Milani • Color Statement (all) • Lipstick

rated 4.4(23 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 CroatBoat on 6/25/2014 4:49:00 PM more reviews by CroatBoat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ive only owned one tube of lipstick before I bought Naturally Chic and Rose Femme from this line. I always thought lipstick looked ridiculous on me but this has turned me into a convert. Its easy to apply and lasts well, but does become more of a stain than lipstick throughout the day. Rose Femme is that darker browny pink color that I was looking for, since I hate the look of unnatural fuchsia pink lips. I use it on days I actually wear full makeup, and as for Naturally Chic, it really makes me look more put together even with no makeup. I plan to try out Cabaret and Plumrose(?) too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kalahlove on 6/24/2014 4:05:00 PM more reviews by Kalahlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i love this lipstick , Very creamy and long lasting , its vibrant and perfect for wearing out . you def get your moneys worth .
I Own only one shade i do plan on purchasing more just haven't got around to it as yet ,
since there's so much lipsticks i want to try .
i Own the shade " 14 Rose hip "
Its a vibrant bright Hot pink shade .
a lot of people compare this shade to " Mac Yum Yum " But they're not really alike in my opinion " Mac yum yum " is brighter and it has more of a neon Pink undertone . and " Milani rose hip 14 " has more of a Hot pink Purplish Undertone . i still LOVE THIS SHADE i just hate when people say its a dupe of " Mac yum yum " because its NOT .

( here is a link to a close up picture of me wearing this product in " 14 rose Hip "

----------> http://oi58.tinypic.com/s6oeo1.jpg

Overall I love this shade and product i will def repurchase this shade and other shades i think any complexion women can pull " 14 rose hip "by its self or with a Lip Liner .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DLYNN on 5/21/2014 5:06:00 PM more reviews by DLYNN

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A year or so back I purchased Milani Color Statement lipstick in "Naturally Chic", #25. It's a nice, peachy-brown creme on me. Unexpectedly, what came to impress me most about Milani Color Statement lipsticks is the staying power. Nowadays many lipsticks wear like lip balm/lipstick crossovers, but this is straight lipstick and it wears like it, too — in a refreshingly old school sort of way. I even like the glam gold tubes with the handy color window on the bottom (so much more accurate than a sticker!).

Recently, I purchased this lipstick in "Fruit Punch", #11 and "Sugar Glaze", #39. Fruit Punch is a creme shade of warm rose-coral, a bold shade that may resemble a hot pink on fair skin tones. Sugar Glaze is a peachy nude with a gold shimmer, which will flatter a variety of complexions. With respect to many creme-finish lipsticks, I've noticed wear time is considerably improved over their pearl, frost or satin counterparts, even within the same brand. With Milani, however, the wear-time on Sugar Glaze is just as good as can be found in their creme finishes. While I must admit it was entirely unexpected to encounter a lipstick so waxy — in that Sugar Glaze doesn't spread all that easily in spite of the gold shimmer — I'll happily live with the waxier feel in exchange for a lipstick that actually stays put!

For all the great things about these lipsticks — unusually nice packaging for a drugstore brand and unusually long-wearing shades — there is a significant drawback that keeps me from enjoying these lipsticks more often. I am a flavored lip balm fan but in spite of the fact that product fragrances do not typically throw me off the watermelon fragrance to this line of lipsticks is far too strong. Someone else described it as a Jolly Rancher candy sort of smell, and I would agree.

For as much as I like these lipsticks, overall, I really wish Milani would rethink the watermelon scent. Not only is this one of the more over-powering scents I've encountered from a drugstore brand, but given that this brand is geared toward women of color the choice of watermelon strikes me as stereotypical — perhaps even offensive. Scent aside, these are great products, fantastic colors and quality formulas. Until Milani rethinks the overpowering fragrance, however, I am tempted to purchase these Color Statement lipsticks only if 1) they are on sale, and 2) I can't locate the color I'm drawn to in another brand. Although it's doubtful I will purchase another Milani lipstick any time soon thanks to the clingy, watermelon scent, I'm rating this 4 lippies because the formulas are first-rate — offering better staying power than the likes of L'Oreal and Revlon.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 l0laxc0la on 5/18/2014 7:21:00 PM more reviews by l0laxc0la

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Umm what the heck, why did it take me so long to try these??!? These are AMAZING. Regardless of the price which is also unbeatable, this is my favorite lipstick formula I have found to date. Some people don't like the fruity scent, but it dissipates really quickly so i don't mind it at all. There's great pigmentation on these, and they feel really moisturizing and comfortable on the lips. I literally can't stop wearing the shade I got (Rose Femme, a pinky-brown-mauve, slightly 90s, slightly MLBB kind of feel) and plan to get many more!! For the price point, you definitely can't do any better than these... and beyond that, these are certainly comparable to many mid-end or even high-end lip products. Love!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 supeya on 9/10/2013 3:03:00 PM more reviews by supeya

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The color that I have is flamingo pose. The color is very opaque which is the only good side. For some reason milani lipsticks doesn't suit my lips. Couple of years ago I tried on lipstick from Milani and I had this problem. So this time around I exfoliated my lips very well and then tried Flamingo pose, but again my lips began to peel. The scent of the lipstick is very fruity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyThistle on 8/21/2013 10:40:00 AM more reviews by LovelyThistle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was skeptical that a drugstore lipstick would have the pigmentation that I like in lip color. But this one was a pleasant surprise. It does have a "jolly rancher" smell to it but I notice it fades after a few minutes. The color I bought is Chilled Brandy, a nice frosted plum. The frost/shimmer is fairly subtle but does show dry spots on the lips if you do not use a balm under it and exfoliate well before.

