Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner in Damsel

4.0

15 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/9/2015 7:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Damsel is supposed to be a black brown or very dark brown. However when I put it on, it started to appear blue black! I hate this look on me cuz paired with my genetic dark circles...I look like a crack whore. I have almost black hair (3n)...but I need a clean clear not smudging black black liner. The only 2 blacks I have not had issue with are Stila liquid & PF e/l. So when this brown black shade came off blue black....I went back & exchanged it for Lionfish.

Also while these are easy to use they smudge into my brow bone (deep set eyes) so a lot is setting power is required.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/25/2015 10:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This pencil came in my "In the Light" palette, and I finished it before any of the eye shadows. It's such a deep chocolate, oh so dark and it lasts better than a lot of liners I've used. It was so hard to get off, I had to invest in a new eye make-up remover.

But I would not re- buy this. I don't know how to explain this well, but you know how some roll up pencils will roll up fast and others slow? Well this rolled up too fast no matter how gentle I was with it, and I ended up losing product.


on 2/21/2015 7:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This is a great eyeliner. It is smooth, creamy, and pigmented. Best of all it stays on all day without smudging or fading. Also, if you put this on the waterline it stays put without bleeding or get gloopy. It is very smudgeable for about 30 seconds after you put it on, so you can really smoke it out. After that 30 seconds is up, though, it sets and you are good for the day. I do have one major problem with this, but it is with the packaging and I would never deduct points from the formula for that. The problem is that when you twist it up, you can't twist it back down so you have to be careful with how you dispense this. But all in all, this is lovely and I recommend it to everyone.


on 9/22/2014 5:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Really didn't like this, it came in my in the light palette, wouldn't twist up and broke when I tried to open it and manually twist it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/7/2014 2:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I got this eyeliner in the In The Light palette and I instantly fell in love with it's staying power.

It's a very dark brown color, almost black on me. It goes on smoothly and stays on. I'm not sure why it's called a smudge stick though...it doesn't smudge on me and that's really why I like it-it doesn't move! At the end of the day it still looks like I just applied it.

I haven't run out of it yet, but I am concerned about how long one pencil will last. Typically the twist eyeliners don't have as much product as a kohl pencil you use a sharpener on. Because of this, I gave the packaging and price only two lippies. It's unfortunately a lot to pay for something that may not last long.


on 7/12/2014 6:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great colour, great formula, terrible packaging.

I love this product generally but the packaging means that I probably won't purchase it again. The lid didn't "click" back on properly and as a consequence the cap on the pencil split. This has happened on two of these that I have owned now. As soon as this happens the product dries out really quickly. Removing the tip doesn't seem to help (and makes it a waste of money for a product that isn't cheap to start with). I've had to throw out two of these that I had barely used!!

If Stila improves the packaging then I would gladly purchase the product again.....until then I'd just be throwing money away. :((

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2014 7:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

LOVE this color. HG pencil for me !
My eyebrows are almost black, my lashes are black and my eyes are dark brown, that's why i try to stay away from black pencils cause I don't want my look to be too harsh.
Most browns are too light from me and look very weird cause of my dark brows.

This color is a perfect very dark brown and stays all day. The price is absolutely fine.

One thing though... after you twist this pencil up, you can't twist it down anymore. so be careful to not twist it all the way up out of curiousity to see how large it is, cause there's no way you're going to be able to twist this back down.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/7/2014 2:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Finally, a liner that stays in my waterline! After trying copious amounts of liners, from drugstore to high end (Marc Jacobs, I'm talking to you) to no avail. My eyes are on the watery side due to contacts and this liner doesn't smudge at all, thus I remain un-panda-like until I take it off.

It's creamy and slides easily on the waterline and tight line. My go-to color is the dark brown pencil named Damsel. Perfect deep brown for those of us who think black is too harsh.

Hurrah!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2014 6:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my second Stila Smudge Stick eyeliner and while I love the colors and performance of both (I also had Moray, a beautiful olive green) I will most likely not purchase this product again. Damsel is a dark brown which is perfect against my brown/olive green eyes and not as harsh as a black liner. Its creamy texture applies smoothly and I usually go over it with an angled brush to thin out the line. Once it sets, it doesn't transfer to my lids or bottom lashes and lasts all day. It comes off easily with cleansing oil/eye makeup remover.

So here's why I won't repurchase: the packaging drives me nuts! It comes in a plastic stick that twists up, just like a lot of lip liners. However unlike others in similar packaging, once you twist up you can't twist it back into the stick. So if you twist it too far out, you're stuck with a bunch of product that you can't use (if will break off). And of course because you can't twist it up too far, you can't tell how much product remains in the package. Finally, I've had the stick get stuck and not twist at all when the product was fairly new so I knew the stick wasn't empty.

While I know this used to be available in a set, I purchased it as an individual product at Ulta for $20, although it took a few visits for me to find it in stock.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great formulation of eyeliner! Great packaging and eyeliner really stays on, even with my super watery eyes!


Back to Top