Yves Saint Laurent • ROUGE PUR COUTURE • Lipstick

rated 4.3(53 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bebe_girl on 9/28/2014 8:52:00 AM more reviews by bebe_girl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

ysl rouge pur couture is long lasting matte lipstick that doesn't dry out the skin. color payoff is great, scent is nice and as always the collection comes in a great range of colors. ysl lipsticks never disappoint, i love them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beautyqueen888 on 4/27/2014 5:07:00 PM more reviews by beautyqueen888

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I can not believe the reviews. This lipstick is so drying it makes my lips crack. I should not fall for the pretty packaging and stick to lipsticks that have natural ingredients. The ingredient list shows chemical after chemical with no oils.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Missconsistency on 2/3/2014 8:00:00 PM more reviews by Missconsistency

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Yves Saint Laurent lipstick is the Rolls Royce of lipsticks. Of course there are many others that has made their marks on the Lipstick Market. My personal top 5 lipstick consists of couple of different Yves Saint Laurent formula, Illamasqua, Mac, and Too Faced. Yves Saint Laurent Pur Couture lipstick in Rose Libertin is a radiant cool purple pink. I think it is a very unique shade. As usual the Yves Saint Laurent lipsticks do smell slight rosey and the formula is heavenly hydrating with rice bran oil as opposed to some chalky heavy matte lipsticks out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ammit1984 on 1/14/2014 6:00:00 AM more reviews by ammit1984

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this in Shade 6 after seeing it on the cover of Top Sante magazine, the colour is called Rose Bergamasque. it was a bit of a pain to get hold of actually but the lady on the YSL counter was SUPER lovely, it was a great experience for buying my first YSL product and it's made me want to buy more.

This lipstick is a kind of nude coral pink colour, it's lovely for people who are pale like myself, very brightening for the summer but I love to wear it at every available opportunity, it is one of my absolute favourite lipsticks in terms of colour and formula.
The formula is like applying silk to your lips, there is a lot of slip whilst applying but once on it feels like a kind of silky matte, it's not drying at all and still moves around on your lips. The staying power isn't super fantastic but you'll find this of most lipsticks that I own because I don't tend to go for things that wear for hours and hours - I'd rather it came off totally than some stay on, I don't find that look attractive.

The packaging for this lipstick is gold coloured, heavy, and square. It might not be to everyones taste. It niggles me sometimes because the YSL logo is half up top and half on the bottom - it's possible to put the cap on so that they don't match up and half the logo is round one side, half is on the other.

This lipstick has made me want to buy more YSL lipsticks, it's just smooth as butter, smells like roses and is absolutely GORGEOUS. I find the colour unique in my stash and it's perfect for casual application at any time. I also own a chanel lipstick and dare I say it, this is better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nesssssss on 9/9/2013 5:41:00 AM more reviews by Nesssssss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Purchased this lipstick in Rose Libertin. The colour is a gorgeous, slightly purplish pink. It is bold enough to make a statement, but soft enough not to take away from the eyes (If you get what I mean).

The formula is really moisturising - even without using lip balm underneath this applies well to my lips. Feels very soft. The finish is pearly (definitely not matte) which I love. It does settle in to the lines of my lips a little though.

Packaging is really pretty; a gold, reflective tube. However, after 4 days I have already scratched it, and there are grubby fingerprints all over it haha. Not too worried about that though.

The deal-breaker for me is it's lasting power. It begins to wear after an hour, and although it wears gradually and reasonably evenly, I would have expected it to last longer given the fact that it cost me $50 (in Australia). Because of this, I won't be repurchasing, as I can get a decent lipstick with a similar wearing time from Revlon Superlustrous, at half the price!

so to sum up:

PROS
- moisturising
- pearl finish
- rose libertin is a gorgeous colour
- classy packaging
- wears fairly evenly down to a subtle pink stain

CONS
- average lasting power
- settles into lines (but not as much as other, cheaper lipsticks)
- verrrry expensive

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missmoffat on 8/26/2013 8:08:00 PM more reviews by missmoffat

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Prune Avenue #54 is one of the new fall (2013) colors. Dark burgundy. CDN 39. Believe this is a replacement for discontinued Black Tulip #149. I have only worn it one time so can't comment on how long wearing it is but I did find the texture smooth. Used Elizabeth lipliner in raisin to define. Looks good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fleurissante on 8/18/2013 5:28:00 AM more reviews by fleurissante

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

YSL’s Rouge Pur Couture contains 3,8 grams and retails for 30 euros in Europe. It comes in a golden case with YSL logo on. The case is unfortunately a magnet for fingerprints.

