Kai • Kai • Fragrances

rated 3.9(229 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 6/10/2014 10:46:00 AM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought a Kai 1.7oz EDP spray, and it's a beautiful white floral (gardenia plus other tropical blossoms). Yet it's tamed down quite a bit with clean musky notes, which is good news for my headache-prone noggin.

My Kai impression is of a white-florally crisp clean white shirt -- with a sheer waterfall-mist quality -- plus a large dose of clean musks. Like it could be one of the "Clean" series -- like "Clean White Floral" or something. It doesn't have the one-two punch of many big heady white floral bouquets -- it's more transparent & also more musky -- which makes it easier-to-wear than many white florals, for me.

In the drydown, there's also a "little girl" quality, I think -- a rather childlike cuddly innocence about it. The thought occured to me that it smelled more like a child than "Child" perfume oil, really.

I wore my Kai at home on Sunday and loved it -- then wore it again on Monday to work, and it about choked me -- it was too much for the office, I felt. I was self-conscious -- it was too strong, and it wouldn't calm down -- this lasts very well. I think Kai EDP needs some space around it, as do most white florals -- as well as application with a very light hand, always.

Beautiful lush tropical white floral -- with clean musk added -- and it's airy and misty and fresh -- yet it still must be used with care, I've found. It didn't give me a headache, but the potential is there, if I apply too much.

At the kaifragrance.com website, they show all the products, where they're sold, and they list and quote the many celebrities who use and love Kai. No affiliation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shaktigal on 10/6/2013 12:36:00 PM more reviews by shaktigal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Smells really rather chemical during the opening. This scent definitely reminds me more of lilly of the valley than of Gardenia. Some semblance to Guerlains 'Muguet' 1. Mai perfume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fergiefergie on 4/30/2013 8:54:00 PM more reviews by fergiefergie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ordered a sample from Lucky Scent. Kai is lovely, warm, and wears very close to the skin. Too close on me, though. It faded quickly. Another scent that my dry skin sucked in and devoured. Too bad because Kai is lovely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Seattlemama on 3/9/2013 4:17:00 PM more reviews by Seattlemama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this famous fragrance to see how it wears on my skin. On me this is just pure lush gardenia. I feel like I'm either walking in a garden in Maui or I'm inside a funeral home. It's just too gardenia for me and nothing interesting or sexy about it. Will not purchase.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lola452 on 8/26/2012 10:32:00 PM more reviews by Lola452

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I ordered a sample of this because I had read so much about it. From reading the other reviews, it sounds like most people get gardenia out of this (and I think that's even what the description says), but I get pure magnolia, and it's very true to the scent of the real flower. I feel like I'm standing next to a magnolia tree when I'm wearing this! I like the smell of magnolias and all, but I'm not sure I need to smell EXACTLY like one.

I guess that's part of the problem for me with this fragrance. There is no depth, no other notes present (that I detect, anyway) - it's straight up magnolia. I guess it's just a little too floral-y for me. Also, the longevity wasn't too great - the scent had significantly faded a couple hours after I put it on.

If you are into uber-floral fragrances, you might like this one. For me, I need a little more complexity with my florals.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TarinM on 8/11/2012 6:25:00 AM more reviews by TarinM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I think this was a bit overhyped, to be fair it does smell just like a real flower but I still found it a bit too strong and floral and maybe even 'old lady.' The first and last time I used it I got it on my coat sleeve and it was there for a few days and the smell was actually really annoying me. In Essence makes a Tahiti Flower body lotion and a few other products with that scent and it reminded me a lot of that, but I actually think that smells nicer and is more affordable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MelissaMH on 6/12/2012 10:56:00 AM more reviews by MelissaMH

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Simply stunning. I've used both the EDP and the parfum oil and I prefer the oil. My favorite green, floral fragrance. Bright and green in the beginning, it dries down to a soft floral with traces of vanilla. Completely deserving of its cult status, you can be confident that you will be the only one at the party wearing it, and it will drive your date crazy.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 weiweile on 3/23/2012 5:28:00 PM more reviews by weiweile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

GREAT PERFUME! My favorite flower is Gardenia, and out of all the Gardenia perfume I have tried, (and believe me, I tried many) Kai is by far the best. It is the most true to it's original scent - delicate, sweet and intimate. It's high quality, doesn't smell artificial, and not cloy. Just like others have mentioned, it reminds me of Mediterranean breeze.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cherievw on 12/29/2011 more reviews by cherievw

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this perfume, it's floral, not too complex, light and feminine. Like any perfume, you should always try it on your own skin before purchasing (I recently fell in love with a Chanel perfume my friend was wearing, but when I tried it on myself, I smelt as though I had been hugging a wet dog- awful!)
However, this is now my favourite perfume, particularly on hot days as the scent is not too "thick". The scent stays fresh and light and whilst I note that some people have stated it fades a lot, I find that I dont need to reapply, yet initial application is not so strong as to leave my head reeling for the first few hours of the day.
Definitely worth a spritz to try if you happen to see it in a store!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vanillasweet on 10/9/2011 12:18:00 AM more reviews by vanillasweet

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Smells just like the Sampaguita flower from the Philippines.
Also reminds me of Tatiana (which also smells like Sampaguita:).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kai products

More Fragrances products