Tom Ford cognac sable

4.1

11 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/9/2015 8:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

After wanting this for very long, and finally caving and spending that money, I really can´t understand what the hype is about and why there are such good reviews for Tom Ford Eyeshadow Quads. I was sorely disappointed by the hard texture of the shadows – to me, they feel cheap and even with the first few uses, it becomes clear that soon there will be an overlayer of hardened shadow which makes it impossible to pick up color without scraping it off. Honestly, I should have already trusted my instincts when I went to the counter several times to swatch the eyeshadows. Exactly that (the hardened surface) was the problem every single time, which made it difficult to get a feel for texture, blendability and pigmentation. How often does that happen with other high end brands? To me, not so often. But due to the hype, the rave reviews here and on Youtube, I convinced myself that the quads MUST be good, so I bought the Cognac Sable. Of course – the packaging is luxe and beautiful. But for the price of Tom Ford, I expect a brilliant product, not only pretty packaging. These eyeshadows are in no way comparable to Urban Decay, Lorac, Dior, MAC….Concerning the complexity of the colors: Meh….they are pretty, yes, but I don´t think they are unique. The most unusual addition in the Cognac Sable Quad is in my opinion the glittery copper shade. Looks luxe in the quad, but once applied, you wouldn´t think that this is a high end eyeshadow. There is very little color, just lots of big glittery chunks and quite a bit of fallout. The other shades: bronzes and beiges, well blendable, but lacking in pigmentation. All in all: This was a huge disappointment for me.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 1/17/2015 4:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Impressive palette proffering unique pigment combination that's a gift to brunette/redhead types. TF in league of its own, yet again... enjoy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2014 10:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This quad screams fall with its earthtone shades. There is a soft shimmery (but not glittery) beige gold, a shimmery very sparkly like very fine glitter? penny copper, a satin cocoa color with a nice slight shimmer sheen and a satin brown with hints of purple that seem to have very fine silver glitters in it. all colors compliemt each other very well. They can be worn as a soft look or a very strong look. The pigmentation is great and the textures of each shadow feels amazingly soft. I have yet to experience any fall out and yes all seem to have some sort of shimmer to them so go figure! Oh and how could I forget the cute brown suede pouch the beautiful brown and gold mirror like quad comes in. Yes Pricey, but hello... It's Tom Ford.. What would you expect? I will definitely be purchasing more quads from Tom Ford.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2014 10:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Another really gorgeous warm toned quad in my eyeshadow collection. I love the glimmering effect produced in his glitter shades. I also love that his glitter shades have minimal fallout and is really shimmering even applied dry without foiling. Worth the price for me but definitely a luxury product at its finest.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2014 3:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Hi. I did it. I bought it. Hey, and I am very very pleased with it. I don't want to repied all the positive comments but want to add something. But it has the potential to let one create a day time look as well. For ladies with hazel eyes it is a must have. Well I have to say...I love this quad! The only downside is the price.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2014 11:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is really beautiful packed palette. I normally don't like palettes because I never use all the colours, but in this I do! Is perfect for everyday applied sheer just one or two colours or for the full on evening makeup. My skin tone is about a NC15-20. And my eyes are light green and they light up with these on.

1. Shimmering light peach - easy everyday colour applied sheer.
2. Very sparkly orange copper - beautiful dramatic but wearable, looks so good with red lips! Best to use the finger to dot this on.
3. Warm shimmering mid brown - also nice everyday shade, easy to use.
4. Dark brown with silver shimmer - I mostly use this as a liner because I'm so fair. I like the contrasting silver shimmer in this, it's somehow makes it more wearable for me. I normally get very washed out by dark brown shades.

The pigmentation of this palette is good, could differently be higher... But I like it because I sometimes prefer to use them very sheer and then I can always build the colours up if I like. Soft and a bit powdery textures, but they never looks dry on my lids. I like the shimmer in the shades, it doesn't make the skin on the eyelids look uneven like others do. I've never seen such beautiful shades before, easy but not boring.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2013 1:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this is my first purchase from tom ford - i struggled so long because i saw how gurus applied it beautifully but i couldnt justify the price. i then realized that hong kong (where i live) sells it cheaper than in the US which was a surprise because makeup in hk is usually marked up in price. a quad costs $70 usd here. i do not regret the purchase at all. ordinary as the shades may look in the pan, i cant find any dupes in my mac, bobbi brown, too faced and urban decay collections. i find their textures to be very smooth and easily applied - the pigmentation is just right, not too intense like urban decay which may sometimes be too dramatic for every day wear, but not so sheer that i must apply it over a paint pot from mac. this is my fool proof every day go to palette and i get compliments from my bf every time i wear it (he rarely comments on my makeup). i apply the soft golden color over the lid, and put the medium brown in the outer third, blending some into the crease. i then put just a tad bit of the copper shimmer into the crease with a fine brush, and line my eyes with the darkest brown. this is my everyday look for work. not sure how willing i am to invest in other quads due to the price, but cognac sable is definitely worth trying.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2013 8:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just got around to trying his out. The lipsticks to me are so similar to MAC that it's not worth it. The cognac sable quad is nice but I can't see the price worth it. Dior is great, and worth the price. This eyeshadow is nice, but not almost $80 nice. Nothing is worth the price in my opinion when you have chanel! Dior, MAC & Armani.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This has become one of my (several) warm-toned neutral go-to palettes. I will divulge that I watched a few youtube tutorials to get an idea of the best way to place the different shades, since I'm one of those impatient types who wants to get it right the first time with no effort and gets frustrated when it doesn't work out....

Anyway, the lighest shade is perfect for an all-over lid and highlighter. I use the 2nd darkest in the cease, and the darkest in the v and to line. What I heard, and what appears to be true based on my limited attempts, is that the coppery-glittery shade is best applied by tapping it on with the finger...not a brush. I have noticed that using the brush causes this shade to seem coarse with too much glitter, but using the finger it is much more subtle and shimmery. I'll work on it more but as it's the shade I use the least out of the palette I'm not too concerned...the other 3 are really that good. Very densely pigmented and they last all day on my lids.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/30/2013 10:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Cognac sable is one of my favorite warm neutral palettes. Top left is a satin/low shimmer vanilla shade with a slight peachy undertone. What I love about the shade is that it's versatile, it's deep enough to be worn over the entire lid for anyone in the pale to medium skintone range, the shade also works in the inner corner or to blend out any harsh edges. I love having an inner corner shade that for once isn't a shimmer or frost. Top right shade is a copper brown infused with glitter. Not quite micro-glitter, although not chunky at all. Pigmentation is a bit sheer, but not bad at all for a glitter, a primer geared towards glittery eyeshadow is a must to prevent fallout (I use too faced glitter glue). Bottom left is a warm medium brown with very tiny gold and red microglitter, the glitter is very subtle and on the lid appears as a shimmer. Bottom right includes a deep, cool toned muted eggplant with red, blue and silver shimmer particles. Pigmentation is good, although the copper glitter is somewhat sheer. Texture is tightly pressed, yet smooth. I would compare the texture to a slightly softer version of guerlain e/s quads.
Overall, a great quad for anyone who can pull off very warm neutrals. The only downside is the bulky packaging and high pricepoint. I suppose that by weight, TF quads are cheaper compared to other HE brands.

Cost per gram:

Chanel quad $14.50
Dior quint. $9.83
Guerlain quad. $8.19
Tom Ford quad $7.50

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top