Deborah Lippmann • Mermaid's Dream • Polishes

rated 4.5(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mecepeda on 6/6/2013 1:13:00 PM more reviews by mecepeda

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Truth be told, green and blue polishes are among my least favorites...and I never thought that I would become a fan of glitter polish, either. However, Mermaid's Dream has changed my mind on all of these points. It's simply gorgeous; the multi-toned glitter, texture, and beautiful seafoam shade of this polish render it beyond unique. It applies easily and wears well with a quick-drying top coat (which also smooths the texture out a bit). It's a lovely warm weather shade, and I would recommend it along with the other newer "Mermaid" polishes that Lippmann has recently released. They do require a bit more effort to remove (Zoya's remover works well), but they are worth the minor hassle, as their look is so lovely.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kolwink on 1/15/2013 8:34:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

NOTE:

I also posted this (same) review under the brand "Deborah Lippmann".


I got Deborah Lippman's "Across the Universe" as a gift and promptly exchanged it for "Mermaid's Dream." (I hadn't liked the look of the glitter components- too big/bold for my taste). The small boutique didn't have very many DL choices, so I went with Mermaid's Dream- about the most non-traditional polish I own. (Um, Mermaid's Dream is the 5th bottle in my "collection", so now you know where I'm coming from.)


I applied 2 coats (no base coat or top coat- don't have either) and a few days of dish-washing have scrubbed almost everything off. The remaining patches on my thumbs still catch my attention, with the mix of gold, green, and light blue shimmer, and lovely cerulean blue medium-sized glitter. Each component color is very pretty, and the overall effect does remind me of iridescent fish scales seen in sunlight slanting through clear aqua water.


I'd seen swatches posted online, where the close-up photographs made the polish look unattractively chunky and gritty. I was pleased that 2 coats (applied with a light hand) didn't look so, well, horridly bumpy.


This polish is a bit too runny for my taste. Since I am a novice at doing my nails, I prefer thicker, gooey-er polish where it feels like I have more control over the amount of product that ends up on the brush. With thinner polish, I frantically race against the polish dripping down the brush, and the layer of color always ends up either thicker or thinner than I want it.


While I wouldn't buy this polish again, that's because:

(1) $18 is too much for my liking

(2) I've never really developed a nail-polish habit, going for months (maybe years) without wearing any ... this is a recent phase, and a beauty item that I just don't care that much about


Still, this color is quite pretty. I had previously bought (and returned) Essie's Turquoise and Caicos, since I couldn't figure out how to replicate my in-store test swatch, which left me with a lovely layer of sheer blue/green. Somehow, in my limited nail polish experience- Mermaid's Dream strikes similar visual chords- a flash of bright, sunny, green/blue ... as if I see a sunbeam underwater.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kolwink on 1/15/2013 5:28:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got Deborah Lippman's "Across the Universe" as a gift and promptly exchanged it for "Mermaid's Dream." (I hadn't liked the look of the glitter components- too big/bold for my taste). The small boutique didn't have very many DL choices, so I went with Mermaid's Dream- about the most non-traditional polish I own. (Um, Mermaid's Dream is the 5th bottle in my "collection", so now you know where I'm coming from.)


I applied 2 coats (no base coat or top coat- don't have either) and a few days of dish-washing have scrubbed almost everything off. The remaining patches on my thumbs still catch my attention, with the mix of gold, green, and light blue shimmer, and lovely cerulean blue medium-sized glitter. Each component color is very pretty, and the overall effect does remind me of iridescent fish scales seen in sunlight slanting through clear aqua water.


I'd seen swatches posted online, where the close-up photographs made the polish look unattractively chunky and gritty. I was pleased that 2 coats (applied with a light hand) didn't look so, well, horridly bumpy.


This polish is a bit too runny for my taste. Since I am a novice at doing my nails, I prefer thicker, gooey-er polish where it feels like I have more control over the amount of product that ends up on the brush. With thinner polish, I frantically race against the polish dripping down the brush, and the layer of color always ends up either thicker or thinner than I want it.


