Chanel • Raffinement • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(19 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrsTefee on 3/9/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I gave this 5/5 on everything but I said I wouldnt buy again and thats simply because its SO MUCH $$$$ I feel that I could get similar eyeshadow colors in a less expensive brand. But, now that I have this I do like it and appreciate the quality. Very soft eyeshadows with great pigmentation! I feel that this is a neutral quad leaning on the cool side. The dark brown color has a kind of purpley hint in it (on my skin at least) that I like. If you want to splurge on chanel this is a great product to add to your collection! I think this quad is very versatile and will look great on just about everyone!

Pros
-quality is great
-lots of pigmentation
-no creasing
-easly blends
-soft
-no fragrance

Cons
-expensive

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianaish on 2/4/2014 5:23:00 AM more reviews by dianaish

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The shadows in this one are almost too buttery soft and mushy which makes for easy blending which some will love but I prefer my shadows to have a bit of firmness and a bit more pigment and all 4 colors have varying degrees of shimmer -- to micro-glitter bits. While the two deeper plummy grey browns are indeed lovely sultry colors, I found it too much work and not enough fun to go outside of the palette to get a tasteful look that was flattering for my age and skintone ( in Mac I am nc40) and olive toned. I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 1/30/2014 9:16:00 AM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have green eyes, which is supposed to mean I should be wearing purple-based shadows. However, they usually don't look good on me. I do look good, however, in this quad, because the colors are brown-based plums. I wouldn't buy these shadows again since there are so many shadows out there that perform beautifully at a much lower price point. However, I am happy I splurged on this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 11/18/2013 7:06:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I struggle with browns and neutrals because of my coloring and find that of all my makeup products, I'm by far the most picky when choosing anything neutral or brown for my eyes. FYI, I'm very pale (NC-10 at a guess, almost always the lightest shade of foundation in any brand), hazel eyes, and highlighted blondish hair. Thanks to constant allergies and insomnia I deal with eye redness sometimes and I don't want to pick anything that might enhance it. Plus neutrals tend to make me look tired so I usually reach for plums, violets, and grays. I wanted to try this based on all the great reviews, hoping that I might have one of those magical reactions to this quad.

I've owned it for about two months now and I have to admit that it really does some beautiful things to my eyes. I don't look worn out and it doesn't enhance any redness at all when my allergies act up. I love it for a sultry daytime look as it blends so well I can easily get a cloudy, gentle halo of smokiness that isn't over the top but still manages to be mysterious and alluring. I only use the deepest shade as a liner unless I'm going out at night, then I use in the outer V. I'm too pale to pull it off any other way. But the other three colors always work. The texture is soft, a little powdery so a brush picks up a lot of color. And even with a lot of blending the colors never look muddy. I think it's very flattering for hazel eyes.

As far as it being the mythical creature of the neutral world, I feel that Burberry does it better. I reach for my Burberry neutrals (like Rosewood and Mulberry) far more than I reach for this, especially when I want something truly and completely stunning that I know will boost my confidence and make my eyes and skin glow. But this is still a gorgeous mix of colors and something I'll use often. So this still gets a big thumbs up from me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 surfinjan on 9/21/2013 9:32:00 PM more reviews by surfinjan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this eyeshadow quad. It just looks rich. The colors are incredibly neutral - neither too warm or too cool. The shimmer is very slight - and they feel like silk and butter. I also love the fact that every color in the quad is one that I would use. And although all are neutrals along the same family line, I can easily get at least four different looks out of it for different kinds of events. I can use this for work, for travel, for evenings with friends, and weekends. In today's market, it is my favorite eyeshadow quad

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 brassovaries on 9/5/2013 1:46:00 PM more reviews by brassovaries

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Sad to say this just didn't do it for me. I purchased it based on reviews here while on a business trip, running into Saks and purchasing it with no time to try it out first. The colors looked beautiful in the case, but once on me it just made me look tired, with no obvious color behind the effect. I also didn't think there was particularly good color payoff. I haven't used Chanel e/s for at least a decade, and now that I've tried Chantecaille, CdP, Tom Ford, Shu I don't feel that Chanel is on par with the quality. I gave it away to someone whose coloring it would complement more.

