne scars left behind, causing dull skin and spotty pigmentation.

I started researching and came across a dozen bloggers and high brow magazines boasting about the powers of SKII. But unfortunately, I couldn't purchase even the most affordable option, $105+ for 2.5 oz. The price tag was too hefty. I continued my research on other options and finally came across this product.

The mission statement for this product as found on its website: "...to improve skin elasticity, enhance skin barrier function, and revive skin tone and texture. DN-Aid, made from Cassia-Alata Extract, provides vitality to aging skin, protects DNA from aging caused by UV rays, and promotes restoration of damaged DNA."

Luckily for me, it did everything it promised it could do. I've been using this for about 4-5 months now. Results started to show about 2 months in, but it was really more of a gradual thing. My night time routine is to wipe off my foundation/blush or bronzer/eye makeup with makeup remover tissue, rinse off the rest of the reside with Charmzone Gingko face cleanser, pat MISSHA essence into my face with my hands, then head for bed. By next morning, face is dewey and well-moisturized.

I can't remember the last time I broke out on my cheeks. I recommend this indefinitely but is warning users not to mix this product with a billion other lotions and toners. Less is more. Let the essence do its work. If it doesn't work for you within 2 months, then move on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scs2dd on 9/19/2014 10:06:00 AM more reviews by scs2dd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Buy again: maybe

After 7 months of using this twice daily, every day, I'm not sure how much it did for my skin. This might be a slightly unfair review since I am only 21 with young skin and this seems to be targeted at an older crowd; maybe I would see an increase in luminosity/firmness if I was in my thirties, forties, etc., but then there's the debate about possible benefits of using anti-aging skincare before you "need" it. Who knows.

Anyway, while I never looked in the mirror and thought, "Wow, my skin is glowing," I do enjoy this essence for its moisture. I apply it all over my face with smoothing and patting motions, waiting 5 minutes before finishing with jojoba oil. I just like having that extra layer of moisture before my heavy-duty one, especially at night. And that is what I believe I have gotten from this product: moisture. There is a very faint scent of yeast that disappears a few seconds after application.

While the frosted-glass packaging is gorgeous and makes this essence a luxurious thing to use, it's impractical in that I am constantly afraid of a slip of my hand and the whole thing shattering on the floor (I wonder what percentage of the price is for packaging). Under the cap, the liquid is stoppered with a small plastic piece that you flip up-- I thought this was great until it snapped from repeated use. Now I use a wooden stick to pry it off, but now the tiny piece is loose and at risk of bouncing off somewhere.

Overall, I don't think I can speak for the main aim of this product, but I thought this may be helpful for other people my age who are curious about it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rukpong on 8/31/2014 9:47:00 AM more reviews by rukpong

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

5 years ago, I tried SKII FTE and I did not see any result. Probably because I did not use the cotton pad as the BA advised.

I tried this bottle in the spray bottle and it delivered results. Skin seems smoother and refined. Overall, I think the result is more evident than SKII FTE like the advertisement said. Really no joke at all!!!

I am trying the Nature Republic First Essence now and I think Missha is better. My skin is not as radiant now when I am using Nature Republic First Essence.

Just transfer the water into the spray and spray it right after washing your face. The spray makes particles become smaller and they go deep insider your pores. It's a very reasonable priced and the result is very noticeable. Focus on where you got wrinkles and deep scar ect.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bloom290 on 8/21/2014 4:58:00 PM more reviews by bloom290

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is so wonderful! Gentle but provides serious results. I had a lot of trouble with exfoliating products (AHA and BHA) causing irritation. I wanted to find something that would be gentle but make my skin soft and bright. This is perfect! I apply with my hands rather than cotton, so that I don't waste product. Sometimes I apply with face mask sheets for treatment (as Saeki describes), but I usually simply pat it directly on my face, wait a few minutes to absorb, and follow with serum and moisturizer. My skin is so much brighter and more even, and the texture is bouncy and moist rather than dehydrated (as before).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tellyhigh on 7/22/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by tellyhigh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I got this in Korea, after reading blogs and professional opinion from a Biologist. It is a lot cheaper there and sometimes you might be lucky enough to catch a 50% storewide sale.

