Tarte • Pure Maracuja Oil • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(101 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 qlassik on 11/27/2014 5:40:00 AM more reviews by qlassik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Got the deluxe sized bottle out of the Tarte Bon Voyage set, and completely dismissed it because, I mean, have you seen the palette??? Was playing with it for aaaages!

I only picked it up a couple of days later, and GOOD GOD I'M SO GLAD I DID. Honestly, I've not heard a single thing about this maracuja oil thingum. Didn't help that it came in an undescriptive bottle with a really odd dropper. The packaging of the set wasn't too helpful as well. So I had to take to the interwebz to find out more about the product. I basically found out that maracuja = passion fruit, which is hella packed with Vitamin C. And that people LOVE it.

My knowledge of oils isn't exactly vast, and I kinda just assumed that you'd use maracuja the same way as moroccan argan - on EVERYTHING. But before I put myself under a maracuja oil shower (that'd be PRICEY!!!), I decided to start small. As instructed, I patted 2 - 3 drops of the oil on my face before I went to bed. It had a nutty scent, and, surprisingly, had no trace of anything citrusy/fruity. And then I went to sleep.

I woke up the next day to MIRACLES!!!!!!!!

My skin was more evenly toned. I noticed the redness around my nose had subsided tremendously. And my dark circles were a little lighter.

My face looked really hydrated.
You've heard this over and over again: Don't be afraid of oils if you have oily skin. For the maracuja oil, it rings clear and true! I woke up with skin less oily than I'm used to, and it felt nice and plump. I looked well-rested.

This is one thing that I'm permanently incorporating into my night time regime. Would definitely be purchasing this again once I run out, although it doesn't look like that'll be happening anytime soon. A little goes a long way with this, and even when I do get to my last drop, I don't think there's going to be much between me and putting down moolah for a full-sized bottle of this magic.



2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* antolin1 on 11/23/2014 6:35:00 PM more reviews by antolin1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Confession 1: I already have and use so many face oils that I likely would have never bothered to purchase this at its hefty $46 price-point on my own. Confession 2: While shopping with my man for an extra moisturizing addition to his regime for winter, I convinced him to try this because I secretly wanted to see if it was worth he hype... And it is...but there's a VERY important caveat in that (see con's below)...

Pros:
As a major advocate for so many much more affordable facial oils, It kind of pains me to say this stuff is amazeballs. After just one nightime/overnight use my skin is as soft AND smooth as baby butt - no joke. After the second usage I got the same results but noticed that it "up'd the amp" on quite a few products in my arsenal in which on their own were just kind of "meh". Example: Now if I use my Clinique Redness Solutions Cleanser the morning after it has gone beyond simply a cream cleanser for dry skin and now performs more like a cleanser, serum, and light moisturizer. NOW I get the full effects/results toted by Clinique for this product where before I did not. Although Tarte's Maracuja Oil is not advertized as an exfoliator, some kind of miracle cell turnover is happening here. In less than a week my skin is brighter, smoother, softer, and extremely hydrated. For my dry and patchy skin, Maracuja Oil works much better than Argan or Rosehip (as well as my beloved Vitamin C serums). For my guy who has unbelievably dry skin year round as well as mild eczema, this is now his favorite "moisturizer" and he's also impressed by how it doesn't irritate his sensitive skin [For reference he uses Emo oil and Clinique for Men Maximum Hydrator $32 and the Maracuja oil beats those].

Cons:
After purchasing this miracle in a bottle I went home and did a little research on the ole wizard box. According to google, there are PLENTY of brands that sell "pure Maracuja oil" at a fraction of this price. Tarte's Maracuja oil cost us a whapping $46 bucks for 1.7 Oz. bottle; Tarte's version contains two ingredients: Passiflora Edulis Seed Oil (Maracuja) and Tocopherol (Vitamin E). .. LifeFlo's Pure Maracuja oil contains the exact same two ingredients as Tarte's BUT is $12 for 4 oz bottle (=$3 per oz). Humn... To be fair Tarte's may contain more Maracuja than LifeFlo's, HOWEVER, LF's version is 95.5% M.O and only 0.5% VE - I am no scientist but I don't see where the POSSIBLE difference in a 5 percent ration could be so extreme it justifies any 30 buck an oz price jump (give or take). So I definitely feel taken advantage of by Tarte - the con's of Tarte's product are literally just that IMO, as I feel con'd.

