Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder

3.6

52 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Boron Nitride, Hdi/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Octyldodecanol, Silica, Benzimidazole Diamond Amidoethyl Urea Carbamoyl Propyl Olymethylsilsesquioxane, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Phenoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Sorbic Acid, Olyacrylamide, Benzoic Acid, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Potassium Sorbate, Dehydroacetic Acid, Laureth-7, Ethylhexylglycerin, Trimethylsiloxysilicate. May Contain : Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Ci 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride),Ci 77491 (Iron Oxide),Ci 77492 (Iron Oxide), Ci 77499 (Iron Oxide),Ci 75470 (Carmine).


on 4/1/2015 11:37:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

All the hypes .... sigh.
Its really nothing special, on my dry skin & oily T zone are alike.
Its really a 3 lippies, but for the over-price, down to 2 lippies.
No re-purchase.



Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

"Did I accidentally stumble into some good lighting?" Sorry, Clueless reference.
I got the palette - comprised of Dim, Incandescent, and Radiant. Dim is a good match for my skin tone, so it adds just a hint of warmth while blurring my acne scars. Incandescent gives a glowy quality to areas I choose to highlight. For a more dramatic highlight, I would reach for something else. Radiant is pretty dang orange on my skin tone. I can't imagine using it to contour, as shadowy areas should contain a) cooler and b) less shimmer (Radiant is very shimmery.) But, hey, ymmv. And with a light hand, possibilities are endless.
Packaging is pretty, though I'm scared to drop it. Wish I could buy a cover for it, like I have for my phone, lol.
Worth the price, IMO. In a perfect world, Radiant would be replaced by Mood. I have used Radiant as a blush, using a very light hand. Yes, it's $$, but it delivers. I would try it on before buying, however. I apply it with a flat foundation blush.
DH didn't notice a difference until he saw me on a sunny day outside and yelled "Holy good skin!" It makes you look good without giving the impression that you tried that hard.
I use this over bare skin after concealing blemishes. It serves as a decent alternative to foundation; I just haven't found one that didn't emphasize my imperfections. The cost for a high end foundation rivals the cost of this palette!
Finally, it's cruelty-free.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2015 3:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love, love, love. I purchased Dim light whilst in the US last year after a lot of research and a hasty 2 minute swatchfest in a very badly lit Sephora. Had difficulty deciding between Dim and Diffused and went with the former based on general popularity. Dim is a perfect 'bronzer' for my ghostly complexion and adds a natural looking warmth to my face when applied with a big fluffy powder brush. I've also used this with a more compact brush as a blush. Great neutral to go with a bright red lip for example. I cannot use this as an all over powder though without my face looking a bit muddy.

A few months later I caved and ordered Diffused as well, exorbitant shipping fees and all, and fell even deeper in love. This did what Meteorites did not do for me! A beautiful all over glow that seems to decrease some redness in my skin as well. Works with every base I've tried and even on bare skin. I use this with a big fluffy brush, adding a bit more on my cheekbones, bridge of my nose, etc. as a highlight.

Lasting power is good, but i have rather dry skin so this is rarely an issue for me. Both powders are very finely milled and they do not look 'powdery' on my dry skin at all, which is often an issue with face powders for me.

Packaging is fine, lightweight but closes securely. Price is high but I've barely made a dent in either despite very regular use, will repurchase for sure if I ever run out though. Cannot recommend enough.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/19/2014 2:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had my makeup done for a wedding at Mecca around a month back, this was one of the products I purchased (in dim light) purely because I was well stocked up on everything else and had heard good things. It lay forgotten in my bathroom until recently when I was getting ready for a dinner date and thought I'd dust a little of it over my face as a setting powder because, why not?
Holy mother of WOW. My dinner date complimented me on my skin, the next time I caught up with my Mum she complimented me on my skin and a friend over brunch kept asking me what I'd changed recently because I was looking so damn glowy.

Sure it's pricey, but the packaging feels expensive and $62 is a small price to pay to look like I'm permanently basking in the glow of candlelight.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2014 7:33:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

There are a lot of people saying that they look terrible, personally I think they may be applying these wrong! They are amazing powders that make you gorgeously glowy! Don't listen to the people who say don't waste your money, go in and check for yourself. I have quite pale skin and can make most of these shades work, using them one way or another. I would definitely buy again

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2014 5:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

When I first heard of this product I was so skeptical it wasn't even funny. Like come on, please...a powder that can give you a candlelight like glow without being photoshopped?! I was so skeptical that I knew I had to buy it to prove everyone wrong. So I ran (not walked) to my nearest Sephora and bought it with my Christmas gift card that I just received because I didn't believe, I couldn't believe that such a product existed. And since I don't believe in waiting till Dec 25 to open up my gifts I figured Christmas was coming early for me that year!

