Too Faced Boudoir Eyes

3.7

35 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I saw this palette at Ulta and absolutely fell in love. I love nude colored palettes, but I feel like so many of them are warm toned and this one is all cool tones. It was something different and I couldn't wait to try it out.

Many people are complaining about the pigmentation. I will agree, some of the shades are kinda barely-there. I did take off a lippy because sometimes you have to build the colors up a little. However, I LOVE the subtle and sexy end result! If you love very dark and bold colors, this palette is not going to make you very happy....but if you love the subtle look that blends into your skin tone seamlessly yet enhances your eyes, you will love this.

There is a little fallout with some of the sparkly shades, but it's not drastic and definitely not a deal breaker. I've had worse fallout with my Urban Decay shadows and I still love them as well.

I would definitely repurchase. I have a lot of fun playing with this and I get compliments every time I use it. I also have a black friend who has played with this palette and it looks beautiful on her, so don't shy away just because you have a deeper skin tone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ever since this palette came out years ago, I was obsessed with it! I wanted it so badly but as I was a college student at the time I resisted getting yet another palette. The packaging is so irresistably cute.. Is it just me?!

The colors appeared to me as there are a lot of lighter more wearable shades and nothing bright or crazy. This is a more cool toned palette which I love since I feel like most palettes are warmer toned now.

Finally after years of lusting after it, I got it using a coupon on HSN. Honestly though I think it's worth full price. The colors are very boudoir eyes appropriate - sultry, sexy and soft.

I was really worried about the quality of these shadows after reading reviews. However I'm really happy with them. They are slightly powdery and I do think since some of the shades are quite close to my medium skin tone (birthday suit, sugar walls), I did have to build up a little. But honestly it was not hard to achieve the look and I could clearly see the gorgeous shadows on my lid even though they were close to my skin tone. There was minimal fall out with the glitter shade Sugar Walls.

I did notice slight creasing with these shadows after wearing them on top of my mac paint pot. I'm yet to try with other bases to see how they perform.

There are 3 matte shades in the palette and the rest are mostly satin with 2 that have slight glitter specs but are gorgeous. The palette leans cool toned and the colors are very soft. Other than the black shade, I don't think you could achieve a dark eye look with the other colors in this set though. Even the purple is not that dark, it's more of a medium cool toned purple with slight shimmer/sheen.

I'm really happy with this palette. The colors are gorgeous on my medium skin (nc 30) and I think they will look even better on lighter skin. It really gives a soft natural eye that's different from the typical warm brown natural eye. This palette offers more Taupey shades which is still neutral but a twist.

Ps I thought lap dance would be similar to satin taupe by Mac but it's not. Lap dance is more silver while satin taupe is more brown.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2015 4:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have just ordered this pallette and let me tell you I am absolutely in love it is deffo going to be my everyday makeup pallette it's just so beautiful :)!


on 4/6/2015 8:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I had to return this because the pigmentation just wasn't there for me. The darker shades worked well in the crease, but the lighter ones barely showed up for me, even with a good primer.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2015 1:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

The colors are pretty in the pan, but on the eyes there is little color payoff. Really disappointed with this palette. The colors are not very pigmented and fade quickly, even with primer. The metal tin packaging is too cute but overall, the value is not there.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 10/30/2014 7:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I find this palette so easy to wear and pretty. I have brown eyes and fair skin. There are 3 matte shadows and the rest are shimmery or glittery. I find the overall look to be purpley and gray smokey looks. The packaging is the best. In a metal tin with a magnetic closure and a decent mirror. I find myself reaching for this all the time for work and play. With a primer these shadows, last the whole time I am out. You might need a qtip to clean up a few chunks of glitter under you eyes after you put it on but it stays after the initial application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/9/2014 11:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love, love, LOVE this eyeshadow palette. First, and most importantly, the pigmentations are great - as always with Too Faced eyeshadow palettes. Second, the colors are absolutely to die for. Every single color is so pretty and they all matches perfectly together (obviously, since it's a palette). The palette is perfect for the winter since the colors are very cool-toned. I also think the colors will be more prominent on fair skin tones (both warm or cold undertones), as someone mentioned below.

