Milani • Color Statement (all) • Lipstick

rated 4.3(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 emolina on 1/27/2015 8:37:00 PM more reviews by emolina

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

These are some of my favorite drugstore lipsticks! I own three colors, and I feel that the Spring 2014 released shade, Rose Femme, is the smoothest and most pigmented. I find that it only one swipe to get an opaque effect. I love the formula overall and the scent is. amazing. They smell like jolly ranchers! Highly recommended for those on a budget.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beautyqueenstylebaby on 1/23/2015 10:04:00 PM more reviews by beautyqueenstylebaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So I picked up one of these in the shade Nude Creme and it was entirely wrong for me. Though the shade really flushed my "natural beige" skin out, I find that the formula really accentuates the deeper, permanent lines in my lips when i smile biggest. it really disappointed me, but if you don't mind pouting or not smiling the entire day, shoot for it. As for the wrong shade, that was my entire fault for not doing research first. If you face the problem I have, lots of blotting will help. I will, of course buy this lipstick again, in the shade right for me, haha! Oh and the price at walmart is great, About $4 each!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StinaBaby on 1/8/2015 6:13:00 PM more reviews by StinaBaby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have quite a few of these lipsticks and there are some pros and very few cons.

Pros:
Color payoff is great for this price point. Even though some of the finishes aren't my fave, I have to give the line credit for the opacity. Secondly the wear time I get with the creme colors (with absolutely no shimmer) is about 3-4 hours. And even then there's minimal fading. One swipe in the bathroom and I have a fresh set of lips again. They're not drying at all, but will accentuate lines and dry patches if you have them. I suggest exfoliation the night before and a great lip balm. When you rub you lips together there's some slip, but not enough to make you feel you're wearing a gloss. The creme colors, though they don't have shimmer, there's a sheen. Not a glossy sheen but the typical sheen a moisturizing lipstick has.
I wish they had lip liners that matched/coordinated with the lipsticks a bit better. Because when trying to pair the liners in store more times than not the undertones are different when u get home.

Cons:
The smell is like that watermelon jolly rancher wrapper smell. It's not as strong as holding the candy to your nose, but you can still smell it. With the more nude colors, since I wear a gloss over them, the smells fades (or I don't notice them for as long). But with my burgundies, reds, and berries, since I wear them matte and alone, I smell them periodically. And on some days it'll turn my stomach.

But I'd still purchase them again. There are some Mac dupes.

Colors that I suggest are:
Sangria
Cabaret Blend
Nude Creme
Naturally Chic
Chilled Brandy (but only for an accent in the center of the lips when doing deep wine color)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarahty9 on 11/18/2014 8:51:00 PM more reviews by sarahty9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love, love, love. Never thought I'd find something more perfect than the Revlon balm stains but this is it. The lipstick is in a gold tube that's simple and attractive. It smells good. It's matte but not dry but t not creamy and smeary. It wears off evenly so there isn't a ring around my mouth. And it lasts a long time. It is $6 where I live. Uptown Mauve is a perfect dupe for Mac Rebel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Suddenlii on 10/16/2014 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Suddenlii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

I tried this lipstick as per a recommendation from someone on the boards here -- I LOVE it! I bought Ruby Valentine, a slightly darker red, and it's great. I love the finish of this lipstick, mostly because it's not like any others that I have. (I believe it's called "vinyl" on the packaging -- has a shine to it but it's not sticky or slippery.) It can tend to feather around the edges sometimes, but I don't mind wearing a lipliner with it. It also survived my true red lipstick test: eating.

I've always hated Milani's cheap, gold plastic packaging, but I'd definitely re-purchase this colour or grab a few more!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loveintheasylum on 10/15/2014 5:52:00 AM more reviews by loveintheasylum

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this line of lipstick as I already got it in the shade Teddy Bare, which is a great nude for girls of the chocolate persuasion. Saw a youtube guru jawing on about the new purple lipstick trend for fall and one she suggest was the shade Violet Volt. I was in CVS to get an Rx filled and seriously hoped they had the shade I was looking for in stock since my local store's makeup section always looked like the sack of Rome. I was in luck! I got the last one, yay. Since they had a buy one, get one half off on Milani stuff, I treated myself to a new nail polish shade, too. Anyway, thinking this was going to look darker on my skin, I tried it on- smooth application, sheer at first but buildable, great smell like candy but the shade though... ohh no no, not for me. Its a nice purple shade, but too bright for me, which hurts the most because I really wanted to wear it. It looks as if it could flatter girls lighter than me (I'm nc 50 for ref) and girls with more olive in their skin since it was a pinky-purple and not a more warmer rich purple. Since I don't believe in waste, I will get a lip pencil in a dark purple shade to give it depth. Not giving up on you, V.V! At any rate, love Milani's lipsticks and they will always be a re-buy to me but not this shade if I can't get it to work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cornejcn on 10/13/2014 3:27:00 PM more reviews by cornejcn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the staying power of the Milani Color Statement lipsticks. I have Violet Volt which is a bright purple that's pretty wearable on olive and darker skin tones, as well as Sangria. While they do transfer, they stick pretty well and I only had to do a serious reapplication after eating. Even when it faded it left a nice lip-stain look.

