Maybelline • Lust for Blush Color Whisper • Lipstick

rated 4.3(33 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamstep on 4/18/2014 4:07:00 PM more reviews by glamstep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Dupe for MAC cremecup or UD revolution native but certainly not my HG pinky nude. Because its neither pink nor beige (what I equate nude to be) instead its a soft lavendar shade that would look stunning on fair skin, cool undertones. It wouldn't show on pigmented lips or darker skin at all. Im an NC20-25, warm undertones & this works when my teeth are whitened. Otherwise makes them look yellow :/ Its also quite sheer, I need 2-3 full swipes on each lip to get full color payoff & it has has poor staying power; 4 hr tops with no drinking/eating that is. At this rate I would use up a whole tube rather quick so becuase of that & the color itself its not HG. I do like the way it feels, very balm-y, smooth & the pricepoint so I'll use this one up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Halloqueen on 4/15/2014 9:27:00 PM more reviews by Halloqueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Really nice product. The perfect sheer pink on my fair complexion...sheer, but it still adds just enough color. It's also a little glossy, which helps make my lips look fuller. For a drugstore item, this stuff is pretty good, and at the price point (on sale at Ulta right now) you can afford to get 3 or 4. It doesn't last forever, but I don't mind reapplying, like I do with most lip products. I didn't notice any drying of my lips while using this, but I don't think it added much moisture either. All in all, this is my favorite color of the line. I can see these working for everyone due to the sheerness, which will work with any complexion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nickit123 on 3/24/2014 9:17:00 AM more reviews by nickit123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have wanted this shade for so so long and I was putting off buying it because I was scared that it wouldn't look good with my light skin tone. I am very glad that I bit the bullet because this color is so pretty. Its not too light at all and it is perfect for this coming spring. I love the formula as well. Its marketed as a lip butter, but I feel like its almost more of a sheer lipstick in the way it feels on my lips and in the staying power. I also go the one in pin up peach, which is also a wonderful, spring color. I like these more then the loreal ones also. I feel like those are more of a glossy texure, where the Maybelline ones are more smooth and lipstick like!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zaynaz on 3/23/2014 3:15:00 AM more reviews by zaynaz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

This is a lovely, mauvy pink nude on me. It's semi-opaque and I find it lasts quite well given the light colour (around three hours if I don't eat anything). The packaging epitomises nice drugstore packaging, and I feel the price is very reasonable. This has become a handbag staple, and I'll definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Micropixel on 3/22/2014 6:17:00 PM more reviews by Micropixel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I've recently been shopping through my stash of neglected lipsticks and figured that I would do a review of this one. I forgot how much I love this one, it gives a sheer wash of color that is very pretty and work appropriate. The formula on this one is great, it doesn't dry out lips nor does it emphasize lines and dryness. I would describe the color on this one to be a soft, blue based, pale pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 2/8/2014 1:44:00 PM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

The first time I laid eyes on Lust For Blush I thought, That's looks like MAC Angel. Now I never cared much for Angel, as MAC's frosts just don't lay well on my lips and Angel winds up looking chalky. I think if you already have full lips it's great on you, but unfortunately my genes did not bestow that gift upon me. Thankfully, Angel's "frostiness" never really jumps out, which keeps it from looking 80s. Along with the neutral pink color, I think the is finish why it's so wearable for so many people. It's just that the texture never worked for me.

The Color Whispers just lay down better for me, so this is like my go-to neutral pale pink when I do, say, a smoky eye. It's very, very creamy, so it glides over and fills in my little lines. I also find the Color Whispers to be extremely comfy to wear. The main down side is that none of the three I have last long, and transfer as you would expect a creamy lipstick to. The pigmentation is nice, but with a color as close to my lips as Lust For Blush, you really can't tell there's color left once I drink or eat something. So this is one you really have to reapply.

Nonetheless, I always liked the color of Angel, so I'm glad to find a very close dupe that has a better texture (IMHO). It's cheaper, so that's a big plus, and it's definitely more moisturizing. I just love the formula of the Color Whispers: they're creamy, comfortable, smooth, pigmented, and the colors I have are just gorgeous. So the only reason I can't give this a 5 is the staying power. Still worth whatever I paid for it at Target.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LiisUsa on 11/13/2013 8:57:00 PM more reviews by LiisUsa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Really LOVE Maybelline's Color Whispers! This color was my daily go to color this summer if I wasn't using a gloss. It's a cool-based "blush" or med-fair pink that suits my cool, fair skin coloring. What I like so much is that it's not a distracting, bright or pale crayon-like pink which tend to be the two extremes I've found with pink color. So I stay away from pink lipsticks because they don't look professional but this is stronger than a gloss while, after blotting, is more lightly pigmented than other lipsticks. It finishes a full face of makeup nicely or compliments a swipe of mascara. Also, I LOVE how it feels on my lips.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 therinz09 on 9/2/2013 1:06:00 AM more reviews by therinz09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Grey    

The perfect neutral lip color for pale skin! I love the formula, the color, and how it wears on my lips! I totally recommend picking this up if you have pale skin and are looking for a natural and neutral lip color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LolaMay on 8/20/2013 4:08:00 PM more reviews by LolaMay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I will start this off by saying that I am not a lipstick person. I definitely am a gloss girl :) Anyway, I decided to try this lipstick formula because I heard that it doesn't feel too heavy or drying on the lips. Also, they have some great colors for a good price. Although I still much prefer gloss or liquid lipsticks (like the Bare Escentuals Pretty Amazing lipcolors), this is nice.

PROS
*Good value, decent price
*Cute packaging
*Good color range for line
*Light feelings
*Color is buildable
*Great cool-toned/muted mauve/pink

CONS (some of which may only be applicable for people who prefer gloss)
*Still slightly drying compared to the feeling of gloss
*Slightly sheer, so must build the color
*Color doesn't last that long

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupandcupcakes on 7/25/2013 6:32:00 PM more reviews by makeupandcupcakes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is really nice lipstick. The color is pinkish-nude and really pretty. I recommend his color for a more medium skin tone since it could look dead on fair skin tones. It's not bad with moisturization but not good. Kinda in the middle. I do warn you that if you drink or eat with it on, it might smear and won't last. The lasting power would be around 30 minutes to an hour. The packaging is really sleek and girly. The color payoff is quite sheer too. Overall I'm in the middle though I won't be buying it again. GOOD LUCK!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lipstick products