Rimmel • ScandalEyes Show Off • Mascara

rated 2.3(62 reviews)

Average Rating.2.3
Would buy this product again.22%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 estel on 8/21/2014 6:12:00 PM more reviews by estel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Thick, gluggy formula that flakes all over the bench when you open the tube (but luckily not on your face). Terrible brush, it's too fat, so you can't get down to the base of your lashes or the tiny lashes near the tear ducts. And don't get me started on the bottle: the black ink printed on the tube comes off on everything, including your hands, so you always have to wrap the tube in tissue to avoid getting black hands. Awful product, will not buy again. Will also never buy any other Rimmel product due to their poor animal testing record (which I wasn't aware of when I foolishly purchased this).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peaches1027 on 8/4/2014 4:56:00 PM more reviews by Peaches1027

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I've heard good things about Rimmel mascara in general, and I was intrigued by the brush. This product is so dry, my lashes looked bare, even after three coats. I do not recommend this. If you like the brush, IT Cosmetics mascara has one exactly like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AnnaDavies on 7/1/2014 8:20:00 AM more reviews by AnnaDavies

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara was good for achieving a long length and making your eyelashes more noticeable, however, I did find that this mascara was very dry and easily ran out. It also clumped at times. The brush was a little small for my liking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Pipschick on 5/30/2014 2:34:00 PM more reviews by Pipschick

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Too dry for my liking. Also, I bought the black but it's more of a dark grey. Only bought it because I had a coupon. Very disappointing. Will go back to my Maybelline Stiletto, I prefer wetter formulas.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SonnyTonkis on 5/30/2014 12:39:00 PM more reviews by SonnyTonkis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this mascara because the brush looked interesting, but it sucks.. It smudges and i just didnt liked it.. Plus it dries too quickly & I really like Rimmel Mascaras

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sll74 on 4/25/2014 12:07:00 AM more reviews by sll74

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Brush design was sort of interesting but product was dry. Maybe I got a bad one but I ended up tossing it after about 3 tries. Just too dry. I'm sticking with the brands I know.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maliyahmt on 4/17/2014 4:42:00 PM more reviews by maliyahmt

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an OK mascara. It's nothing spectacular, and I wasn't expecting that based on the review. I just bought this because I wanted to try out the brush.

I didn't see any new length, a little volume, and my lashes were somewhat dark. Since this is a fiberwig mascara, it's pretty easy to wash off which I do like.. However I haven't experience flaking which is good.

The brush takes a little getting used to but it's fairly easy to use.

I would not repurchase this mascara, it's an average one. At the most I would save and clean the wand, but that's all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 YumieLee on 4/14/2014 3:01:00 AM more reviews by YumieLee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was absolutely horrible. The formula is extremely thin and when I put it on my lashes, it barely held on. Barely any product was put in my lashes and it was extremely disappointing. I bought it for 6 dollars from wal mart....complete waste of
money. Even when I'm trying to build the formula on my lashes as much as I can, it still won't build or hold on. I do like the idea of the brush-however, the formula of this mascara is horrible. Will never purchase this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lindseywik on 3/1/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by lindseywik

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely hate this mascara. I normally read reviews before I buy things and I should have done it for this one but I was at the store and needed mascara and bought it because of the cheap price. I believe it was around 4 dollars. SOOOOO not worth it. It barely stays on and rubs off onto my topper lid and lower lid and the brush is alright but I had some clumping issues. It doesn't make my eyelashes look fuller either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SineadJamii on 2/15/2014 10:13:00 AM more reviews by SineadJamii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this mascara!

MY STORY:
For the last few years, I have been trying to find my HG of mascaras. I tend to stick to my comfort zone, which for the most part are Maybelline mascaras. So every time a new Maybelline mascara comes out I get it. However, the new formulas are not working for me. They are really hard to get off and they do not look as amazing as they could be. Instead of looking 'wow', they are 'meh'. So that is why I decided to go outside of my comfort zone and into the unfamiliar Rimmel territory. I am SO glad that I did. I found this mascara by googling the best (drug store) mascara. I found a site that had a woman who had tried 100 different mascaras from all brands and price points and showed the picture for each one. So I went through until I found the look that I was after. (http://www.cosmopolitan.co.uk/beauty-hair/beauty-tips/100-mascaras-tested-on-one-eye-results) I don't like to spend too much money on any one make up item, especially if I don't know how it will work. That it why I went with this Rimmel mascara. It may not have been the best in those 100 mascaras, but it was one of my favourites and in a brand that is easily accessible and reasonably priced.

THE MASCARA:
Even though it is fairly inexpensive, it works wonders. It is a slightly dry formula, which I like since you don't have to wait for it dry; it doesn't clump or transfer to my skin. I hate having to wait to move my eyes when using a wet mascara, so that I don't end up with black dots on my eyelids where my lashes touch my skin. So I am glad that I don't have to do that with this mascara; it dries really really quickly. It also doesn't flake, run or budge throughout the day. I also have found that when I touch my lashes while wearing this mascara, they feel soft and fluttery, almost like the feeling of really good quality, soft false lashes.
It is also very lightweight - both the formula and the brush. With the formula, it is so lightweight that even when you pack it on, it doesn't feel heavy or noticeable. I have found that a few times since I have tried this mascara that I'll forget that I am wearing mascara and go to rub my eye or something.
It is also soooo easy to remove. It is the easiest mascara that I have ever removed. EVER! I can literally pass the make up removing wipe over my lashes, gently between my finger and thumb once and it is all off, in that spot. It is almost shocking how it can come off so easily yet not budge at all beforehand. I live in Australia, and it is summer at the moment. In the last few days while I have been testing it, it has survived hot and humid days perfectly. I haven't tested to see if it is waterproof in any way, but it is most definitely sweat-proof.

THE BRUSH:
The brush for this mascara is the real reason I'm so in love. It is amazing! It separates my lashes and I swear that there is no way at all it could get clumpy; I don't think the brush could allow it. The ball thing at the end of the brush also gets every lash, even the ones you cant see or know you had. My lashes are fair and you cant really see them all that well without anything on them. With most other mascaras, my lashes get longer but not really thicker. However, this mascara easily gives me volume and length and separation all in less than two coats - without clumps. It also makes it look like I have heaps of extra lashes, all without looking like I have a lot of mascara on. The ball at the end of the brush also really helps with the bottom lashes. Normally, brushes drag from the bottom of my bottom lashes onto my skin; this one doesn't. The brush is fairly big and chunky looking but it's really light and easy to use. After using it for a day, it's so easy to use and control.

Summary:
I have only had it for nearly a week and am still excited every time I use it. I love how it makes my lashes look and feel. With one coat you get an amazing look; your lashes are bigger, thicker, longer and separated. With two, your lashes have the false lash effect - the wow factor. I have found that I don't need any more than two coats but since this doesn't clump I'm sure more than two will be awesome. I will definitely be repurchasing it and once I test it in a few more conditions to see how it holds out (even though I'm really confident about it considering it lasted perfectly in the last few days of an Australian summer) I think this will be my HG mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Mascara products