Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman • Contour brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.8(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MikaVick94 on 9/22/2014 11:50:00 PM more reviews by MikaVick94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

let me say I do not use this for contouring, I'm not to into that BUT I do use this for setting my under eye concealer and highlighting and it works BEAUTIFULLY!! its just the perfect size for adding highlight to the top of my cheek bones and down my nose, and gets under my eyes for setting powder like a dream. it picks up just the right amount of product and is not scratchy!! this has not shed so far and I am very please with price, color etc...check out this brush don't be afraid to use a brush for another purpose than what it says! do what works for you:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GeniaDeanne on 8/26/2014 10:24:00 PM more reviews by GeniaDeanne

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Best brushes!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 darthodis on 5/31/2014 3:40:00 AM more reviews by darthodis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This brush is the only reason why I bought the Core Collection set, and it was totally worth it! This is personally for me the best brush I've used yet for contouring. It's really precise and the bristles are nice and dense, but it's soft against the skin as well. It's the perfect size for contouring on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 liorak on 5/20/2014 5:48:00 PM more reviews by liorak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wishing this brush was smaller. For contouring you want a small precise line. Like a sigma F05 small contour. Or ever something smaller like an E40 tapered blending brush (both brushes from sigma). That gives you true precision. For blending out you definitely need something a bit bigger, and this is why I do like this brush, it does blend well. Also this is great for cream contour, but powder not so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tatcuya114 on 3/23/2014 4:21:00 PM more reviews by tatcuya114

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, I love all of the Real Techniques brushes I've purchased so far. I like their handles and the synthetic bristles. They perform so well for the price and are so easy to clean. I spot clean my brushes everyday by rubbing it against a cotton pad soaked with 91% rubbing alcohol. Because it's synthetic hair, I don't need to worry too much about the potential damage the alcohol could do to the hair. I found that this was the easiest and most effective method of getting all of the powder/color off the brush and disinfect it. The alcohol evaporates super fast. After that, your brush is all brand new and ready to use!

This brush, like many other Real Techniques brushes, is very versatile. I use it as a blush brush, a highlighter brush, and a precise setting brush. It works really well for all of these purposes. And, recently, I've discovered that you can use it as a foundation brush to work with the type of liquidy, light to medium coverage foundations.

Let me elaborate more. I have dry patches on my face because of the anti-acne and retinol products I use. Recently, I have developed a love for very light to medium coverage liquidy foundations that are imperceptible on the face, mostly because that's the kind of formula that doesn't accentuate the dry flakes on my face. I have two HG foundation brushes: the Real Techniques expert face brush, and the Shiseido foundation brush. I like both of them, because they disperse foundation thinly and evenly on my face. But recently I've found that because these brushes are on the denser side, they stir up the dry flakes on my face when my face is dry.

That's where the versatility of this contour brush comes in. Because this brush was designed to work with powder, it's looser and softer than those foundation brushes. When you use it to disperse liquid foundation on your skin, it's so gentle that it won't stir up the dry flakes. Personally I've only tried it with light to medium, very liquidy formulas (such as the Koh Gen Do aqua foundation), and found that it worked really well. But I think for heavier and higher coverage formulas, this brush may not work as well.

I got the brush from iherb.com. They ship fast and have great prices for the Real Techniques brush range. For the amount you pay, the quality of the brush will exceed your expectations. And, dry skin ladies, if you are looking for a gentle brush that applies your foundation nicely, it doesn't hurt to give this a try!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vmalenfant on 3/19/2014 6:55:00 PM more reviews by vmalenfant

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love the contour brush from real techniques, just wish we could purchase it alone. I just do not used the other brushes in the kit. the contour brush is just perfect size (big egg shape) soft and full enough to give a lot of control.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* graceybaby8 on 3/9/2014 1:44:00 PM more reviews by graceybaby8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go to contour brush! It's small enough to fit under my cheekbones but it picks up the product so well. It blends my contour product like no other brush(I use too faced chocolate soleil bronzer or NYX taupe blush to contour) I love how the bristles are stiff so I can have maximum control where my product goes. If this brush was sold individually I would buy 2 more hehe. It's easy to clean and dries extremely quick. It came in a set that cost about $20 Canadian at london drugs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/15/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like some of the RT brushes, and this is one of them. I know it's a contour brush, but I don't use it very often for that. I mostly use it to apply powder highlighter, or set my under eye concealer with MUFE HD powder. It's a really good brush! I haven't had any hairs shed, and it's really soft. After you wash it, it dries really fast. It has an aluminum ferrule that you can dent if you're not careful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Heechul on 10/13/2013 1:58:00 AM more reviews by Heechul

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This brush is the perfect egg shape and stiffness for so many things. I reach for this brush (along with the buffing brush) so often, and almost wish I had 50 of these to use.

The uses I have found it perfect for are:
- Contouring right under the cheekbones (as it states)
- Blush application
- Highlighter application
- Powder or liquid foundation application
- Buffing or blending out face makeup

The bristles are good in quality as well. I've only found one or two odd hairs to stick out strangely, but other than that, with deep cleansing often, it's stood up to the rest of time with the rest of my brushes and fantastic price as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aspiecutie on 8/13/2013 5:22:00 AM more reviews by aspiecutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Real Techniques brushes have rightfully earned their name, and the Core Collection is a good place to start. The Contour Brush is one of those brushes you're not sure what to do with, at first. I certainly have gone back and picked it up for a different purpose each time. This is definitively one to have around!

I can see it working for any of the following uses:

CONTOUR: Being slightly smaller and more tapered than MAC 109, it can be more precise while still being able to blend colors out for a natural finish. It fits easily into the hollows of the cheeks and feels incredibly soft.

HIGHLIGHT: If you don't really like to use a fan brush, this is ideal for applying highlight. It is fluffy enough to pick product, and it's small enough to be precise. Anyone who uses Fan Brushes regularly will tell you that the synthetic ones are no good most of the time, they pick up less and they don't blend out. This just as good, if not better than a natural hair fan brush.

BLUSH: Be it that you have a smaller face or you like to be more precise, this is a great one. It's just like a mini blush-brush. Picks up well, deposits nicely, and because the base is slightly stiff, it is good at blending.
Works amazingly also for cream blush. The tapered shape allows precision in picking, dotting, and blending. Because it is synthetic and doesn't absorb, it is superior to all its natural hair counterparts.

*NOTE. The black matte part of the handles does eventually start to 'wrinkle', depending on how often you wash. Yes, it does happen even if you wash appropriately. If your fingers get wet during the process and you like to wash regularly, you will experience this.
At that point I prefer to scrape it all off, uncovering the shiny plastic part. It's disappointing as it looks and feels much nicer when it is matte, but I can live with that as the brush remains fully functional.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman products

More Makeup Brushes products