FLOWER Beauty • Lovely Lotus LG3 • Lip Gloss

rated 4.0(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* habana on 5/25/2014 10:02:00 PM more reviews by habana

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a sucker for pinky mauve lip products. My HG l/g (mauve movement from Avon) was discontinued in the US & I was trying to find a replacement. I spotted Lovely Lotus in a display at Walmart and it immediately caught my eye. It gives great color but is still a bit sheer which I like. It's very moisturizing and lasts a decent amount of time for a gloss without being sticky. I'm really loving this gloss and it will remain a staple in my makeup bag.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eve33 on 4/10/2014 2:30:00 AM more reviews by eve33

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Nice, non-sticky gloss that doesn't test on animals - yeah! - and is made in the U.S. I'm a MAC NC 25 now with medium/high pigmented lips, and I didn't think this would show up, but it did. It's a cool tone that actually worked with my neutral/warm olive skin. It's a medium pigmented gloss and after it wears off (about 2 hours) I have a nice, pale pink tinge to my lips (lasts a couple more hours). I've been looking for a nicely textured, smooth, non-sticky gloss and this is it! And it's totally tasteless. Only reason I tried FLOWER Beauty is because it's cruelty free - no animal testing, which is rare for a cosmetics company.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bassetmomma on 4/5/2014 6:01:00 PM more reviews by bassetmomma

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

My local Walmart is finally carrying this line. I am a sucker for a pale pink lip gloss so I picked up this shade. It's a cool-toned lavender pink. This gloss has a wonderful creamy texture. It's substantial, not thin and liquidy. And I love this color for springtime. It reminds me of a pink Easter egg. I am not a fan of the doe-foot applicator. It's a bit stiff and I had to re-dip several times in order to get adequate coverage. I will definitely be checking out more of Drew's makeup line. Looks like great quality at a great price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Shelbsca on 3/23/2013 5:57:00 PM more reviews by Shelbsca

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this lip gloss because I wanted a pretty, sheer, neutral gloss to be able to put over a variety of lipsticks when I wanted a more glossy look. I guess this does the job alright, but I didn't expect it to be so sheer and wear off so quickly. In all honesty, a lip gloss should be good enough to stand alone as well, and this is basically clear- almost no color payoff. The color on the tube, and even swatched, is so pretty, but on my very pigmented lips the color just doesn't really show up that well. Maybe on less pigmented lips, or people who really only want the slightest hint of color, this would work better. I don't dislike it enough to return, because as I said it'll work okay for layering on top of lipsticks. However when I run out, I would probably choose to purchase a lip gloss that's less sheer, stays on longer than an hour, and can also stand alone as a lip gloss. Also, the applicator, as I mentioned in the Pretty in Petunia review, is very stiff and inflexible. When applying, it sort of tugs and pulls along your lips instead of seamlessly gliding. You need to swipe it so many times to get a layer of gloss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* freyasfeathers on 2/8/2013 8:11:00 PM more reviews by freyasfeathers

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

So my local Walmart is "glass caging" in their beauty dept to prevent theft, so you'll have to make your beauty purchases separately now. So as I was voicing my opinion to the manager that I thought this was degrading to their honest customers to be caged in. I noticed this display of Flower products. Very pretty/classy/retro packaging that I couldn't resist. I picked Lovely Lotus lip gloss, and I'm not disappointed. The consistency is somewhat thin, but has decent cushion. Staying power is pretty good and it smells like roses. Normally this would be a turn off for a lip product, but the scent doesn't last so that ick factor turned into a cute factor. This has a doe foot felted applicator, so good control and even application. The color is a medium rosy pink, and well, I guess my lips must be the same exact color, because it doesn't show up. Looks like clear gloss on, BUT, it does a good job toning down brighter lipstick colors, so there is pigment somewhere in there.
It's made in the USA and doesn't test on animals, so it passed my new beauty purchasing criteria.
The only downside to the Flower line is that it is ONLY sold at Walmart. I really don't want to shop at Walmart anymore and have to go through friggin security check points just to get a damn lip gloss! End of rant. Thank you for your patience. :-)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 2/6/2013 11:47:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely Lotus is pretty much a mauve MLBB shade. It is very nice and I am enjoying these lipglosses. But the color was just "nice" on my NW20 skin, rosey brown lips, almost black hair, brown eyes when I first put it on (wearing MAC Fleur Power blush). But then I put on MAC Dame Blush with it and I looked like an English Rose. It was just lovely...everything came together. It is a great neutral lippie, not nude, definitely a MLBB pink neutral.

There is one con, that is bugging me and why I only gave it 4 lippies. More than the other glosses I have purchased from Flower, Lovely Lotus has this strange smell. If I didn't know it was a completely new line, I would have thought it went bad. I hope this doesn't hinder me from being able to use it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glamourcat on 2/6/2013 4:59:00 AM more reviews by glamourcat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lip gloss. It's not sticky at all and lasts a long time. The color is a very pretty medium pink. If you like a very natural looking color on your lips, this is the shade for you. It's Your Lips But Better!

By the way, LG3, which is the code on the bottom of the gloss, is actually called LOVELY LOTUS. Once you remove the protective sticker you won't know what shade you have, so I carefully cut out the name of the shade and stuck it on the bottom of the gloss. It's rather crazy to have a code on the gloss instead of the actual name.

Gorgeous color, long lasting shine and a great price. What's not to love?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bnavarro on 2/5/2013 2:31:00 PM more reviews by bnavarro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This new line is really pretty and fancy. i bought the lipgloss LG3 which looks like a pretty mauve pink but when i applied it on i can hardly see ANY color. All i get is shine. I would not recommend this product because you have to load up the color alott to actually show up.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 1/29/2013 9:09:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW10-15 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

My first purchase from the new Flower line. A safe, medium pink MLBB shade of lip gloss.
Pros:
Decently attractive packaging.
Texture is not gritty, slippery, or sticky. It is a milky sort-of opaque formula (reminds of MAC cremesheen lipglasses) that adheres and glides over your lips, as if it was supposed to be one of those moisturizing lip glosses (but without the usual slip that goes with these).
Nice color options.

Cons:
Smells pretty strong for the first 60 seconds of wear, but does fade.
Color did turn slightly warm on my lips, but this might not happen for everyone.
Because of its milky consistency, it does highlight dry cracks in lips when you first put it on, but it does smooth out lips over time. I noticed by the end of the day, this was no longer an issue.
Once you peel off the bar code sticker, the name of the shade is not on the product.

So, not too shabby! Nothing super special, except it does have a really nice formula for a drugstore lip gloss. The cons may outweigh that fact for some.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eroutska on 1/19/2013 7:34:00 PM more reviews by eroutska

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Let me start out by saying that this product was amazing for it's value - $6.98 at WalMart, and is comparable to the most high end lip glosses out there (such as Chanel).

Each lip gloss is supposed to smell like the flower in it's name and it smells VERY expensive. No cheap, pungent sweet smell here! I was amazed.

The gloss is very moisturizing, buttery in texture and not at all sticky or tacky. Overall, I am extremely impressed with Drew Barrymore's new makeup line and I am waiting eagerly for the rest of the products to arrive at my local WalMart for me to try out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More FLOWER Beauty products

More Lip Gloss products