Wet 'n' Wild Coverall Cream Foundation

4.1

320 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

water, cyclopentasiloxane, isododecane, talc, butylene glycol, cetyl peg/ppg-10/1 dimethicone, glycerin, phenyl trimethicone, peg/ppg-18/18 dimethicone, dimethicone, hexyl laurate, polyglyceryl-4 isostearate, propylene carbonate, silica, dimethicone crosspolymer, disteardimonium hectorite, magnesium aluminum silicate, sodium chloride, lecithin, chlorphenesin, 3-0-ethyl ascorbic acid, bisabol, dimethicone/vinyl dimethicone crosspolymer, propylene glycol stearate, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, tocopheryl acetate, tetrahhexyldecyl ascorbate, polysorbate 20, propylene glycol laurate, dimethiconol, sorbitan laurate, methylisothiazolinone, titanium dioxide/ci 77891, iron oxides/ci 77491, ci 77492, ci 77499


on 8/23/2015 12:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As far as the coverage goes it's fine. In fact it's kinda nice. But it made me break out really bad and also felt gross and thick when it was on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/15/2015 8:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my FAVOURITE foundation by far but not my holy grail. But when I say something is my favourite, it's no joke. I have the most finnicky, abnormal skin in the world: large pores on and around my nose, blackheads that refuse to go or even be covered up, acne (no matter how healthy my lifestyle is), combination skin (which means severely oily T-zone and normal skin everywhere else, but horrible dry patches), redness, etc. I am a foundation junkie and I've tried high-end and drugstore foundations, and even though I have some problems with this one, it is still head and shoulders above the rest.

PROS:
Coverage - I have yet to find a foundation that covers like this one does. Yes, I have used foundations that have more coverage, but somehow this is just... better. It doesn't do the thing where it actually looks like it's covering up your skin, it just seems to erase everything bad without diminishing your skin's natural beauty. You could even wear it without undereye concealer if you wanted to.
Finish - This is hands down my favourite thing about this foundation: it doesn't make me oily. And I have NEVER had a foundation that keeps me matte for more than 6 hours. Some foundations get oily on me after less than two hours. This one keeps the oilies away WITHOUT a primer. And, when my skin used to be slightly less oily, which was a few years ago, I could use it without powder, which I would never dare to do now. It also doesn't cling to dry patches (!!!!!) and that's amazing for someone whose skin flakes like crazy during the harsh Canadian winters. Even with all that, this foundation is neither matte nor dewy, it's something like demi-matte. It just makes me glow. I always get compliments.
Wear Time - Like I said, this foundation doesn't let your oils come through too quickly, so it lasts a really long time. I once wore this foundation from 6 in the morning until 10 pm. Yup, 16 hours. It did look like it was slightly wearing off towards the end, but it was still incredible for me. In a regular work day, it doesn't crease, get patchy, or sink into pores. This was one of the first foundations I ever bought, years ago, and I didn't even know I had large pores until I stopped using it.
Application - I don't particularly like applying it with a fat sponge (BeautyBlender, RT, Quo) because it's so thick and hard to sheer out, but it works great with one of the flatter sponges (e.g. the purple one from Quo) as long as it's dampened first, and AMAZING with brushes or fingers. I have used this foundation with the RT Expert Face Brush, the RT Buffing Brush, the e.l.f. Studio Powder Brush, the Quo flat blending sponge, and my fingers, and they've all been amazing.
Price - This thing costs $5 in Canada, and less in the States. Even if you hate it for some bizarre reason, you won't regret buying it.
Packaging - This is something a few people complain about because when you first open it, it squirts out a great dollop of product, which is wasteful and messy. But I still love it because it's a squeezy tube. A pump would be better but the tube is still much more sanitary than a jar or a regular old bottle. If you want to avoid it squirting out too much product, just hold it with your index finger and thumb squeezing in on the "narrow" sides, if that made any sense (sorry if it didn't).
Cruelty-free - I LOVE that Wet 'n' Wild doesn't test on animals!