Usually, I will use it once a day and will pour it onto my fingers instead of a cotton pad so as not to waste the lovely yeast inside. It is really light and absorbs really quickly! I love how my skin is softer and has a healthier glow. Will definitely get this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 santindahlestari on 7/8/2014 3:11:00 AM more reviews by santindahlestari

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Black    

I super duper roger dodger love this FTE!! :)
It's better than BRTC FTE or SK-II FTE. I have been using this for about 2 weeks, and I already see the difference! :)
My face looks brighter, less oily, and very soft! Not only that, my pimples are dried easily, and it prevents my face from getting more pimples. It is also cheap for a facial treatment essence, especially the result is very satisfying.
I will definitely buy again for the rest of my life! :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ulfah on 6/10/2014 5:09:00 AM more reviews by ulfah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this FTE! Feels like SKII but in cheaper version. After 3 days used this every night, my skin definetely much better. It's brighten, keep your skin moist & soften like you're younger. It's kind of holy grail skincare that gives you result like you're using expensive treatment. I'm not say it has cheap price either, but this one is waaay cheaper than SKII. Worth every penny <3

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kristenbitme on 6/6/2014 11:03:00 AM more reviews by kristenbitme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is fantastic! I use it every morning and it makes my skin look amazing - it gets rid of any redness really quickly and leaves my skin silky soft! Smells like beer though and is a bit on the pricey side. I got mine from an asian skincare store in my local chinatown but maybe I can get a better deal if I order it online or something.

Edit: now use this twice a day, it's just so amazing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeautyDiva2006 on 5/24/2014 7:57:00 PM more reviews by BeautyDiva2006

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

So I just finished a whole full size bottle of this. I really don't know what it was doing for my skin but I know the Korean skincare routine is like a 3-5 step program so I have been trying to do all the steps for a few months to see if it made a difference. I wash my face with the Missha BB oil cleanser, then put a little bit of this in my hands..btw i love the packaging because it is in a clear glass bottle that looks so luxe on my vanity stand. Anyway, after I splash this on my face and pat the essence in my skin, I go to the treatment step which is the time revolution night activator ampoule, then I apply the Missha snail moisturizer over that. I have been using this skincare routine for about 3 months now. I got the whole set for my birthday in February. I previously was using Skin biology retinol and copper peptide products and the lactic acid moisturizer which worked well to fend of wrinkles and but every time I used it my skin would sting and over time my skin looked dryer after I put on makeup. After using the Missha line with the essence, my skin is more moisturized, plump and glowing and still no wrinkles! I still incorporate skin biology products into my routine because copper peptides and retinol is good for your skin but I keep that more to a minimum and use the Missha line as my basic skincare routine. So for the essence, in my experience, I think that this helps balance the ph in my skin like a toner and helps the treatment and moisturizer sink into my pores which is very important because otherwise your treatments and moisturizer just sit on top of your skin and your wasting money. Oh and one more thing. I have dry dehydrated skin with occasional blemishes if I didn't wash my makeup thoroughly or use heavy moisturizers. Using the essence and the rest of Missha skincare line, I noticed I don't ever break out anymore. I am actually using my travel size bottle right now and am going to purchase more essence very soon!

For reference, this is what they claim the essence does for your skin on the missha website:

Back to the Basics, a Stepping Stone to a Healthier and New Skin.
Contains 80% Fermented Yeast Concentrate, “FISSIONE", which absorbs into skin instantly to energize your skin. Also contains Niacinamide, a Vitamin B3 component, to improve skin elasticity, enhance skin barrier function, and revive skin tone and texture. DN-Aid, made from Cassia-Alata Extract, provides vitality to aging skin, protects DNA from aging caused by UV rays, and promotes restoration of damaged DNA.

THE FIRST TREATMENT ESSENCE improves fine lines and skin tone. Miracle water “FISSIONE” hydrates, restores, rejuvenates, and gives you a glowing complexion.

Do you know what YEAST is?
YEAST is a naturally fortified Vitamin B Group. Vitamin B supports and increases the rate of metabolism and maintains healthy skin.
Recently, more and more researches prove fermented yeast extract to be a good source for skin care products.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 redcometdust on 5/20/2014 4:27:00 PM more reviews by redcometdust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this because the mist is so refreshing but it made my pores look humongous and my face and décolleté became glaringly shiny and sticky. It's possible that my skin wasn't absorbing it properly as it's been incredibly dry due to Accutane.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MISSHA products

More Treatments (Face) products