Wet 'n' Wild Mega last lipstick in cherry picking

4.6

36 reviews

94% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Lovely, fun, happy color.

I dislike neutral lip colors in any form (personal preference!). However, I typically tend to gravitate more towards sterner, purer reds than this. This is decidedly on the pinkish-red spectrum and as such, a little outside of my norm. I picked it up because it was so intriguing and looked the prettiest in the row apart from Stoplight Red, another one from this line that I own and love as well.

Works great as a stand alone color, although I'm much more often likely to use it as a mix-in to make one of my redder lipsticks just a bit more raspberry-toned when the mood strikes. For example, it looks *great* under Stoplight Red the two together produce a very luxe, lovely, blue-toned red that looks more dimensional somehow and I like the effect better than wearing some of my favorite high end lip products that are a similar blue-toned red. I've also had good results mixing it with colors like Bite Beauty's Bramble and Tannin lip pencils.

Can't speak to the longevity of this (or any other lip product, really) as I'm often inclined to mess things up by say, eating a really juicy nectarine or something equally as destructive. Occasional reapplication throughout the day of any lip product is my norm (and an opportunity to layer something on something else, with...results! Usually good!).

Anyway, freakin' cheap. The packaging is wiggly garbage, but overall, greatly exceeds expectations as a $2ish product. Great value; fun to use and mix with other colors. FYI, my lip product choices run all over the map, from high end to low. Good is good.

[EDIT 6.05.2015: Have been recently mixing this in with Stoplight Red. Result: compliments from total strangers, including a clearly schizophrenic lady on BART train who was completely out of it (talking to herself, yelling, etc.), but was somehow lucid enough for 10 seconds to tell me that my lips looked extremely kissable. I said "thank you!", she said "you're welcome!" and then returned to non-stop babbling.]

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 5/26/2015 9:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lipstick is alright, but not bright pink enough 4 me. I gave this 4 stars b/c the fuchsia color is a bit dark for my taste, but i may give this another try soon!!!!


on 5/20/2015 1:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Lypsyl lipbalm is the best lip balm for using beneath these WnW lipsticks, I've found. Just moisturizing and thin enough that it doesn't interfere with the lipstick opacity (although this is so wonderfully opaque as it is that a bit of added translucency is actually welcome), and no flakiness the next day. This barely moves, it is not thick/cakey, and leaves a great berry pink stain. It looks like a rich fuchsia-red/raspberry, and it's so easy to modify these lipsticks with a topper if needed. Can also use these Megalast lipsticks as a base with other lipsticks on top, instead of using lipliner to fill in lips.

My toddler tried to get his hands in my mouth (he does it from naughtiness) and it didn't smudge or bleed at sll. Perfect low maintenance, high impact, truly flattering colour!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/29/2015 11:31:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have fond memories of Wet n Wild cosmetics as they were a staple in my cosmetic bag in my early twenties.
They've definitely upped their game since then and the Mega Last lipstick is an example of that. It goes on smoothly and evenly with a matte finish but it's not drying like other matte lipsticks. (ahem, MAC, cough)
I got Cherry Picking for the summer and I like to apply it lightly for that berry stained look.
For $3.29 CAD, I knew I couldn't go wrong.
Oh yes, the packaging sucks big time.
Hopefully Wet n Wild will upper their game with decent packaging.
I'm looking to get more colours.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought this for me and my daughter and we both love this lipstick it is the perfect pink-red and its just perfection something MAC needs to work on with a lot of their colors and formulas and every other day same ol same ol collections.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was not a color i would pick up for myself but a friend gave it to me. Omg!!!! Such a beautiful color. It works so well with my pale skin. Even tho its what id like to say is a magenta color it worked so well on me. I love this lipstick and will definently repurchase if needed to

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2015 6:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is my second lipstick from this line and just like the first one (mauve outta here) this is amazing! The pigment is bright and bold and the lasting power is all day. My goal is to eventually purchase every shade

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2015 7:02:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a pretty pink/red lipstick, perfect for my cool complexion. It is pretty bright and well pigmented. It is almost too much so in order to make it more wearable and less in your face I blot heavily and wear almost more like a stain than a lipstick. The use of a liner with this lipstick is also helpful for me to keep it from migrating into the little lines around my mouth. (I suspect that this is more of a function of my age than a flaw with the lipstick.). The texture is creamy though a bit on the thick side. I agree with some of the other reviews; the shape of the lipstick itself isn't conducive to a clean controlled application because it is more of a slanted flat shape. A lip brush might be useful in getting a more controlled application. I do find this product to be long wearing with the need for infrequent application, especially if you like the stained look. It did not dry out my lips. This comes in the typical lipstick case so nothing special there. I don't remember the cost but I know that like all WnW products it was pretty cheap. If I ever ran out I would repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2014 1:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Oh my GOODNESS yes!
What a fantastic, beautiful lipstick!
First off, I'm a fan of the Mega Last lipstick line from Wet n Wild, but for some reason, I overlooked this shade multiple times, disregarding it as a typical red-pink and thinking nothing of it. But when Fleurdeforce included it in her Winter Essentials video, my interest piqued, so today, I ran to target and dropped the whopping $3 on a tube. (Sarcasm, kids.) And let me tell you it is phenomenal! Talk about a perfect year-round shade!
I'm usually one to either go for bright, neutral reds, rosy brown nudes, deep burgundies, and neon pinks, so this color is a bit of a departure for me. It really is a pinky red - dark enough to look chic in Winter, but bright and colorful enough to look fresh for Summer as well. And on my complexion, I find it brightens me up like no other lipstick this deep can. And hellooooo white teeth!
The texture of the entire line is more satin than matte, but I do feel they last on the lips for quite some time. Some of the lighter shades may end up looking a bit cakey by the day's end, but the brighter/darker shades stay looking fresh. Minimal touch-ups required.
The application is strange, since the flat, wide bullet isn't ideal for someone like me who has fairly small lips. And the packaging, like the rest of the Mega Last line, is atrocious with its flimsy cap, cheap appearance, and bullet that only retracts part of the way. Small oversights though, considering the quality of the product outdoes even some of the highest-priced lipsticks I own. And at $3 a pop, I really can't complain much.
I will definitely be stocking up on more of this shade. Maybe even buy one more to just keep on hand in my purse at all times. This might be my next "me" shade.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2014 9:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this color! I wear it sometimes by itself (if I am wearing burgundy or some other dark red), but I mostly love it over M.A.C.'s Ruby Woo for a seductive look.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top