CONS:
(I WISH I could give this 5 stars but I can't because of these things)
Ingredients - I have the slightest feeling that this foundation breaks me out. It has talc and loads of dimethicone in it. I have severely acne prone skin, so the fact that a foundation would do this to me is not really a surprise. I get a few small pimples in relatively-clear areas (my forehead, near my jawline) if I wear this too many days in a row. So I save it for "special" days, like if I'll be out long or if I have an interview or something like that.
Colour Selection - I have very deep golden/olive undertones, and I'm around NC 30-35, so I generally have an issue with drugstore foundations being too pink for me, but this is REALLY pink, far more cool-toned than some of the other foundations I own. I first bought this in Light-Medium, then thought the Medium would be less pink so I bought that. It is less cool-toned but also a little bit dark, which accentuates the undertone. However, unlike most full-coverage foundations, this lets your natural skintone shine through so it's not a major problem if I dust some yellow powder over my face first. It's just something that might throw you off.

I still think this is an amazing foundation to have in your arsenal, particularly if you collect foundations. I love it and will always have one in my collection. Thank you, Wet 'n' Wild!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2015 11:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love this product and I'm so glad that I do!!! it's been a minute since I last tried any face products from the drugstore with success; I'm very fair and I try to buy cruelty-free exclusively, which doesn't leave me a whole lot of options. I was super nervous this would be too dark, since most concealers at this price point tend to be. I have this in 815 fair, and when I first swatched it on my inner forearm it was stupid orange, and I became even more dubious. however, this does not pull orange on my face, at least, not to an extreme degree. I actually think it blends nicely with my natural tone, so I'm sure I'll be updating this review in winter once I get the chance to see how it blends into my skin when I don't have as much color.

this is silky and matte and in fact reminds me quite a bit of the MUFE mat velvet foundation, altho this shade is not anywhere close to the lightest in that line, which is why I'm still a little apprehensive about wearing it year-round. I've swatched them side by side and the wnw pulls much more pink. I do notice that I get a better match after applying translucent powder, so I think I will still be needing to look for something I can mix this with during months when I'm fairer or on days when I need more coverage so that I'm not piling more pink on.

pros:
-med/buildable coverage
-satin/matte finish - I have oily skin but I haven't noticed this clinging to dry patches. I don't look dewy after application but I don't look crusty either
-decent color match for very fair skin
-spectacular lasting power - I've worn this for hours indoors and I didn't have to touch up once, even without primer. I will update after spending time outdoors/in heat with it on
-doesn't feel heavy in the slightest
-it's $4????

cons:
-I can all but guarantee this will not work for me in winter without cutting it with a lighter foundation (I've never been matched at mac but from what I've seen online I'm probably somewhere around NC15. this is a bit too pink/dark for me. you can hover over my username to see my photo and get an idea of what I'm workin with when december rolls around)

honestly I genuinely don't have anything else bad to say about it. I've applied it before with both a heavy hand as well as a light one, and I haven't noticed it get cakey or slide around a whole lot. I am really impressed with this stuff and I imagine that due to the coverage you get with this alone it'll still mix beautifully with a white foundation if the lightest shade is too dark. don't think I'll be looking for something high-end to replace my MUFE anymore!