Rose Dahlia is a shade I tend to gravitate a lot – it is a hot creamy pink with a hint of coral. This shade is very pigmented, although on my lips it looks much brighter in the tube than on the lips. It contains no shimmer, but it leaves the lips looking shiny and creamy.

It moisturizes lips and it stays of for at least three hours.

As for the repurchase, I'd love if there was an option Maybe

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LibertyRose on 5/20/2013 12:15:00 PM more reviews by LibertyRose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Not sure what is so special about this formula because I find it to be completely mundane. Therefore, outrageously expensive. Doesn't apply evenly and calls attention to the flakes when your lips are dry. After using Suqqu, no other lipstick feels as moisturizing and effortless, but Suqqu is in the top echelon by itself. It is probably more fair to compare YSL to, say, Burberry or Armani, and yet personal experience says YSL loses to both. I have #23 Corail Poetique, which swatches a beautiful (poetic!) shade of orange/coral, but the warmth has all but disappeared in real life, and I am left with a rather cold-toned fuchsia.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susiej on 5/9/2013 1:48:00 PM more reviews by susiej

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was an impulse buy for me- I have #6 Rose Bergamasque which caught my eye when I was repurchasing another YSL product.

This lipstick, in this shade, is gorgeous. Swiped on the hand it has quite a thin, almost gel like consistency. On the lips though I find it behaves quite uniquely- it goes on and then after a few minutes the initial shiny look dries off and it sets for a soft velvety finish. Sort of like how a stain performs only this doesn't stain in so much as the pigment doesn't penetrate the skin- you can wipe this off when you want to. I find it very comfortable, light and hydrating to wear. And it lasts longer than average on me- 4-5 hours, fading evenly with no nasty gathering at the edges.

The colour Rose Bergamasque is a pinky beige medium/pale nude. I really struggle with nudes. I have pigmented lips and it's just very hard to find a nude that doesn't fight my natural lip colour or doesn't have a horrible obviously heavy look on top of it. And there is also the problem of what nudes do to your overall complexion when you have strong reddish colouring in the lip area. Well this lipstick is the answer for me- it gives me a true, natural pale pinky beige nude without washing me out. I don't know how it does it, because I have tried so many different lipsticks of a similar colour and they don't work anywhere near as well as this.

There are only two drawbacks to this lipstick- like a lot of nude lipsticks it isn't the most forgiving on poorly conditioned lips. You have to make sure they are soft, hydrated and even before applying otherwise it will cling to dry skin you didn't even know you had.
And secondly it doesn't 'agree' with mixing with other lip products. If you try and put this over lips with a little vaseline or a glossy balm on them, it looks tragic. It needs to go on bare. I think this is something to do with the formula that likes to dry to set. Perhaps there are balms that work with this but I haven't found one.

I'd love to try more shades in the line to see if the formula is similar across the line but it would be a pricey experiment!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 foppery on 11/7/2012 12:10:00 PM more reviews by foppery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I own this lipstick in #8, Belle de Rose, which is a gorgeous dark fuchsia/berry color. I tend to wear it as a stain to tone down its vampiness, but it looks beautiful either way; I'd especially recommend it for cool-toned people like me. It lasts a few hours on my lips and fades evenly. My only complaint is that it's somewhat drying, and I have to wear it over lip balm. However, I have very dry lips in general, so take this with a grain of salt. The smell is strong--I'd describe it as "wine and roses"--but I find it pleasant, and I'm usually sensitive to lipstick smells.

I've also tried on #1, Le Rouge, which is the most vivid blue-based red I've ever encountered. It's also more moisturizing than Belle de Rose. I can't bring myself to buy a lipstick that makes me look like I'm wearing those red wax lips, but if you want your mouth to look fluorescent, try Le Rouge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Lipstick products