Upon arriving home after my skeptical shopping adventure, I tried it on right away. I was SHOCKED to see that standing under my bathroom light in the mirror my face looked flawless with a candle light effect on the spots I placed the powder on. I think I admired myself so long that I lost track of time (seriously). I place this powder on the tops of my cheek bones, tops of my eyebrows, forehead, down the bridge of my nose, cupid's bow and chin. You only need a little as it goes a long way.

I could not believe this product actually lived up to the hype. In the light it does really give you a candlelight effect which looks realistic. What I love even more about these powders is that it comes in six different colors. According to Sephora's website, the colors are:

Ethereal Light: A sheer, cool tone that eliminates shine and mimics a moonlit glow—even in broad daylight.

Diffused Light: A soft, warm, pale yellow that reduces redness, eliminates shine, and gives skin clarity.

Dim Light: A neutral soft beige that provides a perfect balance of warm and cool tones to blur imperfections.

Mood Light: A soft, sheer lavender pink that mimics the softest, most forgiving light and brightens the complexion.

Luminous Light: A champagne pearl that creates a soft, incandescent candlelit glow—day or night.

Radiant Light: A sun-kissed golden beige that enhances the overall complexion with believable, subtle warmth.

The compact is larger then normal size on all these powders. It encompasses the whole size of my palm which for a powder is pretty big. I currently only have it in Luminous Light, but I for sure plan to buy all five compacts and test them out under different lighting and events.

However, keep in mind that all these colors do not work on every skin tone. Your best bet is to try them out before buying them. Sephora has horrible lighting. So I would recommend you test it first, walk around the mall or store and check it against different lighting. They are pretty expensive so you want to make sure you get the right one that works for you! Even though Sephora does allow you to return items, but still its a hassle to do this!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 7/24/2014 4:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I drank the koolaide and gave in after over a year of hearing rave reviews for this product. And I wasn't a fan. And I think that finishing powders just aren't my thing-probably because I have combo to oily skin. I find that I'm oily enough that I have to use a mattifying powder. So I apply my foundation and use a setting powder. To then put a finishing powder on top doesn't really do anything for me and I feel it's completely rediculous to have a whole extra step. I'm pretty sure the finishing powder works better just on top of the foundation but I'm too oily to do that.
I got diffused light, a pale yellow powder. The texture is nice, the packaging is nice. It's talc free. All things I love. When I buff it into my skin after foundation, it looks nice but only for a very short time (like an hour). Buffing it on top of a mattifying powder is just silly as you really can't see this powder at all.
At the end of the day, this is a very expensive powder that has no lasting power and that I can't tell a difference after I use it. I give it 3 lippies because I consider that an average product. I think if you have dry and or dull looking skin, it may possibly be worth it for you. For me, no. I'm considering trying the luminous one as a highlighter but I will not try any others as all over face powders. I returned this one actually. The NARS crystal reflecting powder is probably my best bet to get a finishing powder because as a silica powder it's really helps with oil control. Of note, I tried guerlain meteroites and they did slightly more for me than hourglass but have talc which made me crazy itchy.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/26/2014 1:03:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was really disappointed with this product. I planned to use this as my finishing powder but it gave me sort of a dull, ashy look. It is nothing special, mostly all hype. It is expensive and even if it didn't give me an ashy, dull look, the quality and sheerness of this powder itself is not any better than what I use now, MUFE.
Don't waste your money.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2014 4:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product has a cool concept, it is able to manipulate how your skin looks under different lighting. Each powder has a different tone to make your skin look the most flattering under harsh lighting. The first color I bought was dim light and it had a blurring effect which made my skin look perfect however it was too dark on my skin in natural lighting. Since this product is so expensive, I wanted one that I can use any time of the day. So then I bought diffused light which is a pale yellow color with light shimmers. This one is perfect. It set my foundation while blurring pores and cancelling out some redness. I very lightly dust this over my entire face after applying my foundation. It made my otherwise matte foundation look dewy and natural. My skin looked glowy but not fake in direct sunlight and natural lighting. It also looks amazing in dim lighting as it brightens my complexion. The other colors seem too light and frosted for me, I might try them on the future. But for now, I would definitely repurchase the diffused light.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2014 2:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

yiiiikes these looked so garish on me. I wanted to love these and couldn't believe I couldn't find even one color to work with. I'm NC20.

Dim Light- too dark, looked kind of bruisy. Maybe if you cover the whole face with it it'd be a different story, but it was very dark for me.

Diffused Light-ugllllyyy wayy too light!! Put it all over my face and had to wash it off because I looked washed out and just hideous.

Mood Light- what kind of mood? I'd have to say a sad one. This was bruisy and too purple. This is more like a sad blush.

Luminous Light- too many sparkles and very pink. Would maybe work with a touch here or there, but not worth the money and better looking with a non-powder formula.

The powder is silky and soft...but these just didn't work for whatever reason. Couldn't believe it. I think the palette could be more effective, using just a touch here or there, but I'm not planning on attending the Grammy's or Oscar's any time soon and wasting time mixing these around my face. There are better highlighting products out there.

Summary "Twilight." New name suggestion : Edward's Twilight Lighting Powder.

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top