edit: I have now worn this outdoors in hot weather and it held up just as well as I could have expected it to. probably better than the pixi compact foundation (which essentially turns to water on my face and slides off regardless of what weather I wear it in) but perhaps not quite as matte as MUFE's mat velvet would have stayed (which is a foundation that's supposed to stay matte longer than other formulations). I was outdoors continuously for a good two hours in a car without A/C and while it did get pretty oily in spite of being set with powder this morning, I do have oily skin and I think it would look fine and continue to hold up with powdering as needed. it has never gone cakey on me :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/10/2015 12:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was a long shot purchase. I don't hold much trust in the wet n wild brand (from previous experiences) but the reviews here gave me faith. I'm a MAC NC20 and I purchased this shade in 816 – Fair/Light. It has perfect yellow undertones for me, and no oxidation. I have very oily skin and large pores, but this lasted me over 10 hours (full day) with minimal wear. And with sensitive skin, have to mention NO BREAKOUTS!!! I also purchased the matching powder which was highly pigmented. The packaging isn't perfect with the opening being a bit large... But who cares?! Store it upside down with the cap up, and for the price, no biggie to me. This is the Holy Grail of drugstore foundations.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Since I just bought my fourth tube, I think I have a completely thorough opinion of this foundation. I love it. I use the shade 815 Fair, which matches perfectly with my pale, very cool toned skin. This foundation feels light and actually moisturizing when applied. I find it looks best when applied with a beauty sponge. The finish is satin on most days, but when I'm particularly dry it leans more matte. Personally I'm not about that life so I consider it a drawback. However, as long as you dry skinned ladies moisturize, you're good to go. Coverall also doesn't cling to dry patches which is a HUGE plus for my dry cheeks. I would consider this foundation to be medium coverage. Two layers completely covers everything except my dark circles (old acne scarring, rosecea, naturally uneven skin tone). The best thing about Coverall? It costs less than four dollars and nothing in it irritates my sensitive skin. Oh, and it lasts in the Georgia humidity and 105 degree summer days. Wet n' Wild Coverall has quickly and easily become my favorite foundation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2015 1:53:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really hate this foundation! Please save your $5 and do not get this!!!!! I ran out of my normal foundation (Covergirl Stay Fabulous 3 in 1) and only had a few dollars to spend and stupidly bought this "foundation". I tried the color 820 medium tan (I use golden tan in covergirl). Wow the color match on this was horrific for me it was pasty and just wrong! nothing tan about it to be honest. It was too light but i thought that adding bronzer would help out the color so i wasn't too upset, besides the next offering at my local rite aid would be too dark. Once i put it on the smell was just not good. I don't expect my foundation to smell amazing but it was off putting. The foundation itself looked cakey no matter what method i used or how little i put on. It did not cover my blemishes just made them look gray and worse than before. I am oily so i added powder to set and that didn't make a difference it just got oily quickly. This foundation is so bad i just threw it away, not even willing to give it to my sister for play makeup. The best part: the foundation began breaking me out after only about 2 uses. While it is cheap it is not worth it at all just plan disgusting.


on 7/15/2015 11:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Except for the odd smell and the size of the opening in the applicator this is great. It has a lovely medium coverage with a nice finish. Will last on me about 6 hours.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2015 9:07:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I buy every highly rated foundation that seems like it could work. this stuff was $4 at dollar General and it's the single best foundation I own. I don't use Bobbi Brown, smashbox, or the high end designer ones now. my skin is good but older and this fills in fine lines, covers my little irregularities. It's thick but very creamy and floats over my skin. It lasts all day. I got the fair shade and it matches my skin better than the ones I bought where so called professionals were matching my skin color. I bought out my local store because I am very afraid it could go away....please please don't stop making this!!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 7/4/2015 2:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've been using this foundation regularly for several months now. Prior to this, I was using Stay Matte by Rimmel but I actually prefer this foundation to the Rimmel one. For me, this shade is truer to my actual skin tone and covers just as well as any other foundation.

For a price of less than $5, this really does a great job, and works even better than some other, more expensive brands that I've used over the years. I don't always wear makeup on a daily basis, so this foundation lasts me awhile. All in all, this is a great buy.


on 6/26/2015 2:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love the product😍😍😍
I don't write reviews unless I really really REALLYYYYY love something. So simple and short:

Pros:

- great price (economic)
- nice hygienic packaging (tho I wish it was a pump but still really good for the price, can't complain)
- AMAZING coverage; like full on, covers all, natural looking, flawless, allure award winning worthy foundation!
- semi-matte finish; meaning it doesn't cling on to dry patches (I have combo skin very thirsty cheeks) and not overly oily just as it wears some dewiness kicks in.
- Fotographs beautifully no spf so no flashback
- looks natural and set's (not to fast so that's good because it gives you time to work with the foundation and buff into your skin) plus let's the skin breathe it doesn't feel or look cakey
- No fragance

Cons:

- Poor shade range(darkest shade is suitable for a light to medium skintone)
- all shades are overly pink/orangey except medium/tan which is the one I have and luckily its a perfect match like no jawline division of lighter vs darker or vice-versa.
*medium/tan is a yellow/neutral tone based foundation great for Light to light-medium or even medium yellow/neutral undertoned gals.
- if oily or combo/oily you will need to set with a powder
- No spf for those that want sun protection in their foundations.

So overall I rate it a 9.5 (scale of 1-10) love it and I can almost say I think I found my HG foundation that btw is a dupe for Laura Mercier's Flawless Fluid Flundation and cost just a fraction of the LM foundation!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top