My biggest gripe is the smell. It's this awful chemical candy smell, that thankfully wears off after a few minutes. My lips are typically dry and I didn't have much of an issue.

If it weren't for the smell, I'd give this a 5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CroatBoat on 6/25/2014 4:49:00 PM more reviews by CroatBoat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ive only owned one tube of lipstick before I bought Naturally Chic and Rose Femme from this line. I always thought lipstick looked ridiculous on me but this has turned me into a convert. Its easy to apply and lasts well, but does become more of a stain than lipstick throughout the day. Rose Femme is that darker browny pink color that I was looking for, since I hate the look of unnatural fuchsia pink lips. I use it on days I actually wear full makeup, and as for Naturally Chic, it really makes me look more put together even with no makeup. I plan to try out Cabaret and Plumrose(?) too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kalahlove on 6/24/2014 4:05:00 PM more reviews by Kalahlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i love this lipstick , Very creamy and long lasting , its vibrant and perfect for wearing out . you def get your moneys worth .
I Own only one shade i do plan on purchasing more just haven't got around to it as yet ,
since there's so much lipsticks i want to try .
i Own the shade " 14 Rose hip "
Its a vibrant bright Hot pink shade .
a lot of people compare this shade to " Mac Yum Yum " But they're not really alike in my opinion " Mac yum yum " is brighter and it has more of a neon Pink undertone . and " Milani rose hip 14 " has more of a Hot pink Purplish Undertone . i still LOVE THIS SHADE i just hate when people say its a dupe of " Mac yum yum " because its NOT .

( here is a link to a close up picture of me wearing this product in " 14 rose Hip "

----------> http://oi58.tinypic.com/s6oeo1.jpg

Overall I love this shade and product i will def repurchase this shade and other shades i think any complexion women can pull " 14 rose hip "by its self or with a Lip Liner .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DLYNN on 5/21/2014 5:06:00 PM more reviews by DLYNN

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A year or so back I purchased Milani Color Statement lipstick in "Naturally Chic", #25. It's a nice, peachy-brown creme on me. Unexpectedly, what came to impress me most about Milani Color Statement lipsticks is the staying power. Nowadays many lipsticks wear like lip balm/lipstick crossovers, but this is straight lipstick and it wears like it, too in a refreshingly old school sort of way. I even like the glam gold tubes with the handy color window on the bottom (so much more accurate than a sticker!).

Recently, I purchased this lipstick in "Fruit Punch", #11 and "Sugar Glaze", #39. Fruit Punch is a creme shade of warm rose-coral, a bold shade that may resemble a hot pink on fair skin tones. Sugar Glaze is a peachy nude with a gold shimmer, which will flatter a variety of complexions. With respect to many creme-finish lipsticks, I've noticed wear time is considerably improved over their pearl, frost or satin counterparts, even within the same brand. With Milani, however, the wear-time on Sugar Glaze is just as good as can be found in their creme finishes. While I must admit it was entirely unexpected to encounter a lipstick so waxy in that Sugar Glaze doesn't spread all that easily in spite of the gold shimmer I'll happily live with the waxier feel in exchange for a lipstick that actually stays put!

For all the great things about these lipsticks unusually nice packaging for a drugstore brand and unusually long-wearing shades there is a significant drawback that keeps me from enjoying these lipsticks more often. I am a flavored lip balm fan but in spite of the fact that product fragrances do not typically throw me off the watermelon fragrance to this line of lipsticks is far too strong. Someone else described it as a Jolly Rancher candy sort of smell, and I would agree.

For as much as I like these lipsticks, overall, I really wish Milani would rethink the watermelon scent. Not only is this one of the more over-powering scents I've encountered from a drugstore brand, but given that this brand is geared toward women of color the choice of watermelon strikes me as stereotypical perhaps even offensive. Scent aside, these are great products, fantastic colors and quality formulas. Until Milani rethinks the overpowering fragrance, however, I am tempted to purchase these Color Statement lipsticks only if 1) they are on sale, and 2) I can't locate the color I'm drawn to in another brand. Although it's doubtful I will purchase another Milani lipstick any time soon thanks to the clingy, watermelon scent, I'm rating this 4 lippies because the formulas are first-rate offering better staying power than the likes of L'Oreal and Revlon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Milani products

More Lipstick products