MD Skincare by Dr. Dennis Gross • Ferulic Acid+Plus Retinol Brightening Solution • Treatments

rated 4.4(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 philana on 3/8/2014 11:48:00 PM more reviews by philana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this every morning and night for the past couple weeks and I love it. It only takes a couple drops to smooth over my entire face, so even though it cost 85$ a bottle, I know it will last a very long time. my skin already looks brighter, firmer, and younger. Also I have noticed some acne marks have faded already and my skin tone is more even overall. I am still looking for a similar product that costs less. I mean, its 85$!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 3/1/2014 3:40:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This product is really helping with my red acne scars. I've only used it a short amount of time and I already see a big difference in the condition of my skin. Will repurchase for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rockmysock97 on 1/13/2014 1:49:00 PM more reviews by rockmysock97

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Usually I hate writing reviews because I am so lazy. This product though has changed my skin for the better. LIke way better!!!!!!!! I had very dark acne spots on my forehead that would never go away no matter what product I used, but this product has changed my skin that I am so happy. Most of my scaring has gone done and my milia basically disappeared on my forehead and it looks clear. My acne has gone done a lot too. I hate how 1 fluid once is 85 dollars. It sucks but it is so worth it I would recommend this if you have the money. I also have scarring on my cheeks and this has helped with it also.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* librariandiva on 12/25/2013 1:50:00 PM more reviews by librariandiva

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Really amazing product! I was introduced to this by a Sephora rep, and I was hesitant to spend the $85 at first, but I trust their recommendations and I am known to return stuff quickly if I don't like it.
I love the feel of this serum, its very light and watery, not heavy like some serums. Didn't feel like there was a film on my face after using it. I saw results after only a week and now that I'm on my fourth week, I am sooo hooked on this! I can see a difference in my redness (which is all over my cheeks) and some slight fading if my freckles. It really makes my skin look super-smooth and it doesn't have any sting or burning sensation that I've felt with other retinol-based products. I also see an improvement in my overall skin tone, much more even and not blotchy.
This vial will probably last me for another 2 or 3 months and then I am definitely buying another! Will probably go on Ebay to get a cheaper price.
This comes with cotton round pads to apply product, but I just apply the dropper directly onto my skin and blend all over my face, even under my eye area. This is one that I would say is worth the full price, if you have no choice but to get it that way. My skin is on the oily side, with occasional breakouts, but this serum does not irritate my skin in anyway. If anything I would say that it has improved my excessive oiliness! I don't use moisturizer over this since I don't feel my skin needs it. It does have a strong medicinal smell, but once I put it on I don't notice it. I highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good serum with retinol that does not irritate or feel heavy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 meilike on 11/27/2013 1:05:00 AM more reviews by meilike

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been pleasantly surprised with the results from this product. Although I haven't noticed too much of a difference with my hyperpigmentation, my family definitely has. One day on the weekend (when I wasn't wearing makeup) I was with my dad whom I hadn't seen in two weeks, and he asked I I was wearing makeup. I said no... And he said wow your skin looks so much better! Anyways to get on with it this definitely isn't a miracle product as I still have quite visible acne scarring, but it helps loads with keeping my skin under control, and I haven't had any breakouts since using it, and if you are diligent with it you will definitely see good results! On a final note- it is expensive but I just use it on my cheeks that are the problem areas and have been using it for a month and I have used less than a quarter of the bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* minicapybara on 11/8/2013 1:55:00 PM more reviews by minicapybara

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for about 4 months now, so I figured a fair assessment can be written. First of all, I have very oily, sensitive, rosacea (flushing and telangiectasia prone) skin that has undergone 3 Gemini laser treatment in the past 3 years. In February I also had one session of Excel-V which I felt worked slightly different than Gemini, but enough of the preamble.

This serum has the consistency of water, perhaps with just a hint of viscosity. It has a faint medicinal smell to me, which isn't offensive and doesn't linger. I don't use the pads that come with the serum; instead I just put 4 drops of this serum in my palm and apply it with my finger. Works fine that way.

Now I don't really have fine lines other than a few under my eyes from the inner corners. For those lines unfortunately the serum hasn't done much to eliminate them, but no big deal there. Got a bit of freckles still though the previous laser treatments inadvertently lightened them as a happy side effect - maybe the serum keeps them from becoming darker again, maybe not. I wear Shiseido's SPF38 sunscreen daily so who gets more credit? Your call.

