NARS • Velvet Gloss Lip Pencil Mexican Rose • Lip Gloss

rated 3.5(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 mamma30 on 8/17/2014 5:28:00 AM more reviews by mamma30

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this so much ! I had previously only tried new lover from a sephora 100 point perk and although I liked it I wasn't bothered when the sample size came to an end and I didn't notice it being particularly long lasting . Mexican rose is a totally different story ! It is a hot pink and on me it stays true to colour although it does darken a little more fuschia after applying . I really love the colour and have never had so many compliments as when I wear this . The best thing is it is unbelievably long lasting , I put this on and went on a 9.5 hr flight , I ate and drank and had a 2hour sleep and the colour was still there ! It leaves a stain that I had to remove with a cleansing wipe literally 13 hours after applying ! . I am seriously amazed because at the end of the day it's a gloss so I wasn't expecting it to last so long and it's a gorgeous hot colour !Love love love !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FusiaFever on 8/7/2014 4:10:00 PM more reviews by FusiaFever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this pencil as a gift from a friend. Makes sense, since it is so pricey at $24. I don't understand why they don't make this pencil twist-up or lipstick in a bullet. You literally lose half of the product and your time sharpening. Mind you, you have to buy a sharpener altogether.

The color Mexican Rose is absolutely ravishing! I have a really fair complexion, and this color makes heads turn when you walk into a room. The glossy nature makes my lips look plump and juicy. However, the color bleeds and moves very easily. I have not tried applying it with a lip liner. But for $24 a pencil that requires sharpening, you expect not to have to have multiple steps in application.

Lastly, the color does not come off easily. It stains the lips and everything you touch thereafter. I woke up with stain marks on my pillowcase. To top it, I spent time sharpening the pencil to have the soft tip snap several times.

Overall, I would not recommend this product. Gorgeous color, yes. Moisturizing, yes. Smears all over your face and spend time sharpening $24 into the trash, definitely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ltgee on 10/23/2013 5:03:00 PM more reviews by ltgee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i am so surprised at the low ratings for this lip gloss pencil! this is by far, one of the best colors in the range. i am NC42 and this looks AWESOME/HOT/SEXY against my skin tone. on my pigmented lips it starts out rose and then brightens to a fuchsia, amazing. its a bit bright for day time use but gorgeous once the sun starts to set. you can definitely apply it lighter for day though and just use it as a stain. this lip pencil is amazing, it makes your lips look JUIIIIICCCCYYYYYY ohkay? turning heads type of juicy! after eating it did leave that dreaded ring around my lips look but thats ok, just re-apply, aint no big thang. came off easily with a makeup remover wipe. will look into the other colors, worth the money imo. great pigmentation, very emollient/non drying. i am not into glosses, i totally prefer pencils that can be glossy, like this! so much easier to draw than to try and paint a straight line with those doe foot applicators. don't even get me started on those new "bite" cashmere lip stains, lawd have mercy, now THAT got all over my face!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Quilley on 5/29/2013 7:11:00 PM more reviews by Quilley

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This was a gift from a friend, which is great because it costs $24.00 US. Wow. That's a LOT of money for a lip gloss pencil. That said it's packed with color, which changes from a soft rose to a more vibrant looking fuschia with a few minutes. Not sure how this works with technology/ingredients/formula but it's kind of fun to watch.

Will I but it again? No. The shade is not that spectacular. Would I buy another shade because of the high quality formula? Yes, there is something special about the texture and the moisture level in this product. It makes the lips soft, somewhere between moist and waxy, but in a good way.

From the NARS website, I agree with these claims.

Gorgeously glossy color in a jumbo lip pencil. Spectacular shine in an innovative, lightweight formula and enriched with Vitamin E plus a blend of moisture-rich hyaluronic spheres that make lips appear fuller.

