Maybelline • Color Tattoo Metal By Eyestudio Eyeshadow Gold Rush • Eye Shadow

rated 3.0(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 3/9/2014 7:36:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love the other Color Tattoo's I have (Bad to the Bronze, Audacious Asphault, the matte pink neutral one fromt the 2013 holiday collection), but this one in texture & color was an epic fail for me. Don't judge this line by this shade please.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sloanepeterson on 3/8/2014 12:02:00 AM more reviews by sloanepeterson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had to post about this since I had such a disappointing experience today with one of the Metal Color Tattoos called Gold Rush. I had an absolutely terrible time with it. I used a really good cream eyeshadow brush to try to apply it, and it was splotchy and skippy all over the place.

It wasn't smooth, there were holes in the layer of shadow on my lid. I tried to apply it twice with the brush and finally had to give up. Then, I tried using my finger. That didn't work either. It just didn't flow. I ended up having to return it.

When i tried taking it off it left a glittery stain all over my eyelids and the sides of my eyes. It certainly lives up to its namesake "tattoo": the stuff doesn't want to come off.

I think I'm being quite generous by giving this two lippies. The color was alright but the consistency was terrible.

This has really put me off of trying other Color Tattoo colors, even the nude collection.
I see that the regular line of Color Tattoos have gotten pretty good reviews. But maybe the metals are a little bit off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 saffronia on 9/23/2013 11:30:00 PM more reviews by saffronia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Loved the color and initial look, but the glitter fall-out was insane (unlike the other colors I have: Bad to the Bronze, Bold Gold, Inked in Pink, and Audacious Asphalt--those wear just fine in regard to fall-out).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LC2rd on 6/10/2013 11:44:00 PM more reviews by LC2rd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok so I'm a huge fan of using gold eyeshadow on my inner eye and as an eyeliner, eyebrow highlight, cat eye flick, etc. I use gold shadow for Everything. My HG has been, oddly enough, Victoria Secret in 24 Carat silk powder shadow. That stuff is killer! However it recently broke and crumbled in the pan after Constant everyday use and i really wanted to try a creamy texture next, though I will be re-purchasing my HG for my collection. I was at Walmart and figured I'd give this one a shot. I wasn't' too nervous of the yellow tones as that is how my 24 looks.

This stuff is Awesome! The creamy texture really blends in easily. I stick a finger in it and swirl it a bit and then lightly tap it onto my inner eye. It's a beautiful shade and the glitter is really eye opening for it. My eyes honestly glow when I put either gold shadow on it. The best part about this one though? It stays on ALL day long. I work 11-9 and when I get home to take my makeup off and my eyes are always the exact same as when I applied it. In fact this stuff hardly comes off when I wash my face. It's the last thing that will come off at night, indeed I sometimes wake up with this stuff in the corners of my eyes in the morning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Umph on 4/14/2013 12:31:00 PM more reviews by Umph

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Other, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

At first I didn't like this product. I had to learn to apply a little at a time. This color rocks! It enhances other shades if you use as a base and totally rocks on its own. The color is bold but can be subtle; build a little at a time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Heechul on 3/24/2013 2:49:00 AM more reviews by Heechul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

A true yellow gold cream that is heavy on the pigment, and has orange flecks of glitter throughout. This is the excessive sister of Chanel's Vision Illusion D'ombre which is a golden glittersheen. Both very lovely to have in my collection, and quite different from eachother.

I like to use this as an extremely sheer base for when I do gold looks with eyeliner, or bronzed, warm, orange, looks. I did receive this for free from a friend, however I am not sure if I would purchase it on my own. The staying power is pretty decent.

Something to note, this cream shadow seems to get harder faster than any of my other MAC paintpots OR Maybelline Color Tattoos. Not sure what it is.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 1/28/2013 6:45:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Gorgeous bright gold with glittery golden flecks that I was super excited to add to my collection. It's very pigmented and has a creamy texture, but like another reviewer mention the glitter fallout is pretty insane. I've used an eyeshadow primer and tried setting this cream shadow with powdered eyeshadow, but it doesn't stop the constant all day long glitter dispersion. This is a toss and definitely not a recommend or repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cjenn on 1/17/2013 3:49:00 PM more reviews by cjenn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was very skeptical when I first saw this on the new arrivals display at my local drugstore. I thought it might be too yellowy and passed it up the first time i saw it. However, on second glance, I snatched this up along with a few others and am pleasantly surprised at how shimmery and cool this looks on. It is subtle if you apply just a thin layer and more intense as you build the color, making it look like two different eye shadows. Shimmers beautifully and is not too yellowy at all. This has become one of my staple beauty products, love it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LilWoodSprite on 1/7/2013 6:40:00 PM more reviews by LilWoodSprite

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this color but the glitter fallout is ridiculous

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mirageangelhope on 1/1/2013 9:28:00 PM more reviews by mirageangelhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the shades from there new Metallic collection..This is a lovely gold color.This can be kind of hard to apply.This is the reason that it's getting a slightly a slight lower review than the other color tattoos I have .I find that having the brush which is meant for color tattoos really helps.I find that for an entirely even application you need a primer I use the golden shade from elf and the cream shadow natural glow again from elf.This gives us a base to get the color tattoo to stick.This was truly beautiful makes a great party look but I don't think that this works for an everyday look because of the amount of glitter in this formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products