Maracuja oil is indeed a miracle worker for dry skin! Would I re-purchase? Absolutely! But not From Tarte. Next time I am gonna go the LifeFlo route at a fraction of the cost. Don't be like me and get suckered into pretty packaging (I am a sucker for shiny things), breaking the bank for absolutely no real reason. Do yourself a solid and go for a different more affordable brand with the very same ingredients.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arsh86 on 11/22/2014 3:06:00 PM more reviews by arsh86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Just to add to my reviews the little rollerball thing has lasted me since April. I don't use it everyday but most of the days and I have a plenty of it left

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shelly128p on 11/20/2014 11:39:00 AM more reviews by Shelly128p

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

before using this my skin was dehydrated.
when i wash my face it gets tight/dry but when i put moisturizer on it's normal.
throughout the day it produces oil and breaks down my foundation.
this product is a great treatment. it's awesome. i'm not too worried about antiaging but it's a plus that it has great benefits.
i use this at night.
packaging is good. it's difficult to package oil. the glass bottle worries me bc i'm clumsy lol and the dropper is kind of odd but this is the best way to package oil.
it's pricey but a little goes a long way and it doesn't have any extra fillers which is great.

dont let the work oil scare you!!!
this is a different kind of oil than what your face produces.

it really locks in the moisture and sinks deep.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yesdnilw on 11/20/2014 8:14:00 AM more reviews by yesdnilw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Well the oil worked as far as re-moisturizing my hands and making them nice and soft against the cold and dry wind but I will pass on buying especially since this is refined and the price. That is a ridiculous amount of money for this product. I'll be looking for an unrefined maracuja oil when I run out of this stuff. Thanks ipsy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evanlami on 11/17/2014 5:23:00 PM more reviews by evanlami

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This product is fantastic! It leaves my skin super soft and radiant. I use it at night in combination with a light moisturizer and it works wonderfully. Contrary to popular belief, oils like this are actually very good for your skin and can even help better control the oil your skin produces. For a long time I made the mistake of trying to strip the oils from my face, in an attempt to both keep my skin less oily *and* control my acne. Big mistake! Our skin is smart and will notice the lack of oil and then try and overcompensate for that lack of oil by...you guessed it! Producing more oil. I am a big fan of using oils to both cleanse the skin and moisturize it. This product helps me do just that. You need very little oil to do this, so the bottle will last you a long time. Pair this with a light night moisturizer and you'll wake up with soft, radiant skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 giggles292 on 11/14/2014 5:00:00 PM more reviews by giggles292

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Not a big fan of putting oil on my face as a moisturizer because it just doesn't feel right to me. Instead I mix 40% oil with 60% rose water and use it as a makeup remover, which I prefer over using makeup removers found in the store. So for the purpose of making a makeup remover with this oil it works out great, does not cause any breakouts or irritations but the price is just to steep for me and I would not repurchase unless it was priced half off. Instead I prefer to use jojoba oil over Tarte's maracuja due to the pricing difference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 susubee on 10/16/2014 10:34:00 PM more reviews by susubee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Maracuja Oil...the UNREFINED version that is. The packaging of Tarte's Maracuja oil is absolutely divine but it is way OVERPRICED and unfortunately REFINED. Pure UNREFINED Maracuja Oil has a very distinct scent. It's not a very pleasant scent but it dissipates quickly. The unrefined version is loaded with antioxidants and I found an Unrefined Maracuja Oil for more than HALF the price at www.oleinbeauty.com. I purchased 1 oz. for $20 and I apply it to my clean face in the evening before bed. This oil has worked wonders for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 phylalexan on 10/12/2014 11:16:00 AM more reviews by phylalexan

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product! I have tried a few other oils and I always go back to this one. I use it as a night time moisturizer after I apply serum and let it dry - then I add a couple drops of this and work it into my skin (almost massaging it - see Lisa Eldrige video on face massaging!) and in the morning -- I almost look forward to feeling how soft my skin feels. It works better than any moisturizer I have tried.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sjcgammon on 10/4/2014 7:40:00 PM more reviews by sjcgammon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got a deluxe sample from Sephora. I clean my face and put three drops (absorbs quickly for me) on that covers my entire face followed by CVS timeless renewal night cream. I wake up with my face nice and clean and feeling nice.

When it ran out I purchased the largest bottle from sephora and I transfer product as needed into the small bottle.

When I took a break from the oil I started having breakouts and dry patches.Within days two days of restarting my skin started clearing up. It has a smell that requires some adjustment but it does not last long.

While the price is high the longevity of the product makes it worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Treatments (Face) products