Kerastase Masque Elixir Ultime

4.7

20 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Quaternium-87, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Behentrimonium Chloride, Cetyl Esters, Propylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Mica, Isopropyl Alcohol, Caprylyl Glycol, Zea Mays (Corn) Oil, Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil, Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil, Pentaclethra Macroloba Seed Oil, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, Linalool, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Limonene, Citric Acid, Caramel, CI 19140/Yellow 5, CI 17200/Red 33, Fragrance.


on 5/3/2015 11:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a review for the whole line of elixer ultime including this oil and the intialiste scalp treatment. I hope this helps someone who has struggled their whole life how I have to find the perfect system for my fine straight hair. I have fine texture hair with a medium amount of hair that is STRAIGHT with dry ends and my roots get oily with build up. I constantly struggle with every shampoo giving me build up all the time, and my roots get oily and because my hair is on the thin side and straight. But, I absolutely love this leave in serum and the scalp leave in Initialiste, in addition with kerastase elixir ultime shampoo and matching conditioning mask. I have spent thousands on every shampoo in the world trying to find one that works. I have used the cheapest and the most expensive brands. Kerastase was something I tried years ago, but never really thought it was worth the money because it would still give me a slight build up and weigh my hair down no matter which one of them I used. HOWEVER, their elixir ultime shampoo and mask are AMAZING. I know its scary because it says OIL shampoo, but I cant explain it, my hair is shiney and soft and easy to style. I love this stuff. I also use the elixir ultime oil drops leave in and I love it too. In addition with this serum it is amazing!! I love all these products. I just have to rave about it because if you are like me and constantly in search for the right shampoo, I think you may like this line. Also, I use LUSH big sea salt shampoo once a week to remove build up. It is amazing in combination with the kerastase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 4/26/2015 10:56:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this masque! I am a hair product and makeup person big time. I have tried so many products. I like most kerastase products, but the ultime line is my favorite. The scent does smell like Dior addict by the way, funny because I didn't love that fragrance but love it for my hair! It's luxurious. I have fine, dry, blond (bleached) hair, but this really helps a lot. I use other masques, treatments, etc but my favorite is this! On my 5th jar, so it's worth it to me. You don't need a lot, I mix with the oil 3 to 4 pumps for a deep conditioning. I leave it on for at least 2 hours, and sometimes overnight. I wash my hair, use redken protein CAT spray, rinse out then use my ultime for a couple of hours or more and it's made a big difference on the health of my hair. I think you should try it if you like what I'm saying. My hair looks it's best with this treatment!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/3/2015 6:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Delightfully luxurious hair mask. A little goes a long way with this. The scent is more of a perfume which may not be to everyone's tastes or certain skin types. However I absolutely adore the scent which lingers all day. I normally wash my hair three times a week and use this twice a week as a special treat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2015 6:10:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue


I noticed the smell right away, it's very pleasant and reminds me of what I thought middle aged women's cologne smelled like when I was young. It's a strong smell, but I find it pleasant enough.

I left it on for about 8 minutes while I was in the shower and as soon as I was rinsing it I noticed the difference. It left my hair silky soft and changed the texture a lot.As my hair air dried it still felt soft. This is an incredibly expensive product, but for thick/dry/coarse/chemically treated hair it's EXCELLENT. I haven't tried anything better, especially impressed with the instant results.

Will definitely repurchase.

Further info:
I bought this after using redken real control intense renewal for years. I have long coarse hair which is coloured red from a dark mousey blonde colour. The ends are porous and a bit dry, my hair tangles easily.

I can't use normal conditioners as they aren't moisturising enough - I try to use products without parabens and which are more natural, but I find it very difficult to find ones that work with my coarse hair.

I used this for the first time this week, it's GREAT. My regime is 3 more inches treatment overnight or for an hour, pureology hydrate shampoo and then a mask in lieu of a conditioner.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2014 6:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Nice smell, nice texture, adds a little shine to my long fine dark hair, but nothing special.
I didn't notice any moisturizing effect. It's very ordinary mask for this price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2014 6:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Phenomenal. My hair is bleached and isn't breaking but was very dry. However, after using this I have certainly seen results. My hair is more nourished and strong and looks amazing - I let my hair air dry and there is no frizz and I personally LOVE the smell. Smells like when you leave a hair salon and it lingers for a few days. So luxurious. Worth every penny.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2014 7:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a really good conditioner for dry hair. It made my hair stronger, more moisturized and it gave hold to my waves. I think it's silicone-free, that's why it didn't straighten out my hair. It made it frizz-free and nice, but not very silky or soft. I gave it 4 lippies, because there are some other products I find better in performance. It's outstandingly good, but not HG. Beware of the scent though, which is the same as that of the Elixir Ultime Oil. I know it's subjective, but I find it unpleasant and overbearingly strong. It's coconutty, similar to a suntan lotion. The scent is the most important reason why I won't repurchase this mask.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/1/2014 7:17:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is a must have conditioner for me! Everything about it from the packaging to the fragrance and texture is luxurious, and it leaves my hair soft, silky, manageable, and visibly healthier looking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2014 5:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

There is no skirting around the issue that £28 is a lot of money to spend on a conditioner however, I was fortunate enough to be given a free sample of this product and so i have managed to try it without any risk. I should admit that I am a big fan of Kerastase products and I currently have a bain satin shampoo and conditioner. Each time I use them I am reminded just how good they are. I tend to shampoo twice and yet after just 1 application of shampoo I can already feel a positive difference in the texture of my hair. already it feels smoother. The masque elixir ultime is no exception. my hair feels silky smooth, it's shiny and the smell is divine and similarly to other reviews on here I too find myself swishing my hair so that I can get a whaft of the amazing scent. It is thicker than most conditioners however I felt I didn't need to use too much. I can't really comment on the packaging as what I had was a free sample which came in a sachet but the full size product looks like it's in a similar pot to most other kerastase conditioners. I personally think it looks good and of high quality, I also like the fact that it has a wide neck/opening which means nine of the product gets stuck in the bottle so instead you really get your money's worth.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2013 10:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The price is obnoxious, so I purchased the travel size because I was so curious about this golden packaged little beauty that a reviewer said smells like Dior Addict.

Admittedly, I have not actually smelled Dior Addict, but I know that vanilla is a base note, and that's all I needed to go ahead and spend some money!

I love it. Rich, creamy, might be too heavy for some, but for me it smooths and adds shine. Best part, the scent. I have long hair, mid back, and this conditioner just saturates it in a warm delicious scent that makes me swish my hair around to catch a whiff ( I try to keep the hair swish, whiffing out of public view, mind you). Just ordered the holiday gift pack from the website, can't wait 'till it gets here! Made the price a tiny, tiny bit more bearable... I've read that kerastase scents are way too strong for some, this is no exception, it's a strong scent, but how I adore it!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Kerastase Products

image

Ciment Thermique

272 reviews
image

Nectar Thermique

132 reviews
image

Oleo-Relax Serum

315 reviews
Back to Top