Ren Hydra-Calm Global Protection Day Cream

3.9

15 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/22/2015 11:24:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i just finished up a mini sample size of this and am a little bit sad to see it go. the mini lasted me a good number of uses (i'd say over 15 uses) as i found a little bit goes a long way. i'd take half a pea size amount on a fingertip, rub my fingers gently together to warm up the product then apply it to my whole face, focusing on my dry spots. it did well to moisturize my face, didn't feel too heavy or greasy, and did not make me breakout. i find that this works best in the drier fall/winter months and think it will be too heavy during the sweatier months of the year. it works well under my sunscreen, which is a bit drying and mattifying, to prevent dry scaly flakes from showing up. it is a pretty basic moisturizer that doesn't do anything special for the skin aside from moisturize. however, i would consider repurchasing this if i cannot find something that is comparable in the drugstore.



on 11/23/2014 2:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Received a general sample that lasted over a week. I found it to be a bit too thick for my liking as I generally prefer moisturizers that sink in fast especially since it's very humid where I live. It left a white coating on my skin (like old school sunblock) until I rubbed it in. In terms of moisturizing it was just OK (my skin is normal to dry) and I wasn't too fond of the medicinal smell either. I can imagine this would probably work better for someone with dry and sensitive skin though, especially in the cooler months.


on 8/23/2014 9:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this cream and the entire REN Evercalm line. I first received a nice-sized sample of this, and upon first application, I knew this would be THE cream for me. I have normal/dry/combo skin depending on season, and I am prone to breakouts from sensitivity. This immediately felt soothing and calming. It is rich, yet not too heavy to wear under makeup. I use this day and night, and my skin has stopped breaking out completely. Redness has reduced to the point where I'm comfortable leaving the house with a bare face. I could not be happier with this product! I use it in conjunction with the Evercalm Gel Cleanser or the Evercalm Cream Cleanser. I do not have to use any other skincare at all, and my face looks the best that it has ever looked. My face is smooth, soft, and my clogged pores and uneven texture have all disappeared. I prefer a cream with no sun protection, as it irritates my complexion. I beleive this is the reason this cream does not include sun protection, as it is feared towards sensitive skin that is easily irritated by chemical sunscreens.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is probably a really good product, as I love the whole REN line, but its not suitable for my skin. I have had the same problem with other moisturisers before, that they wont soak into the skin properly and leave an oily film on top of the skin. No matter how much I exfoliate first by the way. My skin is dry, acne prone and sensitive. For people with the same problem, I would reccomend to try a lighter moisturiser, like the one from RENs combination skin line or acne prone line, those will soak into skin like mine much more easily, and actually do some good. This is also the opposite of what my dermatologist told me. She said that my dry skin need a "white" moisuriser and not the gel based ones, but that is not the case. Also, After years and years believing that my skin couldnt be exfoliated because its so sensitive..wrong wrong wrong! There are good exfoliators for sensitive skin, and for the skin to take in any moisture at all, it needs to be properly clean and not have all the dead skin on top of it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2013 2:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was not expecting this cream to be as moisturizing as it was. It goes on smoothly and is not greasy but it manages to hydrate all day, even in the colder winter months. My face did not feel dry or tight, but rather smooth and silky. The two cons about this product are that it has no sun protection for daytime use (which is how I was using it) and that it contributed a bit to my face looking shinier than usual by the end of the day. All in all, this is still a great product, despite the price point.


on 11/7/2013 2:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a rich cream but not too rich for daytime use, especially for Fall/Winter. It wears well under makeup, and I also wear it at night on occasion as a night cream and wake up with decently hydrated skin. It smells faintly herbally but the scent isn't strong and doesn't linger. It doesn't contain SPF, but that's solved by wearing a foundation with SPF.

I'm not sure that I'd repurchase, but I put "yes" because I do like this cream.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/30/2013 9:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is my very first REN product. I was drawn to this brand as it's more natural without all the addictive such as parabens. At the same time, I was looking for a day cream without sunscreen (I have my own sunscreen).

I was using this over the humid summer and dry autumn in Hong Kong. In summertime, it gives the right balance on my face without leaving the greasiness on my t-zone while works well in air-conditioned place. In autumn time, the lotion was just right on my cheeks as I don't feel the tightness due to dry weather.

Also, I managed to apply both liquid and powder foundation over it easily.

The texture is creamy and slightly scented lotion. I use 2 pumps on my face and is easily spread all over.

No breakout, no irritation. It was just right.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2013 2:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I freaking love this cream. Most tend to clog my pores, leave the skin irritated, look greasy, or do nothing at all to plump up fine lines. The lotions I used before left my skin in pretty good shape but my skin's getting older and dry. This gives me better skin than I had at 16. For a longer review, I fully agree with the other positive reviewers.

(If you want sunscreen, go buy a sunscreen. >.<)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/1/2013 9:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I got this over the winter when my skin freaked out and became super dry. It really did the job of hydrating my skin without feeling greasy, and there was no obnoxious scent. The packaging is also nice, too. The pump allows you to use just as much as you need (I used about three for my face and neck), you can really get all of the product out until the very end. I'm using a lighter moisturizer for summer, but I fully plan to buy this again for next winter.


on 4/30/2013 9:24:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

An expensive product that doesn't really do much, this moisturizer is entirely too greasy to use as a day cream for my combo/oily skin. As a night cream it's perfectly fine but nothing special. Doesn't really absorb into my skin, hydrates ok. Scent is a bit herb-y. Just unimpressive. I will say that the texture is nice, has a luxurious feeling to it. But I prefer Kiehl's Ultra Facial Cream to this. Would not repurchase, I just don't feel it's worth the price tag for what it does.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1284 Reviews
Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Back to Top