Ultra smooth, buttery feel on the lips
Contains vitamin E, hyaluronic spheres and phytosterol esthers; ingredients known to moisturize, increase hydration and improve barrier function. Convenient, easy application

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jebaca on 3/21/2013 12:43:00 PM more reviews by jebaca

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I actually expected much better reviews for this. I honestly don't wear this often because it is the brightest pink lip color I own, but it is so beautiful. I don't have any problems with migration or uneven fading as others have described. However, I apply only a small amount and work it into my lips for a shiny stain. It's true, this is hard to remove, but this is basically faded by the next day.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sheisontherun on 3/21/2013 12:13:00 PM more reviews by sheisontherun

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I was thrilled with the color and application of this initially. It was a beautiful, bold pinkish-red on me. Easy to apply, did not feeling overly drying (not at all moisturizing either though). It was a little brighter than I am used to, but I liked it.

About an hour later I looked in the mirror, and much to my horror, there was a bright pink line AROUND my lips and just a trace of color on them. Essentially it looked like I had applied lip liner and forgotten to put on lipstick. A very strange and unfortunate look. I tried once again with this overpriced pencil and got the same result. I expected more.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LeAnn on 3/13/2013 3:33:00 AM more reviews by LeAnn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love NARS, but not this velvet lip gloss. As the day wore on, it got brighter and brighter on me, and then I could not get it off. It stained my pillowcase! I used every makeup remover known to man, and it would not come off! I want to love it, I do, but I can't. I had to return it. The SA told me she had heard similar stories about this product from others.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 2/16/2013 4:17:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

These Velvet Lip Gloss pencils are the brightest, most opaque, long wearing lip products I've ever found. Mexican Rose is no exception.

It goes on as a soft pink shiny gloss, then 5 minutes later it brightens and deepens into a dramatic bright hot red with the tinyest bit of pink. I loved it... until I looked in the mirror 5 hours later.

Was the color faded? no. Was it all over my face in a "Is this where the Joker auditions are being held" kind of way? yes.

I've never had a lip product MIGRATE all over my mouth the way this did. It stains like a dream. Too bad it's just as happy to stain your skin as it is your lips.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EricaMarieB on 1/15/2013 3:34:00 PM more reviews by EricaMarieB

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this pencil! When I first apply, it looks like a sheer bright pink with a glossy sheen. After a couple minutes, I swear the color deepens to an outstanding bright fuschia. it stays moist for several hours, but the best part is, it fades evenly & leaves a great bright yet deep pink stain (& boy, do I love a lip stain.) I always get compliments on this when I wear it, for as bright as it is it's surprisingly everday wearable. The only thing I don't like is that I have to sharpen it, however, I've had this since it came out, I wear it all the time, & I've only had to sharpen it twice so far. A little goes a long way, it never bleeds, smears or gets sticky. HIGHLY recommend!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MyBeehive on 12/9/2012 1:32:00 PM more reviews by MyBeehive

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, I cannot believe MUA didn't have a review for this! It's like a wonder product, seriously, if it looks like your thing and you are considering buying Mexican Rose, DO! It came out in the NARS Spring 2012 ( almost positive ) color story. NARS describes it as Hot pink but on my pale lips it leans red too. It's like a super bright pink red berry and guess what!?! THIS IS A LIP STAIN TOO. And a good one! All you need is one nice coat, blot, touch up and that's all you need all day, it's like whoa. Hahahaha. I was expecting something sheer without any staying power and I was so wrong. It's translucent color without being sheer, if that makes sense. Formula feels wonderful, not sticky, not drying, just right. Then my lips like absorbed the color after like 20 mins and at the end of the night it took m/u remover to take it off. Mexican Rose is my new obsession and I cannot wait to devour more of these Velvet Gloss pencils, they are delightful. New Lover is the only other that I've so far tried and the formula feels the same, though it doesn't seem to last as well.
Anyway holy hotdog I'm so excited to find my go-to one-step pretty bright berry mouth product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More NARS products

More Lip Gloss products