Dermstore - Lip Quench

4.8

13 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Hydrogenated Polyisobutene,Petrolatum, Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer, Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, Beeswax, Brassica Campestris/Aleurites Fordi Oil Copolymer, Tocopheryl Acetate, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil,Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil,Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Ceramide-3,Tribehenin,Propylparaben, Sorbitan Isostearate,Palmitoyl Oligopeptide,Fragrance, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides.


on 4/29/2015 6:16:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

WAAAHHH!! That does it - I'm gonna bawl!! Is it just me (NO WAY it is!!) or is it EVERY TIME I find a product that truly does what it says it's gonna do, the manufacturers decide to "improve" the formula?!?! This is HANDS DOWN the most awesome lip balm in this big old world - and I only discovered it by accident. Like alot of other posters here, I received this product as a freebie with Dermstore orders. I had 3 of them, basically threw them in a drawer and thought they might come in handy sometime - you know, sometime. My daughter was visiting one day this past winter & mentioned she needed lip balm, so I gave her one. Just a couple of weeks ago, I ran across these in the bottom of the drawer & opened one up to slap some on before bed. Oh my goodness - woke up to lips as soft as a baby's butt & downright pillowy - OK, not quite Angelina Jolie, but as good as it's gonna get for a mere mortal such as myself. LOL! I swear after a week's daily use, the (faint, please God!!) vertical lines on and around my lips are virtually gone. It's ever so slightly tinted pink and has what looks to me like super fine shimmer as well. Makes my lips look full and beautiful and moist. And lasts for hours during the day, and ALL night if I apply before bed. Well! I thought I'd just place another order at Dermstore and stock up on these, as I'd seen the product for sale before. I thought, oh, ok, they've updated the packaging. Whoop dee doo, IMHO. Couldn't care less about packaging if a product WORKS. Then I noticed where it said "improved formula", and a tiny arrow of dread wormed its nasty way into my heart, and then I saw the first reviews, the very first of which cried "bring back the old formula"! So then I read more reviews, and it seems that overwhelmingly, folks are not liking the "improvements". Now I'm afraid to order the new formula, as I really, REALLY like THIS one! So I'm already stalking the product on Ebay, and have purchased 2 tubes so far. And I'm considering rifling my daughter's purse the next time she's here and stealing back the one I gave her!! If I wasn't a grown up (HA) I'd just lay on the floor and kick and scream, though. WHY do things work like this with so many beauty products???
Is there anyone out there who's tried the new untinted (improved!) formula? Can you shoot me a message and let me know how (IF) it compares to the original?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/29/2015 4:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This lip treatment is really thick and heavy, so it's definitely not a lip balm I would use on a regular basis. I wouldn't say that it's sticky, but it's definitely not the thinnest, most slippery lip balm. I like to use this in the morning or at night, and it's a really good refresher if you're lips are really really chapped. I haven't tried any of the tints yet, but the clear version is definitely really nice.


on 2/18/2015 11:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have the original (slightest pink - almost no color) and I recently purchased the new sheer tint in Orchid Berry. I definitely like the original better - feels more moisturizing. The sheer tint is actually too lip-sticky for me and I have to be careful when I apply it not to put too much on. I have very pale lips and the original is only SLIGHTLY tinted, so it's really better as a lip balm than something you use for color.


on 11/18/2014 1:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It softens and moisturizes the lips tremendously!
Love that its tinted a soft baby pink.
I received mine as a free sample from ordering online but bought a few Las week after I ran out.

It's similar to a high end brand i used to buy in France for $80 a tube.

You can't beat this!


on 4/18/2014 5:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is better than I expected a lip balm could be. It looks like a pretty lip gloss as well. Totally worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2013 10:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Oooh, I didn't want to like this due to the steep price! I know it's only $12, but for .28 oz.?? Luckily I placed two Dermstore orders in a row (forgot something the first time around) and got two free LQs.

My lips are crazy-dry in the wintertime and I end up resorting to cocoa butter sticks, greasy all-natural balms, and petroleum jelly potions. None of which penetrate deeply enough, though they've all been helpful. Then along comes Lip Quench: sticky, gooey, loooong-lasting (no exaggeration; you can apply and kick back with a cocktail, hot chocolate, pick your poison!, and you'll be left with goo clinging for dear life to your lips). It's my sticky little miracle worker! Softens those puppies (my lips, please don't try it on your puppy) right up and is cosmetically elegant, too (it only *feels* groddy). Lips look plump and dewy, making this an ideal treatment for day or night.

It is with deep regret (for my wallet) that I proclaim this a HG product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/30/2013 1:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have gotten this twice so far as my "mystery gift" with my dermstore.com order. It is very thick, sticky, and shiny. However, it serves its purpose as an effective lip treatment. I only use it at night before bed because it is so sticky and shiny, but in the morning my lips are soft and moisturized. I have an assortment of lip balms/treatments, but this is the one I reach for every evening.


on 7/12/2013 1:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

THE BEST lip treatment/moisturizer I've used so far. I've used Carmex, Neutrogena, Nivea, you name it. This actually forms a barrier on your lips to prevent the moisture from escaping and protects your lips. It's almost a gloss in this sense, but I actually don't feel like it's very sticky and makes my lips overtly shiny. Even though I got this as a freebie in one of my orders from Dermstore, I plan to buy a couple more tubes.


on 6/20/2013 11:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Got this as a freebie for making a purchase on their site. Very nice gloss with a pearly pink tint to it that is very flattreing on my pale skin. It is pigmented for a gloss but still a gloss, so not overly pigmented but moreso than my other glosses are. I would purchase this one if needed as it is just a very nice and flattering shade on me.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Excellent lip treatment! I was surprised by how much I love this stuff.
Dermstore sends this as a freebie when you order from them, and I'm glad they do as I may not have discovered it otherwise.
This stuff WORKS for me. I've used plenty of other lip treatments and lip balms that either don't work or yield subtle results, and this is very different in that it seriously turned the condition of my lips around in a very noticeable way. I'm so pleased!
The consistency is thick; you need to apply some pressure when you squeeze the tube to get it to come out. It does feel quite sticky on the lips, which I'm not a huge fan of (I'm much more a lipstick than a gloss girl), but it works so well that it leaves me not caring about the stickiness.
I really love that this stuff LASTS on the lips. No need to constantly reapply. I apply it at night and in the morning it is still on my lips, hydrating and protecting them. The only other product that lasts all night on my lips is lanolin (Lansinoh). In fact the consistency and texture is not all that dissimilar to lanolin. I just love waking up with super soft, plump, moisturized lips. (Hate when I apply a product at night and it is gone in the morning and my lips no longer feel soft.)
This has really turned my lips around. My parched, peely winter lips are now super soft, and *smooth* with no peeling or cracking. Lipsticks and lip stains look amazing, whereas before they would just emphasize my dryness and peelies.
Lip Quench is clear with a bit of subtle shimmer. Not my favorite look for my lips as I prefer some color, even a subtle tint, but you can apply anything you want on top if you want some color (which I do when I wear this during the day). I would totally love if they made this in different colored tints!
I would absolutely purchase this, but seeing as Dermstore sends this for free with your order, I don't think I would ever have to!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1504 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
176 Reviews
lip maximizer
98 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Back to Top