Hourglass • Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light • Powder

rated 4.4(53 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 amra1221 on 8/25/2014 9:36:00 PM more reviews by amra1221

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

The main reason i picked up this powder/highlighter is because of all the hype. I was looking for a new highlighter regardless so i figured it was a good time to test this product. I got mine at sephora and it was very pricey - $45. I cant say whether it lasts throughout the day or not because i can barely see it when i apply it. I have even applied it 3-5 layers and it barely shows up. It does not really blur any imperfections nor does it highlight. This product is not worth the hype its getting, especially for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 8/7/2014 3:42:00 PM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I actually really like this powder..it does what it is suppose to do. It blurs imperfections really well, it's very finely milled, and it didn't break me out. However, the reason I only gave it three stars is because it's too dark for my skin. I am a NC15-20 in MAC, and 117 in MUFE, and you can tell its too dark. Other than that it's great, so if you have darker skin..get it. I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 addkg777 on 8/1/2014 7:24:00 PM more reviews by addkg777

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i bought into the hype and bought this. cringing about the price of a pressed powder. the only thing beautiful about this is the packaging. the powder is just a really finley milled highlighter. and while it is very soft, theres nothing about it that justified the price. not even the packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Scarlet39 on 6/30/2014 8:20:00 AM more reviews by Scarlet39

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love this product! It has a silky smooth texture and when applied to my cheek and brow bones it gives the prettiest subtle and natural glow to my skin. Completely brightens my face! it is well worth the cost!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigerlily217 on 6/18/2014 10:16:00 PM more reviews by tigerlily217

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't notice a difference when I use this as a finishing powder all over my face. However, I do enjoy using this as a bronzer/contour. This does a superb job and it's very natural looking. I love how finely milled this powder is. You definitely get a lot of product despite the price tag being a little steep.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* STACEYFFF on 6/16/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by STACEYFFF

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This softens fair skin in office lighting and is very, very fine powder. Maybe makes a 5% improvement in skin. *Very subtle difference. For me, I use it when I want the little beauty boost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smccullough on 6/16/2014 6:46:00 PM more reviews by smccullough

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

As a forty-ish, combo skin gal with larger pores & mild crows feet, I use Ambient Dim as an all-over finishing powder. It gives my skin a beautiful healthy glow without the sparkle. Very natural looking & silky enough that it doesn't settle into lines, yet when stippled on the cheeks, it minimizes the pore area. I've had many compliments about my "perfect" complexion when wearing this. Definately a must have & worth every penny!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 madcancer7 on 6/13/2014 10:09:00 AM more reviews by madcancer7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

I have found a winning combination with this powder and shiseido's sun protection spf 42 liquid foundation. I use this as a finishing or setting powder after the liquid foundation and it keeps my makeup flawless throughout the day and I didn't have to touch up at all except just blot my nose. I don't know whether it's the shiseido foundation or this but I believe it's both.

I'm not sure about the lighting effect of this powder as it's marketed but it makes my pores disappear after application. I have pretty good skin but I do have some enlarge pore around my nose and it disappears with this powder. It also helps reduce the appearance of redness around my forehead which the foundation didn't completely cover. There's no need to buy that expensive hourglass brush that is recommended for this powder. I use the E.L.F studio complexion brush and it works well and it's just $3.

Awesome powder! I will keep purchasing because I have finally found something that works for me. I get compliments when I wear this combination. Believe the hype on this powder! It's expensive but worth it.

For reference I'm NC30.

Update: If I could bump this to 6 stars I would. I just found out today that it conceals dry patches just as well. I had like several dry patches on my face today and after applying my shiseido foundation, they look horrid as the patches were emphasized. However after I applied this powder, they became less obvious and sorta sink back I to the skin!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Annushka on 6/5/2014 4:51:00 AM more reviews by Annushka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

$65AUD at mecca maxima. great purchase for my nc35-40 skin tone
compact case with a mirror inside, sturdy feeling.
i use this as a setting powder on those zones that i like to highlight.
very subtle highlight, does not cake and imparts a healthy 'sheen' on the skin. the power doesn't come off chalky at all and there are no glitter bits. finely milled.
i can't comment on its oil control capabilities because i haven't used this all over my face. i also use estee lauder double wear and that controls oil itself really well.
i would recommend this to everyone who wants to look like they have a healthy sheen to their face. it doesn't change the colour of your foundation too much

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Asianlily on 6/3/2014 6:52:00 AM more reviews by Asianlily

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! I'm not sure what it is but it makes me look flawless! That being said, my skin gets super oily around my forehead when I have it on. I know it's not meant to be used as an oil control measure, but to make my skin oily is odd. I am willing to look pass this as it makes my skin looks gorgeous.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Powder products