Physicians Formula • Organic Wear Fake Out Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.2(44 reviews)

Average Rating.2.2
Would buy this product again.25%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 ironicsymphonic on 4/5/2014 1:51:00 PM more reviews by ironicsymphonic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

No, no, no. Fake out? False lash look? I think I got April fooled. It's not a HORRIBLE product, but it worked like a defining mascara. This gave me no volume at all. There's not much else to say...it just didn't deliver what it promised. My lashes aren't super long or lush or anything, but they're not bad either and most mascaras do a better job on me. I returned this to the store after one use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Bryony on 3/23/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Bryony

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to try a less toxic mascara and this was widely available, plus the packaging was cute. The wand is great and it did darken and lengthen my lashes somewhat and had nice staying power. I just prefer more volume and impact from my mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 juliebro77 on 3/9/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by juliebro77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

The brush is way too big, the wand is hard to handle, the mascara made my lashes clump together, the color is not as pigmented as I'd like... Disappointed for that price. But, it's probably gentler on my lashes and Physician formula does not test on animals so I'll try an other mascara from that brand when I run out of this one or get sick of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bbarfield12 on 3/8/2014 8:13:00 AM more reviews by bbarfield12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This did not work for me at all. It never really dried on my lashes. My biggest complaint is that it would transfer horribly on my under eye area. Made me look terrible. This got tossed in the trash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 makeupjunkie11786 on 2/28/2014 11:51:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkie11786

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

meh..Idk what to say about this mascara..it kind of disappointed me.. I liked their organic wear super jumbo lash way better than this formula...it made my lashes extend thicken and defined them much nicer than this one..funny thing is it dried out really fast for me and believe me i know the rules of mascara preservation but this tube just dried out quick which in turn left my applications drier and with dry crusty clumps under my eyes at the end of the day..also when being washed off at the end of the day it kinda burned..If i ever want to go back to a good organic mascara i think I'll just go back to super jumbo lash or my bare escentuals flawless definition mascara. I'm a fan of physician's formula cosmetics...just not a fan of this particular product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Milona316 on 2/12/2014 4:24:00 AM more reviews by Milona316

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

the worst. never dried and felt gumny on lashes. just clumped everything together in a sticky glob. very dry goopy formula felt old even though it was fresh. threw it out. wanted to luv it..bummer. cute packaging though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dkt888 on 2/11/2014 1:55:00 AM more reviews by dkt888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I buy a lot of PF products, but this one is just terrible. The brush is good, but there's hardly any mascara on it. I have to put 100 coats on just to notice a difference. The tube is too bulky and awkward. I use this as a de-clumpifier if my other mascara clumps a bit. The one pro is that it is smudge-free and easy to take off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kascade on 2/9/2014 1:22:00 AM more reviews by kascade

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was so bummed that this stuff sucked lol. You can pretty much stop reading after that statement! But if you need the gorey details and perhaps a laugh or two, then read on. Basically I went on a health kick after going on the EWG site and was horrified at some of the chemicals being put on our faces everyday, I wanted a clean sweep! So I figure mascara is kind of a good place to start considering it goes on my eyes and all. I see that this mascara was rated as having like no bad stuff in it (just because something says organic on the label doesn't mean they are telling the truth, read the label and research first!) Anyway, this stuff made my eyes BURRRRRRN like I mean was commuting to work and barely made it home alive burning, like almost had to pull over burning! I think Physicians Formula gets a little over zealous with the herbs and stuff in it! (and there are many products I like from them so no diss intended) But anyway, I also hated the brush, the product was thick and clumpy. I actually even tried exchanging this pink one for the green one and still sucked lol. Kudos for the for trying to make a healthy mascara, but need a better formula and brush. The packaging design so incredibly nice though! But yeah, not gonna lie it's expensive and kinda awful lol if a make up can kill you :l I wanna say though that my mom had contacted this company regarding something that happened (can't remember) and they SERIOUSLY took care of it, super nice and caring company.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nmills81 on 2/9/2014 1:14:00 AM more reviews by nmills81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Made my eyes burn and water...smeared so easy...loved the brush but it just didn't work for me :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ILikeCakeAndIceCream on 1/4/2014 6:14:00 PM more reviews by ILikeCakeAndIceCream

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I have tried a lot of Physician's Formula Organic Wear products including their other mascaras. I like that this product is free of chemicals and a decent price for an organic drug store mascara. These two qualities have caused me to continually return to this makeup line. Overall I'm not super impressed by the mascara but it does the job for everyday wear that doesn't irritate the skin around the eyes. Keep in mind that if you are comparing this mascara with other mascaras in this line there isn't much difference in the mascara its self, there are differences in the brushes. So research the type of brush that you should use for your desired effect (this is true for any mascara, the bang is in your brush).

Pros: I like the packaging but its a little difficult to get used to the shape of the wand handle while applying the product. It has pretty good lasting power and isn't flaky. My lashes generally separate while applying the product which I like a lot.

Cons: The mascara is a bit gunky and the opening of the tube does not taper to scrape off excess product so like most mascaras you need to either wipe it off with a tissue or wiggle the brush as its pulled out. The formula tends to dry quickly while applying and I go through a tube quicker than I would another mascara. There is a big difference in this mascara after my first few weeks of using the product (works very well, glides on easily) than after it's had moderate use. That may be a downfall of organic mascara in general. The brush is huge so application takes a steady hand and an adjustment period so that you don't spread the mascara on the skin around the eyes, especially on lower lashes. If you love or need and organic product I suggest placing an index or business card beneath the lower lash line and/or behind the upper lash line to act as a shield while applying.

I like this product over some of Organic Wear's other mascaras. It gives a little more length but I find that their products are more voluminous rather than lengthening due to the brush size. I hope to find a mascara with more than one wand to use soon, or I may purchase a variety of wands to use with this mascara. This product is free of harmful chemicals but it does contain citrus as one of the main ingredients. If you tend to rub your eyes while crying I do not suggest this product because it will sting. The only time I've had an issue with stinging while removing is when I forgot to take my eye makeup off with coconut oil (which I highly suggest) before washing my face.

I've bought this product several times but I will be trying a non-organic drug store brand to see which one helps the dryness I've been experiencing with my eyes over the last year as well as lengthen a little better than this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Physicians Formula products

More Mascara products