It wears well, I drank coffee and still had a good amount of color/stain left. I just touched it up and it wore for 3-4 hours without needing to touch up again.

Overall I would say if you can get past the smell then give it a try. It is a very nice full coverage, pigmented lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IrynaHarpy on 8/18/2013 1:38:00 AM more reviews by IrynaHarpy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I live in Australia and am sick of having to spend around $20 just for what is a budget brand lipstick in the USA only to discover that it's rubbish, so I decided to buy up various brands at Cherry Culture and The Beauty Joint after researching swatches online for products we simply don't have here. I thought I'd take a punt on a Milani lipstick as I'm completely sold on their Brandy & All Natural lipliners.

The hold is great (unlike NYX Round Lipsticks which dribble over your lipliner and feather right into the age lines around your mouth) & is pleasantly moisturising, even when blotted down. Forget about Max Factor, Revlon, L'Oreal, Maybelline & the rest: Milani Color Statements leaves them for dead in the longevity, comfort and stayput stakes (even when I've slopped it on at home without using a lipliner!). The Color Statement lipsticks could give HE brands a run for their money...

... But I just can't get past the sickly, strong scent and the flavour from it that permeates my mouth. Considering the fact that I have very dry lips, plus somehow manage to work off lipstick incredibly quickly, I need to be touch up at least every few hours and just end up feeling sick by the end of a working day. I like the quality so much that I've tried to persist with it quite a few times hoping I could get over the taste, especially considering that there are a few more shades I'd LOVE to try out. Sadly, it's just too overwhelming for me to try to ignore. Yes, it does wear off, but by then I'm in need of a touch-up.

The quality and price are unbeatable. There's a selection of shades, tones and finishes enough to find at least two or three favourites for any gal... but only if you aren't sensitive to heavily fragranced lipsticks.

I'm heartbroken. Please, Milani, could you stop trying to cover up any icky natural smells with cheap perfume? I'd be willing to pay you $35 a tube if you'd leave it as it is. Personally, I'd rather a few weird smells over this tacky cover-up any day!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 8/15/2013 6:10:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am completely floored by the staying ability. I was not expecting such a long wearing lipstick! I purchased these in Flamingo Pose, Uptown Mauve, and Plumrose. Upon initial application, I was immediately aware of the waxy texture. Not to say it's unpleasant - it feels cushy and lush on the lips. The texture also creates a really beautiful sheen and makes the lips look plumped up with high opaque pigment. The scent on this is strong when applying from the tube, but it does not linger. So pleased!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jencypark on 7/22/2013 11:51:00 PM more reviews by jencypark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

So far...I have only tried four of them...and I love some more than others. Still overall I give this line of lipstick 5 stars because I really enjoy most of them! When smelling the lipstick in the tube, the scent is quite strong but I can't smell it at all when I put it on my lips.

Fruit Punch. I love this color…I think the combination of this lipstick with Mac’s Pink Lemonade lipglass is amazing. It has just enough warmth in the lipstick to make it more wearable on my skin tone. The lipstick is creamy with a cream finish. Though these lipsticks don’t make my lips peel…I feel much more comfortable wearing these on top of a lipgloss. For this color although lipliner would be nice I don’t think it’s absolutely necessary.

Nude Creme: This lipstick is a pinky nude with a cream finish. I would say it has the general color idea as L’oreal Fairest Nude color. Unfortunately like most nudes, this color doesn’t look very appealing on my skintone without some colored lipgloss. The consistency is creamy and applies easily on the lips. I would apply some nude lipliner to fill my whole lips and especially outline the edge so that I get an clean and even opaque nude finish.

Naturally chic: It’s a cream finish with a nice creamy consistency. This is my everyday color. I top this lipstick with Mac’s Lust lipglass and the combination is very work/prof school appropriate. I don’t think this lipstick requires lipliner and it’s the most hassle free application because of it. (This may also be because it’s the closest to the color on my own lips). The color applies well with just one or two layers. This is the first color I purchased and because I liked this one so much I ended up getting the other three.

Best Red: Thought it’s a pretty bright red color, this is my least favorite of the bunch. Unlike it’s name, it’s not the best red lipstick I own. It’s matte with more a stiff texture and thus the color is a bit difficult to apply. Also, if you accidentally get this outside your lips you’re screwed because it’ll stain red rather quickly. If you kiss someone the lip color will get all over them and it has a lot of transfer. I would try tissue-paper-blotting technique so it becomes more of a stain. I would also use a lipliner and lip brush to apply this color…thus making it the more bothersome lipstick to deal with. The formula is the most drying of the bunch…but not to the point of significantly peeling my lips. It just makes the inner part of my lips a little more crackly looking if I don’t apply lipgloss with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* payjark on 7/22/2013 10:25:00 PM more reviews by payjark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I haven't bought a single one of these that I don't like. I grab these before a lot of my MAC lipsticks. The colors are super pigmented and glide on like a dream. I cant wait to buy Best Red, its always sold out, though! And it smells like Jolly Ranchers which is a huge plus. At less than $4 a pop, I have no complaints.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Milani products

More Lipstick products