Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Luminous Light


20 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$


on 8/19/2015 6:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Hazel


SKIN: Fair (NARS Vanilla / Chantilly Concealer) Porcelain with some redness
Can be dry

Day: Typically do not wear Foundation / BB / CC creams (concealer only)

Night: All the way

I bought a few after they hype died down and they were still selling strong

LUMINOUS was the only one that reduced by "baggage" that is, I could use it is a fast goof proof way and eliminate a few steps and products in my make up routine

For Day: I set my concealer and swipe a tiny bit all over. I sweep it under my brow bones for a quick eye highlight and dab in corner of eye

Then I either use it as a slight highlighter with some blush, or really build it up on my RED cheeks and to turn my red cheeks into a peachy pink glow thus I have a finished face fast. Easy as 1-2-3.

These powders are tricky to find the one that works for you.

DIM was too dark and peachy on my skin; OK as a blush but too expensive for a blush

MOOD was way too dark lavander pink probably good for ashy darker skin

Have not tried the other 2

on 5/11/2015 7:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

edit; if u are lusting after this and it's too expensive, there are some great drugstore dupes that are equally good. -- and last longer. this doesn't last at all, it needs reapplication throughout the day, not just that but i have tried using it as an eyeshadow (foiled on a sticky base) and needed to reapply within the hour...
This doesn't come off as glittery or shimmery on my medium yellowish skintone at ALL. In fact it looks like a diffused sheen, as though I rubbed clear lipgloss on in place of highlighter. But better. I was going for other ones but they seemed chalky on my skin whereas this was a perfect match. I think this is better than the Guerlain Meteorites compacts. It does contain boron nitride high up on the ingredients list, which many are sensitive to, including myself. If you like this but find it a tad too sheen-y try Lorac Powder in Spotlight, that one is similar in colour but the effect is more subtle. Would not recommend this to ppl with large pores or skin texture issues.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 4/20/2015 3:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ah, that price! But I love this one as well as ethereal and the ambient palette.
Many reviewers say that this is too glittery for an all over powder, but on my skin (light, yellow/golden) it really really doesn't show as a highlighter at all, I use it all over and there's a nice subtle glow (probably less than ethereal) but still nothing too intense like real highlighters (i.e., becca, theBalm, etc.). I think that if your skin tone is like mine and the actual underneath color of the powder matches ur skin then it won't show as much but if you are darker, or very fair then it's probably best used as a highlighter :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is such a glittery shiny mess. If you're into that sort of highlight for your face, then by all means buy this product. But this is not worth what Jaclyn Hill is saying it is worth. Highlighting is suppose to highlight your features, not make you into a disco ball face. But I guess to each their own. If you're looking for a NATURAL GLOW that makes your skin look healthy and youthful, go for KEVIN AUCOIN'S 'Celestial Powder' in CANDLELIGHT and mix that with NARS' NICO blush....ABSOLUTELY SUPERB!!! This will give your face a beautiful natural glow. Don't knock it till you try it.

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

on 6/10/2014 6:35:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

As I have no self control when it comes to make up purchases and just couldn't narrow my ambient lighting powder choice down to one I ended up with 3 of these. Out of the 3 Luminous Light has the most sparkles/shimmer and slight frost on my NC15 skin so is a no-go for me as a setting/finishing powder.

On me this is strictly a high-lighter and I love it. I found it not only too shimmery on my NC15 skin tone but also too dark as a finishing powder. This makes a beautiful highlight product though for cheekbones, its like a more refined version of Mary-Lou Manizer, a little darker champagne in colour but less sparkly even though it does have quite a shimmer to it.

The packaging for the price is pretty underwhelming but you do get a decent amount of powder at 10g. The only reason I wont repurchase this is I'm not short of a highlight product or two so have many to work my way through.

Any NZ/Aussie girls on the look out for the ambient powders I found the cheapest place to purchase from was Mecca Australia.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 3/12/2014 10:31:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The one thing that put me off buying this despite the raving reviews was no doubt, the price Aus$62 which is crazy talk for face powder. However, It has been worth my trip to Mecca Maxima where I could see that this warm, golden shade wouldn't end up looking like a bronzer once applied to my NC25-30 skin.

There were visible golden flecks in the swatch but no bronzing effect which was a good sign. Unbelievably, when I used this on top of my foundation, the expected "frosty fright" wasn't there...instead I was pleasantly surprised by how much this powder changes the way that light is reflected off the skin. I could not detect the shimmer particles at all. My complexion looked natural and rested.

This was easy to apply and even more amazingly, I needed less of this ambient powder to set my make up than if I had used ordinary powder. On application with a large fluffy brush, I could immediately tell it was enough- a real relief given the expense of it!

All I would advise is only invest if you really are into the really minute details of your make up routine. This is great if you are keen to set your foundation but hate the flat, and almost wooden look of a traditional powder.