What's astonishing, though, is how much the serum improved my skin tone - we're talking overall lightening of a shade or two. I wasn't the only one noticing that about one month into my usage. Due to my rosacea, I'm not certain how it works: does it "bleach" the skin a bit? Or merely takes my overall redness down and therefore the skin tone I see now is supposed to be my natural tone anyway? I honestly can't say. I just know that nothing I've ever used gave me that much noticeable effect in such a short time.

So for me, no real changes to tiny fine lines and faint spots, but the serum definitely delivers when it comes to brightening. Anything else to justify the serious outlay of cash? Well, I happen to think it smooths the surface of my skin and helps keeping the pores clear (remember my skin is basically an oil slick), too. I definitely can feel the smoothness when I touch my face.

In a nutshell, a product that has improved the OVERALL look and feel of my skin. I'm not one with a need to eliminate every flaw and blemish from my face so this general improvement is something I'd rather have. A brighter, less red face with smoother texture. I'll take that.

(Note: this product is indeed very expensive, with Sephora showing a price of about $100 CAD. I got it from a known skin/beauty site online when there was a 30% off sale and that made it more palatable at about $80 including taxes. If there's a way to get a sample that'll last you at least a month, do that first).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ting2 on 9/5/2013 10:57:00 PM more reviews by ting2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very good serum. I have been using this daily for 6 months and my skin has become clearer, smoother brighter and more even toned. It has a light, watery consistency that sinks into my skin well and dries pretty quick. I am more than half way through my second bottle and will definitely buy again (it's pricey but I think it's worth it).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tijanarm on 8/13/2013 9:04:00 AM more reviews by tijanarm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Wow! In short, very impressed and this a definite re-buy for me!!!!

I am a skincare junkie. I have tried everything from the drugstore to La Mer and I must admit this is one of the best products I have tried. My skin has been acting up lately (both dry and some hormonal chin outbreaks, but in general I have normal/combo skin).

Facts:
- this serum helped clear my skin in less than a week
- this serum plumps and hydrates my skin - there are nights when I was able to skip the moisturizer on top of this altogether (but if you do use moisturizer, allow 15 minutes for any serum - this one included - to absorb)
- this serum has brightened my skin
- this serum can be used every single night even by sensitive skins - I am sensitive to retinol and normally can only use it a couple of nights per week, but I have no issues using this one every night.

With retinols, slow and steady wins the race. If you can find the serum that you can stick with (i.e. does not irritate the hell out of your skin) use it! Don't assume that you need to use the strongest available concentration to make it work. Persistence and regular use are the key. I think this serum fits the bill for the good nightly retinol/ferulic care.

Two downsides: on the expensive side (albeit not as expensive as Skinceuticals) and I would prefer pump bottle to the dropper.

Highly recommended!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 harmony888 on 8/9/2013 6:01:00 AM more reviews by harmony888

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Been using it for a week. I had a thyroid imbalance so I started getting tons of cystic acne from the hormonal changes from medication. This product has slowly blended deep red scars into shallow lighter ones. It does make skin plumper and firmer instantly. It feels like egg whites and smells like rotten eggs or a dead something though, lol. I use Visionaire by Lancôme so this is cheaper. My normal face routine is super simple..I use an oxygen cleanser, Eucerin daily facial moisturizer, Lancôme Visionaire and Collin eye serum..that's it..I tried this on my neck for a week before I put it on my face just to be safe. So far the smell really bites and I hate it so badly cause I fall asleep smelling my own face yuck.I I'm waiting to see drastic changes maybe in another few weeks. one thing though..my face looks really nice with makeup on..I feel like my skin looks smoother, whiter and former with makeup on, if that makes sense..it does feel like a great makeup primer if you ask me...it fills in or tightens pores..sorta like egg whites haha. More updates to come! I can't say this is better than Visionaire as far as how it makes my skin look, I know Visionaire makes me look good without makeup also!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 8/2/2013 5:32:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this product, based on the overwhelmingly positive reviews on MUA and the Sephora website. I put off reviewing this product for several months because I kept thinking - I've got to be missing something here! While I do wake up with glowy, smoother skin, this has done nothing for the dark spot on my cheek. In addition, I also wake up to painful under-the-skin pimples on my jawline the next morning! I would wait until these clear, then try the serum again, and like clockwork, I'd wake up with disgusting postules on both sides of my face. Fortunately they're easy to cover up with concealer, but I know they're there because I can feel them :(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MD Skincare by Dr. Dennis Gross products

More Treatments products