Tom Ford • cognac sable • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mellypmakeup on 10/21/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by mellypmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This quad screams fall with its earthtone shades. There is a soft shimmery (but not glittery) beige gold, a shimmery very sparkly like very fine glitter? penny copper, a satin cocoa color with a nice slight shimmer sheen and a satin brown with hints of purple that seem to have very fine silver glitters in it. all colors compliemt each other very well. They can be worn as a soft look or a very strong look. The pigmentation is great and the textures of each shadow feels amazingly soft. I have yet to experience any fall out and yes all seem to have some sort of shimmer to them so go figure! Oh and how could I forget the cute brown suede pouch the beautiful brown and gold mirror like quad comes in. Yes Pricey, but hello... It's Tom Ford.. What would you expect? I will definitely be purchasing more quads from Tom Ford.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chococat05 on 6/23/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by chococat05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Another really gorgeous warm toned quad in my eyeshadow collection. I love the glimmering effect produced in his glitter shades. I also love that his glitter shades have minimal fallout and is really shimmering even applied dry without foiling. Worth the price for me but definitely a luxury product at its finest.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1angel1 on 4/12/2014 3:22:00 AM more reviews by 1angel1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Hi. I did it. I bought it. Hey, and I am very very pleased with it. I don't want to repied all the positive comments but want to add something. But it has the potential to let one create a day time look as well. For ladies with hazel eyes it is a must have. Well I have to say...I love this quad! The only downside is the price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Naturalchic on 3/10/2014 11:20:00 AM more reviews by Naturalchic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is really beautiful packed palette. I normally don't like palettes because I never use all the colours, but in this I do! Is perfect for everyday applied sheer just one or two colours or for the full on evening makeup. My skin tone is about a NC15-20. And my eyes are light green and they light up with these on.

1. Shimmering light peach - easy everyday colour applied sheer.
2. Very sparkly orange copper - beautiful dramatic but wearable, looks so good with red lips! Best to use the finger to dot this on.
3. Warm shimmering mid brown - also nice everyday shade, easy to use.
4. Dark brown with silver shimmer - I mostly use this as a liner because I'm so fair. I like the contrasting silver shimmer in this, it's somehow makes it more wearable for me. I normally get very washed out by dark brown shades.

The pigmentation of this palette is good, could differently be higher... But I like it because I sometimes prefer to use them very sheer and then I can always build the colours up if I like. Soft and a bit powdery textures, but they never looks dry on my lids. I like the shimmer in the shades, it doesn't make the skin on the eyelids look uneven like others do. I've never seen such beautiful shades before, easy but not boring.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jewelmeow on 11/11/2013 1:56:00 AM more reviews by jewelmeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

this is my first purchase from tom ford - i struggled so long because i saw how gurus applied it beautifully but i couldnt justify the price. i then realized that hong kong (where i live) sells it cheaper than in the US which was a surprise because makeup in hk is usually marked up in price. a quad costs $70 usd here. i do not regret the purchase at all. ordinary as the shades may look in the pan, i cant find any dupes in my mac, bobbi brown, too faced and urban decay collections. i find their textures to be very smooth and easily applied - the pigmentation is just right, not too intense like urban decay which may sometimes be too dramatic for every day wear, but not so sheer that i must apply it over a paint pot from mac. this is my fool proof every day go to palette and i get compliments from my bf every time i wear it (he rarely comments on my makeup). i apply the soft golden color over the lid, and put the medium brown in the outer third, blending some into the crease. i then put just a tad bit of the copper shimmer into the crease with a fine brush, and line my eyes with the darkest brown. this is my everyday look for work. not sure how willing i am to invest in other quads due to the price, but cognac sable is definitely worth trying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Missyrocks on 10/4/2013 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Missyrocks

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Just got around to trying his out. The lipsticks to me are so similar to MAC that it's not worth it. The cognac sable quad is nice but I can't see the price worth it. Dior is great, and worth the price. This eyeshadow is nice, but not almost $80 nice. Nothing is worth the price in my opinion when you have chanel! Dior, MAC & Armani.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brassovaries on 8/8/2013 1:41:00 PM more reviews by brassovaries

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has become one of my (several) warm-toned neutral go-to palettes. I will divulge that I watched a few youtube tutorials to get an idea of the best way to place the different shades, since I'm one of those impatient types who wants to get it right the first time with no effort and gets frustrated when it doesn't work out....

Anyway, the lighest shade is perfect for an all-over lid and highlighter. I use the 2nd darkest in the cease, and the darkest in the v and to line. What I heard, and what appears to be true based on my limited attempts, is that the coppery-glittery shade is best applied by tapping it on with the finger...not a brush. I have noticed that using the brush causes this shade to seem coarse with too much glitter, but using the finger it is much more subtle and shimmery. I'll work on it more but as it's the shade I use the least out of the palette I'm not too concerned...the other 3 are really that good. Very densely pigmented and they last all day on my lids.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Caramellane on 3/30/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by Caramellane

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Cognac sable is one of my favorite warm neutral palettes. Top left is a satin/low shimmer vanilla shade with a slight peachy undertone. What I love about the shade is that it's versatile, it's deep enough to be worn over the entire lid for anyone in the pale to medium skintone range, the shade also works in the inner corner or to blend out any harsh edges. I love having an inner corner shade that for once isn't a shimmer or frost. Top right shade is a copper brown infused with glitter. Not quite micro-glitter, although not chunky at all. Pigmentation is a bit sheer, but not bad at all for a glitter, a primer geared towards glittery eyeshadow is a must to prevent fallout (I use too faced glitter glue). Bottom left is a warm medium brown with very tiny gold and red microglitter, the glitter is very subtle and on the lid appears as a shimmer. Bottom right includes a deep, cool toned muted eggplant with red, blue and silver shimmer particles. Pigmentation is good, although the copper glitter is somewhat sheer. Texture is tightly pressed, yet smooth. I would compare the texture to a slightly softer version of guerlain e/s quads.
Overall, a great quad for anyone who can pull off very warm neutrals. The only downside is the bulky packaging and high pricepoint. I suppose that by weight, TF quads are cheaper compared to other HE brands.

Cost per gram:

Chanel quad $14.50
Dior quint. $9.83
Guerlain quad. $8.19
Tom Ford quad $7.50

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3110hello on 1/8/2013 11:57:00 PM more reviews by 3110hello

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This quad of shadows from Tom Ford was introduced to me through several you tube make up gurus who raved about the combo of colors and how they looked on their brown eyes. Not sure I have ever purchased a set of four shadows for over $75.00 but I sure did here - ordering through Neiman Marcus.

In this quad there are two basic satin like brown tone colors, one slightly shimmery eggshell color and then a glittery bronze color. I think the two browns are very pretty and the quality of those shadows is good. However, the lighter color is not very pigmented and the bronze color I have not come to like at all. To be frank, I am not quite sure how to apply it in conjunction with the other colors - its like it was thrown into the quad for some night time "look" that I don't quite get. I don't find this later color that complimentary or pigmented (chunky glitter though) and doubt I would use it for much.

I am sure I will use the browns. But, that said, I expected more from a Tom Ford make up product (miracles, maybe, for the price) and have equivalent MAC shadows for much less money. Can't recommend. Resist the urge.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Tom Ford products

More Eye Shadow products