While I wouldn't buy this polish again, that's because:

(1) $18 is too much for my liking

(2) I've never really developed a nail-polish habit, going for months (maybe years) without wearing any ... this is a recent phase, and a beauty item that I just don't care that much about


Still, this color is quite pretty. I had previously bought (and returned) Essie's Turquoise and Caicos, since I couldn't figure out how to replicate my in-store test swatch, which left me with a lovely layer of sheer blue/green. Somehow, in my limited nail polish experience- Mermaid's Dream strikes similar visual chords- a flash of bright, sunny, green/blue ... as if I see a sunbeam underwater.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greymattergirl on 12/16/2012 12:12:00 PM more reviews by greymattergirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was never a nail polish person. I found doing my nail so tedious, and boring. I never liked any colors on my pale skin, they just seemed to out of place. I preffered to keep my nails short, clean and natural, sometimes adding a clear coat if I was feeling fancy, lol. Well all that has changed. Now I LOVE nail polish, love giving myself a manicure, and love trying new bold colors, and thats all because of Deborah Lippmann. I will NEVER buy any other brand of polish. These polishes are a HG for me all the way! I mean these are by the far the best polishes in the world as far as Im concerned! The colors are well thought out and to die for! Mermaids Dream I never would have considered wearing at age 36..well forget that! Its beautiful! After trying the color 'something Vegas' I think..its a putty grey color, I fell in love and bought like 10 different colors. I have been impressed with every single product Ive gotten, including the Stripper remover. Her cuticle remover is magic, and the cuticle oil..OMG..smells like a tropical getaway, and is DIVINE. I will purchase these polishes and only these for the rest of my life! I have a color, I think its called 'I know what boys like' or something to that effect, its a periwinkle blue...I never would have dared to wear such a color, and now its one of my favorites! These polishes dry quickily and perfect! If you ever had trouble with streaks, ridges, chipping, flaking..try Deborah Lippmann, its impposible to go wrong! I use these polishes and it looks like Ive just come from the salon. I absoloutely can not say enough about how much I love these polishes as well as all of Lippmanns products! These are perfect in every way, from color choice, to wear, to finish, dry time..the colors are creative, original, and just sublime. Top of the line all the way, pricey, but sooo worth it if you love polish. If I had to pick one word to represent the line, the polishes, the colors, the quality..not to mention the excellent customer service..it would be, PERFECTION.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roor84 on 12/13/2012 3:18:00 PM more reviews by roor84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I never thought i would wear ( blue/green/Turq) nail polish but after i tried "for Audry" i was in LOVE. and i love pairing this with it. I do have more than one nail polish from Lipmann and i gotta say this one gets ALOT of use. its even so pretty to look at!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Karidinka on 12/12/2012 8:57:00 PM more reviews by Karidinka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got this today at Ulta. Typical impulse buy, I wasn't even thinking about getting nail polish. I'm glad I did! This is a beautiful color, and damn you if you think a 40y old shouldn't be wearing turquoise/blue/gold glitter on her nails! ;) I rarely wear other colors than nudes, pinks, and reds on my nails, but this polish is so pretty I just couldn't resist.

It takes 2-3 coats to get full cover. It dries matte and rough, so a topcoat is a must. The price is steep, but heck, you only live once.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shelsbells on 10/1/2012 11:09:00 AM more reviews by shelsbells

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love love love this color!! When I wear this I get lots of compliments. my only complaint is that even with a great base coat it starts to chip pretty quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Metraria on 9/8/2012 8:52:00 PM more reviews by Metraria

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My reviews here are usually very long, since I tend to write them when I'm bored. But this one will be brief. Look at the bottle. Look at the swatches. Now realize that It's even more amazing than you're hoping it is. 'Nuff said.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gracie114 on 6/14/2012 8:44:00 PM more reviews by gracie114

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

One of my favorite polishes of all time. This is so stunning! I honestly couldn't stop looking at my nails when I wore this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stilagrrrl on 4/30/2012 12:12:00 PM more reviews by stilagrrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As soon as I saw this I had to have it since I love anything mermaid-related, plus it's a gorgeous color - shimmery aqua green with gold microglitter and larger chunks of blue glitter. The reason I gave this a four out of 5 is the noticeably gritty texture. I have polishes with much bigger, more densely-packed glitter particles and they're not nearly as bumpy as Mermaid's Dream. Still, it's REALLY pretty and I can't wait to wear it all summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Deborah Lippmann products

More Polishes products