The packaging lets it down as it looks great with it's gunmetal grey colour but the compact is lighter than it looks. so it seemed a bit tacky- especially when the popping action of the lid was no different to a cheap compact. This is harsh but I expect a lot more thought into these details when paying for premium brands.

I love this product and would definitely re-purchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 3/9/2014 12:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this after hearing all the rave over these powders, and Luminous jumped out at me as one of the best. If you're buying this for a cheek highlighter, I think you'll be disappointed..it's very subtle. I got it to use as a finishing powder, and it's perfect for that. It blurs imperfections, and leaves my skin looking healthy, radiant, and adds a very subtle glow. When I swatched this at Sephora I thought it would be too dark for my pale skin, but when I put it on with a big fluffy brush, it doesn't add any color. I'm so glad I listened to all the hype and decided to get this!

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I recently purchased this on a lark after all the hype, and it is perfect as a finishing powder for my fair-medium skin. It is everything I wanted Guerlain Meteorites to be...diminishes imperfections and gives an all around glow without glitter or too much frost. I could see using this as a highlighter only, but since it's a perfect match for my skin, I plan to continue using it all over (probably not for work days, my industry is very casual). I wish the packaging had room for a sponge, which is what I use for application. Then the packaging would be perfect to take on the go.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 2/18/2014 7:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I'm not sure if I'm eventually going to regret giving this the comparatively low three lippies I've given it, but I have to go with what I feel, and I just feel a bit underwhelmed.

I believed the hype last year and bought Diffused Light, and it has ended up being one of my absolute favourite beauty buys- it's a daily use, multi-tasking powder and I've already used it enough to leave a dent in it. It's one of those products I actively look forward to using, and I find myself reaching for it far more often than I reach for my Guerlain Meteorites, even though I feel they are, in some ways a superior product.

So it was inevitable that I'd buy another of these at some stage. And I ended up picking Luminous Light. I dismissed Mood and Radiant as being a bit too pigmented for an all over product (though I am aware that Hourglass intends for these powders to be used in conjunction with each other, so they might be intended to be more blush or bronzer like), and Ethereal and Dim seemed 'boring' somehow. Well, my love of shiny stuff has been my undoing here. Luminous Light is a seriously frosty powder.

It applies more or less colourless, though you can sort of build up a champagne tint if you pack it on. But it is just so sparkly. Not glittery, there aren't any random chunks of sparkle (which I occasionally seem to find in the Meteorites), but it's more than a 'glow'. Used all over it looks a bit too much like that look you get when your face is just slightly beaded with sweat. That might not be so bad on really gorgeous, model like skin, but on me it is basically a zoom lens for my pores. I don't think I have *really* big pores, but, apparently, my face is a mass of tiny wells, and this powder manages to make sure anyone beholding me has a good chance of being able to count every one. Even on top of mattifying foundation the effect is too greasy, though this does seem to succeed in holding back some of my actual grease. Maybe in dimmer light it could work, but by day it is unflattering.

However, restricted to my cheekbones this can look good. It's not metallic, and it doesn't look to gold or bronze, so I find it works really well on more subtle looks, if used judiciously. It's a fine powder and easy to blend out. Strictly as a highlight I find this harder to overdo than something like theBalm Mary Lou-Manizer which can be OTT with even a very subtle dusting. For that use I do reach for it, so it's not a total bust, but I don't adore it as much as Diffused, and I keep wishing I'd gotten one of the others.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

on 1/23/2014 12:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I got all six shades and I will review them individually and as a whole in the main review for these powders. This particular shade reminds me of exactly how it is described; a soft, incandescent candlelit glow - day or night. I've only used this once, Dim Light once and the Diffused Light once and what I would say is use them in the opposite light you're going to be in. For example this shade, I think this would look better at night; on a date or to go out, because it brings that candlelit effect to your skin. I wore this on a typical day to go to work. Granted, it's cloudy out today, I still think this would look much better at night and am not totally in love with the effect in office light. For the most part you have to be careful with these powders because you can quickly overdo it. I would choose a soft powder brush and lightly tap it into the product and tap it off before applying. I think the key to them looking natural is a very light application. Otherwise they would alter the shade of your skin and look fake and awkward. Oppositely, I would use one of the darker shades, like Dim or Radiant Light if I was going to be in fluorescent light to soften my features a bit. So far I like the texture of the particular shade and the actual shade is exactly as described; A champagne pearl. Hourglass nailed the intended light also, which I think is very clever and more advanced than typical makeup, therefore making it worth the price tag. I will update as I play more, but so far, I am loving these. UPDATE: This is my second favorite out of all the powders. It's a soft neutral shade that illuminates. I have to be kinda careful with this though, because like Radiant light, this can be overly shimmery when a heavy hand is used.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top