The price is really reasonable considering you're getting nine beautiful, high quality eyeshadows that are very wearable. They can easily be used for a more casual, everyday eye makeup as well as for darker evening looks.

I also want to mention that the palette actually do comes with a mirror (I saw that some reviewers said it doesn't) - it's inside the palette behind the paper card-thing with the logo.

Edit:
I tried to create a look with just the shadows in the palette, but failed. I find them too cold to be used alone and I don't feel comfortable without adding a hint of warmth at least in the crease. Also, I think the purple shades are a bit too much, It would have been enough with just one purple tone.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2014 5:04:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

When I first saw this palette on Sephora's website, I fell in love. When I then saw that it had a mirror and three cards to show you how to apply three different looks, I knew right there I had to marry it...or well at least buy it and take it home!! Being that I always get lost when I step foot inside Sephora due to its magical properties and inviting scents, I decided to order it online to avoid being taken in by its wonderland of colors! When it arrived at my home a week later I couldn't wait to try it out! I found out two days before I had to go back to work, that I had to go back to work after having my baby! So I felt this was just fitting to make my grand entrance back to my private practice.

I woke up early that morning, showered, changed and spent my time with this palette....45 minutes to be exact. I settled on the 'classic' look for my eyes which was one of the examples on the cards. I was so impressed with how pigmented this palette is. The colors are rich beautiful hues of light pinks, purples and grey's. I also youtube this palette to see how other people were wearing it and how many different looks you can accomplish with it.

My eyes looked so elegant all day long. The eyeshadows did not move once throughout the day. I didn't come to wash my face till 10pm at night. Mind you I had this on since 7am in the morning. My eyeshadow literally looked like it had just been applied. The colors never lost their luster not even once and they really stood out without being to bold. I wore it to work in the morning and then to dinner at night and the Classic eyeshadow look fit both events!

I highly recommend this palette if you want something to stand out on your eyes but over take them or draw to much attention and if you are looking for something to give your eyes a beautiful candle like glow!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2014 12:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Iv'e just rediscovered this palette in my eye shadow stash and have been enjoying using this again, so much that I have been using it everyday lately. The only reason I will not repurchase is that I have that much eye shadow that years from now I'll still be chugging through them :)

I don't really see the pinks/purples/greys that others get from this palette, for me it's more natural browns/taupes. Voulez-Vous looks purple-ish in the pan but on me has more of a darkish chocolate brown effect. (Great for a smokey eye look).. For reference I am NC15, pale skin and yellow undertones.

You can make so many pretty combinations with these shadows, the enclosed 3 looks are decent and look nice too - I often use the "Daytime" look for a daytime smokey eye, looks great with a natural blush and pale pink lipstick.

Fuzzy Handcuffs and Garter Belt are nice mattes, if you had med-dark brows Garter Belt could easily double as a brow colour. Fuzzy Handcuffs makes a great all over lid shadow for a very natural look.

I love Sugar Walls and Lap Dance as lower eye liners as well. Birthday Suit is a great all over lid colour and looks great on its own with a shimmer product added, I often like to wear just this with an NYX pink or lilac shimmer rollerball over the top.

This palette is probably better suited to those who don't like dark shadows, I find all of the colours show up fine on me, they are nice and creamy to apply, but In the Buff does have some fall out. Would be better as a travel palette had Too Faced included a mirror..

So shopping my stash was all good and a happy moment to rediscover this little gem.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/5/2014 11:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I usually love two faced palettes but this was a total dud. For starters I didn't like that there wasn't a mirror inside like there usually is, but more importantly the color payoff was terrible. The shadows look gorgeous in the pan, but they barely showed up on my eyelids. I had to apply over and over and wound up with glitter halfway down my cheeks. I found the colors didn't blend well either and just wound up looking muddy. This palette wasn't worth the hefty price.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Palettes


Contour Kit
Contour Kit
91 Reviews
The Nudes
The Nudes
98 Reviews
PRO Palette
PRO Palette
245 Reviews
NAKED
NAKED
2269 Reviews

Top Rated Palettes

image

MAC 15-PAN

190 reviews


Back to Top