Hourglass • Ambient Lighting Powder in Dim Light • Powder

rated 4.5(50 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Scarlet39 on 6/30/2014 8:20:00 AM more reviews by Scarlet39

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love this product! It has a silky smooth texture and when applied to my cheek and brow bones it gives the prettiest subtle and natural glow to my skin. Completely brightens my face! it is well worth the cost!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigerlily217 on 6/18/2014 10:16:00 PM more reviews by tigerlily217

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't notice a difference when I use this as a finishing powder all over my face. However, I do enjoy using this as a bronzer/contour. This does a superb job and it's very natural looking. I love how finely milled this powder is. You definitely get a lot of product despite the price tag being a little steep.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* STACEYFFF on 6/16/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by STACEYFFF

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This softens fair skin in office lighting and is very, very fine powder. Maybe makes a 5% improvement in skin. *Very subtle difference. For me, I use it when I want the little beauty boost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smccullough on 6/16/2014 6:46:00 PM more reviews by smccullough

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

As a forty-ish, combo skin gal with larger pores & mild crows feet, I use Ambient Dim as an all-over finishing powder. It gives my skin a beautiful healthy glow without the sparkle. Very natural looking & silky enough that it doesn't settle into lines, yet when stippled on the cheeks, it minimizes the pore area. I've had many compliments about my "perfect" complexion when wearing this. Definately a must have & worth every penny!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 madcancer7 on 6/13/2014 10:09:00 AM more reviews by madcancer7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

I have found a winning combination with this powder and shiseido's sun protection spf 42 liquid foundation. I use this as a finishing or setting powder after the liquid foundation and it keeps my makeup flawless throughout the day and I didn't have to touch up at all except just blot my nose. I don't know whether it's the shiseido foundation or this but I believe it's both.

I'm not sure about the lighting effect of this powder as it's marketed but it makes my pores disappear after application. I have pretty good skin but I do have some enlarge pore around my nose and it disappears with this powder. It also helps reduce the appearance of redness around my forehead which the foundation didn't completely cover. There's no need to buy that expensive hourglass brush that is recommended for this powder. I use the E.L.F studio complexion brush and it works well and it's just $3.

Awesome powder! I will keep purchasing because I have finally found something that works for me. I get compliments when I wear this combination. Believe the hype on this powder! It's expensive but worth it.

For reference I'm NC30.

Update: If I could bump this to 6 stars I would. I just found out today that it conceals dry patches just as well. I had like several dry patches on my face today and after applying my shiseido foundation, they look horrid as the patches were emphasized. However after I applied this powder, they became less obvious and sorta sink back I to the skin!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Annushka on 6/5/2014 4:51:00 AM more reviews by Annushka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

$65AUD at mecca maxima. great purchase for my nc35-40 skin tone
compact case with a mirror inside, sturdy feeling.
i use this as a setting powder on those zones that i like to highlight.
very subtle highlight, does not cake and imparts a healthy 'sheen' on the skin. the power doesn't come off chalky at all and there are no glitter bits. finely milled.
i can't comment on its oil control capabilities because i haven't used this all over my face. i also use estee lauder double wear and that controls oil itself really well.
i would recommend this to everyone who wants to look like they have a healthy sheen to their face. it doesn't change the colour of your foundation too much

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Asianlily on 6/3/2014 6:52:00 AM more reviews by Asianlily

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! I'm not sure what it is but it makes me look flawless! That being said, my skin gets super oily around my forehead when I have it on. I know it's not meant to be used as an oil control measure, but to make my skin oily is odd. I am willing to look pass this as it makes my skin looks gorgeous.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 6/2/2014 5:12:00 AM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have no idea why this product works for me, but it does. I use a big fluffy brush (MAC 150, don't adore it but it is okay) to set my make-up with and I look flawless, poreless and glowy. Right now I am about an NW25 and it blends right in. No breakouts (however I am not breakout prone). I can put this over a BB Cream and I look amazing. Buttery texture, no glitter, no OTT shimmer. High price tag, but is now a staple for me. Again I have no clue why this works but it does. Will buy again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 samanthasundloff on 5/28/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by samanthasundloff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Oh how I drooled over this... I finally bought it and WOW! Worth every penny. I wish I didn't wait so long to buy it.

I was searching for a powder to put over foundation to make my skin look 'perfect' and this is it!! I use it as a setting powder for under eyes and all over. Gives my skin the most perfect look and just a slight glow. LOVE IT!!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cbeduke on 5/28/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by cbeduke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, folks. This is the ONLY ridiculously expensive product I would buy over and over again. It's worth the $45 price tag. It's a HG product, for sure. I recently went to a college reunion and my skin was definitely not at its best: hormonal acne galore, particularly on my chin (really deep large raised cysts) - and of course, I got my period as soon as the reunion started, lucky me, so things got worse during the 3-day event. I used the Dim Light (I am NC30) as a setting powder and just freshened up my makeup a couple of times a day. In every single picture friends have posted on FB my skin looks AWESOME and clear. You seriously cannot tell that I was having one of the worst acne breakouts of my adult life. GET THIS PRODUCT.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Powder products