For reference I'm a warm light-olive PPP with brown/hazel eyes & blonde hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 plumblush on 6/14/2013 7:32:00 PM more reviews by plumblush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I would not be overstating it to say that this is my HG of eyeshadow quads. It's just spectacular in its simplicity. It seems to me that we makeup connoisseurs spend a lot of time looking not for fancy things, but really amazing staples-the best nudes, reds, etc.

So, in that vein, this is the very best brown eyeshadow quad I have ever tried. All four of them are finely milled, easy to apply, and have that sort ethereal, glowy quality really fantastic powder eyeshadows have. I have fair skin and blue eyes for reference. I put on a bit of MAC painterly before I apply the shadows from Raffinement and they stay all day. Wonderful!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nailpolishdebby on 5/15/2013 11:45:00 PM more reviews by nailpolishdebby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first Chanel eyeshadow purchase. I'd been on the fence about this quad, especially given that its $59... Then I got a coupon for $20 off a $40 purchase from a big department store. So I had to get this.

I have oily lids that require a primer. So I use Urban Decay Primer Potion + either one of the following on top,depending on if I'm doing a cool or warm eye shadow color :MAC Paint Pot in Painterly or Soft Ocre or MAC Paints in Untitled or Bare Canvas.

So far ,the light shades in Raffinement have all worked quite well when paired with any of the bases above. Except for the dark brown, which flakes. Badly. Racoon eye bad. Even if you use it just a tiny bit.

I really wanted to like this quad, but the dark color flaking off brings down the good qualities. You can't help but expect better from Chanel. What's the point of adding a dark color that you can't use to do a smokey eye for fear of looking like an accidental racoon?? The dark brown in the (sadly) discontinued Wet n Wild Vanity eye shadow set holds up better. It goes to show: Just because it costs doesn't mean it's the best.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Alexine on 5/12/2013 3:53:00 PM more reviews by Alexine

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is "The One" for me. My HG eyeshadow palette that has replaced three other palettes, and an eyeshadow single. My first Chanel quad in almost 10 years, and I'm seriously in love. The colors are neutral and will flatter both cool and warm tones. The palette contains a cooler rosy taupe, a warmer highlight shade, a warmer pinky-tan, and a cooler brown-burgundy shade. I think everyone describes them a little differently because it's hard to pinpoint the exact colors. In the palette, they look boring and I can see them easily passed up for a more exotic color combination, but on the eyes---bam! They are sultry, sexy, yet subtle and polished. Not too much shimmer (except the highlight shade, which is frosty) and appropriate for any occasion. I hope Chanel never discontinues these. They were a gift to myself, and I couldn't be happier, even with the hefty price tag. Worth every penny.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 leilei465 on 4/19/2013 5:11:00 PM more reviews by leilei465

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Summery: My first Chanel eye shadow purchase. I've recently become more interested in neutral colors as opposed to the bold colors or deep smokey eyes I'm used to wearing. This was my first neutral palette purchase and I was blown away by how good these eye shadows were. The color scheme works so harmoniously, and each of the colors are unique enough to where they're not run-of-the-mill typical browns and taupes. I like the applicators the quad comes with, I usually don't use the applicators that palettes come with because I prefer brushes, but these work very well and are suitable enough to actually use. My only complaint is the packaging. First, the one good thing about the packaging is I like the lock closure, it seems very secure and I like that it's not magnetized. But what I don't like is the plastic seems quite thin, so I think it'd shatter very easily if dropped or rumbled around a bit in a bag, which is disappointing given the price that I paid.

Likes: Buttery smooth eye shadows, acceptable pigmentation, gorgeous neutrals palette, comes with a very high quality velvet pouch (better than Dior's and Burberry's).

Dislikes: thin plastic packaging

Overall Verdict: This product is amazing, the quality of the shadows is rave-worthy, and despite my dislike of the packaging, I will be repurchasing. Note: Although it is a Spring 2013 release, the quad is part of the permanent range.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Eye Shadow products