Make Up For Ever Pro Finish Multi-Use Powder Foundation

3.7

80 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc • Mica • CI 77492/Iron Oxides • Diethylhexyl Succinate • CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide • Silica • Nylon-12 • Zinc Stearate • Polyethylene • CI 77491/Iron Oxides • Hydrogenated Lecithin • CI 77499/Iron Oxides • Trimyristin • Ximenia Americana Seed Oil • Aluminium Hydroxide • Phenoxyethanol • Sodium Dehydroacetate • Caprylyl Glycol • Tocopherol • Water • Stearic Acid • Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder • Sodium Hyaluronate • Silica Dimethyl Silylate


on 4/11/2015 6:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Been using MUFE HD liquid foundation and liked the idea of taking it with me in a powder foundation. Talked to the Sephora SA and got the 123 after a super quick swatch, which I trusted wast the same colour I used in the liquid format. Wrong wrong wrong.
First off the colour was waaay off. I looked like an oompaloompah. It was golden orange. Second, it was thick. Yes, I was looking for more coverage, but not mask like.
I have since moved on to Estee Lauder Double Wear as it is full coverage but feels lighter and is a better match. The nice thing about EL is it does not oxidize or transfers. Unfortunately this bad experience has put me am off the MUFE bandwagon.



on 4/6/2015 4:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

For reference, I am NC42 --and the Sales Associate at Sephora matched me with 168 in the MUFE Pro Finish Multi-Use Powder Foundation *sign* I really wish they took more time to properly colour match diverse skin tones. This colour oxidized badly on me when I applied it wet. Went to exchange for shade 127...will update.


on 2/4/2015 3:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have been on the hunt for a powder foundation to keep in my purse for travel and touch-ups. For reference I am nw10 with dry skin. My criteria is that it match my skin tone, offer decent coverage and be fragrance free. I recently tried MAC's MSF in nw10 and found it way too yellow for me. I was hoping MUFE had the answer in 110 Pink Porcelain. I loved Lancome's Dual Finish in Porcelain Delicate 1, but the scent about killed me.
Pros:
- No fragrance
-Full-med coverage
-Package thin with vented storage for sponge.
-No mineral content, so it will photograph well.
Cons:
-Finish was only so-so. No matter how I blended and smoothed, no matter how
I applied (sponge, puff or kabuki) it appeared somewhat cakey to my eye. I took a lippie off for the unimpressive finish.
-Pink Porcelain 110 was orangey rather than pink and didn't match me personally. This might work for some, but it was a no-go for me. Color-wise it is really quite close MAC's MSF nw10, and I had to swatch to see that the MUFE was not darker but more red. Theoretically it really should have worked on my skin as the lack of red/pink was my problem with the MAC! Shade is personal/subjective, so I didn't take a lippie off. If this foundation were more sheer, it might have worked on my coloring, but then it would have lacked coverage:/
-Price: MAC MSF is really comparable in quality and color selection IMO, but significantly cheaper. MAC costs $27 and the MUFE $36.00, so one lippie off for price.

Verdict: I would not repurchase simply because the color didn't match. It is a decent product, but didn't work for me. If you are NW10 and looking for a pressed powder foundation, so far the best match is Lancome Dual Finish in Porcelain Delicate 1 if only you can stand the scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/16/2014 7:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is comparable to MAC's Studio Fix Foundation but way better. My acne prone oily skin did not react negatively to this - no breakouts and no millia. My NC30 skin matches the 117 color. It's actually two tones lighter than my shade. Once it oxidizes the color perfectly adapts to my skintone - making it natural looking. The oil control lasted for 4 hours max and I have to re touch but still looks natural and never cakes up. My only gripe is it's price which really made my bank account nada!


on 10/28/2014 9:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's what I've been looking for all my life. I'm a big fan of the more opaque matte look and this gets me there. It allows me to do a full coverage look that will last all day. I use one dusting over my foundation and I have a beauty queen matte face all day. Minimal retouching throughout the day. I love it, pricey but very worth it!


on 10/23/2014 1:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this powder! My skin is very oil, prone to a few small breakouts and covered in old acne scars. This powder gives me exactly the coverage I need while still making it look like i have no makeup on. I get so many compliments on my skin when I where this powder on it's own, and I NEVER get compliments on my complexion. Problem areas are obviously still going to show through (that's what concealer's for!) but pro finish does an excellent job of evening out my scarred up areas without caking. It doesn't control oil throughout the day, but I've accepted the fact that no powder in the world is going to keep me from getting oily (and I've tried them all). I am definitely shiny by the end of the day, but not a complete oil slick, and the finish still looks decent. I usually apply it with a flat top brush and pounce it around areas I need more coverage, then I buff a little to even it out. The application process is definitely faster than my usual bb cream/tinted moisturizer + translucent powder combo I've used for years. Can't say how it applies with the sponge it comes with as I lost it on the first day but I've never managed to over apply the product the brush, so I can't imagine it going cakey with a sponge. I've tried it over my usual foundation as well and the finish tends to look a little more cakey at the end of the day but the initial finish is beautiful. If you have skin that's oily, is a little uneven, needs a bit of coverage but you still want to be able to see your skin, then I think this product works AMAZINGLY well. If you're looking for a finishing powder that will add coverage to a foundation for a more opaque look, this product might not perform as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/30/2014 10:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is such a wonderful powder! I love it far more than my MAC mineralize skinfinish natural. I wear this powder in shade 173. What I was looking for is a powder that is sheer that I can wear over concealer (hiding dark undereye circles) that wouldn't look too obvious. It really brightened my complexion and did exactly what I wanted it to do. The problem is the oil that appeared despite my primer (Clinique) and I blotted to the point of using 4 E:F blotting papers. Very annoying to have the oil issue. I will continue to use. Very happy thus far.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Originally bought this as a highlighter, but I use it for a nice finish to my liquid foundation.
Leaves your skin silky smooth, and hides pores and any streaky concealer/foundation lines.

Comes in a variey of specific shades so you will always be able to find your match.

The price is too high for my liking, however, being a fan of Make Up Forever and knowing the quality of their products, I spoiled myself.
One could probably find a cheaper alternative, but I'm sure this product will last a long time.


on 8/14/2014 5:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this while on holiday in the US - unfortunately Make Up For Ever isn't available in Australia. I have only used this dry with a brush - I've heard it goes on very cakey if applied dry with the sponge included in the compact. On the other hand it's supposed to go on very nicely applied with a wet sponge - I may or may not ever get around to trying that as I'm pretty happy using it with a brush. This is not my every day powder, I tend to use it more for special nights out. I might try the Duo Mat before deciding if I want to keep using this powder.


on 7/1/2014 1:52:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Looked great going on but after an hour it was sliding off my face and caused a greasy orange mess!!!! Never will I try it again. Make up For Ever is always getting such great reviews but I haven't had any luck with any of their products.


Back to Top