Maybelline • Color Whisper • Lipstick

rated 4.1(185 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LilyMakeupEvan on 2/27/2015 4:52:00 PM more reviews by LilyMakeupEvan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have the shade "Pin up Peach" and posted my review there for this product. Overall, too slippery and doesnt last atall on the lips. Far to sheer. Wouldnt recommend buying this, save your money and get the Revlon lip butters (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clairesque on 2/8/2015 3:19:00 PM more reviews by clairesque

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

this definitely is just a "whisper" of color. you have to apply so much for it to show up at all and its staying power is so-so. this stuff is basically a tinted lip balm so i feel like it isn't really worth the price. but it does feel very smooth on the lips and some of the colors are really lovely.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 x3Killjoy on 1/6/2015 10:51:00 AM more reviews by x3Killjoy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

II have Coral Ambition and Some Like it Taupe.

Both are very nice, natural colours, sheer and understated and with a hint of shimmer.

However, these are more tinted lip-balm than lipstick. They wear off in less than an hour!

$6 for a lipstick is okay, but $6 for a tinted lip-balm? The packaging is so cute and functional, but the product itself is just "meh".

I only got these because they were on clearance for $2, I will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 supernaturallove on 1/1/2015 6:38:00 PM more reviews by supernaturallove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love the color! Works super well and moisturized too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 12/24/2014 5:25:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I have about 3/4 of the collection. Petal Rebel & Mocha Muse are my 2 favorites. A lot of the colors show up similar & these to me are much better than Revlons lip butters (YMMV!), but I love the formula, not really too bright or dark or vampy & very conservative/classy. A lot of the shades are MLBB shades, I think Petal Rebel is the most pigmented one I own, it's a fairly bright (for this line up anyways!), it's brighter than MLBB on me. I don't own any of the Red or Purple couple of shades so I can't comment on those but the MLBB ones I own are all long wearing & keep my lips very moisturized. I love Baby Lips, but these are slightly more pigmented than Baby Lips, kind of a hybrid between Baby Lips & actual lipgloss in a lipstick form. Fun shades, affordable (cheap!), & easily found at every DS (accessible!), these would be suitable for a young girl or somebody who wants something conservative but also something you don't really need a mirror to apply much. Just a quick couple of swipes & ur set. I highly recommend these if you like soft colors that are glossy & if you're feeling sad this is a gr8 DS pick-me-up! (I know I get into that funk once in awhile where only makeup will cheer me up ya-kno-wut-I-mean?). Mocha Muse was a bday gift from my Father who has excellent taste in makeup colors. Evthing he picks out is gr8. It is the best MLBB shade in this line. It's got a beige-golden hue & looks good with a neutral lipliner such as wnw 666 or NYX Natural. I guess it has sentimental value but I reach for that one out of all of these the most. I like it with both a totally made up face or alternately a bare faced (no day is ever totally bare faced for me!) kinda look with some face stuff, eyeliner, light pale eyeshadow, & some mascara. (That's as bare faced as ur ever gonna catch me unless I am relaxing in PJs at home!), Maybelline did such a good job with these colors, you will want to collect all of "your" shades (like mine are beige/nude/pinks) coz they are so gr8. If u can't tell I am a huge fan of these lipbalms & would rather wear this kinda products than lipsticks a lot majority of the time. They last through drinking or smoking but will need to reapply after eating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ResistanceIsFutile on 11/7/2014 10:31:00 PM more reviews by ResistanceIsFutile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My shade is mauve something, and it's a MLBB for my pigmented lips. Lasting power is weak, but it feels silky going on and has a cream-gel consistency that I love. Doesn't dry my lips out either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lovelovelilacs on 11/7/2014 7:17:00 PM more reviews by lovelovelilacs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in Who Wore it Red-er, which is a nice medium red. The pigmentation is buildable and the consistency is alright. It is a bit dry, and I wish it was more moisturizing. The packaging is pretty but there isn't much product in the tube since it's so skinny. Once you get to the bottom of the tube it's hard to use the rest of it. The colour doesn't last long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 skylalavigne on 10/20/2014 9:02:00 PM more reviews by skylalavigne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i like these. there are a small range of beautiful colors. the price is a little high for the actual quality, though... these dry out and lose color after about an hour of wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ewon8413 on 10/9/2014 8:54:00 PM more reviews by ewon8413

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Compareable to the Revlon Lip Butters, but personally, these are SO MUCH BETTER.

CONS:
Packaging is nice, but the cap tends to slip off quite frequently.

PROS:
Very moisturizing, but not oil building like the Revlon Lip Butters.
Stronger pigmentation and can be sheered out very flattering or overdone to a bold lip that can be played up nicely.
Slim packaging that looks nice against vanity and is compact (more versatile than the Revlon Lip Butters).
Varied colour range that suits an array of skintones, which I really do enjoy on my porcelain (yellow-based pale skin).
Does not settle into the crack of the lips and really leaves a nice "moist" look on the lips. Makes the lips look as kissable as they can be whenever this is on, so it's a very flattering look.

Good for lip plumping, but the only reason I haven't given this a better grading is simply because products like these don't come into my hand first. I prefer lip stains and clear lip balms. Items like these just never fall into my hand very often anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DeeAcq on 9/23/2014 7:02:00 AM more reviews by DeeAcq

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This lipstick is actually more of a lip balm and it's truly amazing. I have this product in several colours and the moisturising effect is great! The colours aren't exactly bold but they do have give a nice colour to the lip. The only con I would have about this product is that it doesn't last on your lips very long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lipstick products