Wet 'n' Wild Coverall Pressed Powder

3.9

76 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/6/2015 11:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Just an average powder. Great if you're on a budget and you want to use it as a setting powder (I don't use it for touch-UPS). Not too special but its not bad. My foundation is $30 so I can't afford much for powder, but since my foundation is high quality I can use this. I would buy again, but next time I think I will try a loose powder.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

After reading all the raving reviews here I bought this to try it out and it is just awful... It is a super thick powder that caked up my face in a matter of minutes. The only thing that came to mind was corn starch. It has a starch consistency and a starch smell that just stinks and feels awful on the skin. The product also crumbled inside the packaging. This is not good at all and I don't recommend it :/


on 7/5/2015 5:02:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I recently purchased this pressed powder and I have it in the Light shade. The coverage is very good but there is a lot of fallout so you just have to brush it on lightly. It could be kind of heavy so you can use this for a foundation or just a light dusting of face powder after you apply your foundation and concealer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/29/2015 7:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This is a repurchase. I had tried this powder in the fair/light shade & hated it. It was ghastly pale! Then I got more serious about this all coz I'm on a mega beauty budget so I bought CoverAll liquid foundation (fair/light) w the CoverAll concealer & pressed powder both in Medium (& the CoverAll primer). I hafta say I am much more impressed in the Medium powder than the 1 that was so pale. It is very powdery & fine & scatters easily which the thin "applicator" it comes w is useless for this (but useful for blush, give it another task lol!) & the compact seems smallish but for USD$4 is okay & the whole "system" of products together is terrific! Better than if any of them are used solo. This powder is comparable to LA Colors or NYC powders. I truly prefer elf studio powder ($3) OR even the elf $1 one, to this but I thought I'd mention that I got better results w a better color match. Irdk why I wear lighter in the foundation than the other products. I am NC?? Buy urself a luxe oversized velour pouf (or a round sponge) at the DS to apply this (or the elf buck powder lol), just be forewarned that this powder isn't truly budget friendly so I may stick w elf not sure if repurchase?


on 6/24/2015 10:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I just came back from repurchasing this compact. Why did I repurchase it? Well, I dropped it on the floor and it broke. This isn't going to be your best option for touch-ups, as it has no mirror and is quite fragile. My nose usually gets very slightly shiny halfway (3-5 hours) through the day; most days I just go with it, sometimes I'll touch up with this.

This powder is extremely powdery. The first time I used it, I tried to dig into it like my Clinique or ELF powder, and I ended up with about a centimeter thick of powder on my flat-toppped brush and half the compact spilled all over my hands. Now I just very gently dip a blush brush into the powder, and I don't have any trouble with kicking up powder.
The texture, however, is not chalky at all or look powdery on the face. It feels creamy but crumbly. I really like the way this smooths out my shiny, bumpy nose, which tends to look patchy just under foundation. It gives a nice sheer color, enough to give my overly cool foundation a neutral tone.
I like this powder. The texture is not perfect but I like the way it looks.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2015 12:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is just an okay powder. I've tried quite a few pressed powders at the drugstore. I agree with someone else that I felt like this just sat on the skin and it didn't seem very finely milled... it stuck to a lot of the hairs on my face which I didn't think were that bad. It was weird and gross. I didn't think it controlled oil all that well either. I've tried Rimmel Stay Matte as well but I didn't like it because it has fragrance in it and it irritated my sensitive skin. This didn't irritate me or break me out, but I hit pan so quickly, like maybe 2 and half weeks? The price is on point and the packaging didn't bother me too much, but I still wouldn't necessarily recommend it. If you want to try it, I don't think you're at too much of a loss. Overall, just a meh powder for me.. try at your own leisure.


on 4/13/2015 11:45:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is okay. It's nothing great, nothing you couldn't find somewhere else. The packaging sucks because there is no mirror and I would take this on the go. It's also very easily broken. I just tapped it and it started to break and crumble. Won't repurchase.


on 4/11/2015 11:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product for me is nothing to write home about. I've been using it solidly for probably over a month now. It makes me so incredibly oily and the powder just sits on the skin. I don't know how to explain it. It just feels like a ton of product on my skin and it feels gross. Also I've been getting small bumps lately and I think this stuff is the culprit. I'm going back to my Stay Matte and won't be repurchasing this again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Let's start off with what you see first: The packaging. Even by Wet 'n' Wild's standards, this packaging is ABYSMAL. No mirror with a pressed powder? For real? I can understand that with a loose powder, as that tends to get used more as a setting powder at home, but it's generally assumed that you keep a pressed powder in your handbag for touch-ups. I don't appreciate having to carry a separate little mirror. Then on top of the no-mirror disappointment, the entire compact is made up of the flimsiest, crappiest plastic you could imagine. You also get a tiny, rectangular latex sponge for... Well, I'm not quite sure. You sure as hell can't use it for powder application so perhaps it is for decoration. I really wouldn't mind having to pay just that little bit more for a mirror and some more product instead of that stupid sponge thing that takes up so much space.

That's where my whining ends though, because the product inside the packaging is absolutely brilliant and easily beats all of the high-end products I've tried. Very finely-milled, so much so that it is almost creamy in texture, with a light but still noticeable level of coverage.

Shine control and wear time are not that great, but then again I have disgusting oil slick skin so maybe you'll have better luck in this area. I don't mind having to touch up fairly frequently though - At this point it's just a fact of life. I can go about 3-4 hours with most powders before having to do some oil control, whereas with this it's 3 hours max. The difference is that those other powders all made my skin look cakey and overly made up, whereas this one doesn't. It makes my skin look flawless. When applied using a powder puff or sponge it can look a bit overdone, but using a densely-packed kabuki brush results in such a beautiful, natural looking finish. I'm not sure if there are micro-shimmer pigments or something in there, but it really revives my skin and gives a glow injection, even when I'm ridiculously tired. Totally matte look to the skin, but never corpsey.



2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2015 7:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had to write a review for this product because it's exceptional... in that I hit pan quicker than I have for any product I've ever owned. I hit pan in one week (nickel sized spot of pan) using it with my Eco Tools powder brush! I'm a proponent of the less is more, your-skin-but-better look so I'm never heavy handed when applying any face makeup. The powder itself is probably the least finely milled I've owned- I've used a Chanel translucent powder compact, MAC Skinfinish Mineralized in Light and Rimmel Stay Matte in translucent. Then again, it gives much more coverage than a translucent powder. I do like the product enough to buy it again if I ever need makeup in a pinch-- it's available everywhere (in the lighter shades, anyway) dirt cheap, decent coverage, doesn't oxidize, doesn't give me flat-looking cake-face, doesn't break me out, and the color (Light-Medium) works for my fair asian complexion. My favorite way to use this is over my Cerave AM on days I feel like wearing minimal face makeup-- it dampens the waxy look many sunscreens can impart and it makes my skin look smooth and even. I wouldn't say that it controls oil particularly well but I just blot during the middle of the day and enough stays behind that my skin-tone looks more even than if I were barefaced. I will finish this but I'm sure there are better powders out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top