Maybelline The Rocket Volum' Express

3.6

791 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

(BLACK NON-WATERPROOF) AQUA/WATER, PEG-200 GLYCERYL STEARATE, STYRENE/ACRYLATES/AMMONIUM METHACRYLATE COPOLYMER, CERA ALBA/BEESWAX, PARAFFIN, COPERNICA CERIFERA CERA/CARNAUBA WAX, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, STEARIC ACID, CETYL ALCOHOL, PALMITIC ACID, ETHYLENEDIAMINE/STEARYL DIMER DILINOLEATE COPOLYMER, VP/EICOSENE COPOLYMER, LITHIUM MAGNESIUM SODIUM SILICATE, DIMETHICONE, AMINOMETHYL PROPANEDIOL, PHENOXYETHANOL, SILICA, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, SOSIUM LAURETH SULFATE, DIMETHICONOL, DISODIUM EDTA, POLYURETHANE-35, TETRASODIUM EDTA, [+/- MAY CONTAIN: CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES, CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, MICA, CI 75470 / CARMINE, CI 77288 / CHROMIUM OXIDE GREENS, CI 77289 / CHROMIUM HYDROXIDE GREEN, CI 77742 / MANGANESE VIOLET, CI 77510 / FERRIC FERROCYANIDE], (F.I.L. D54745/1).


on 5/22/2015 3:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I really love the plastic wand of this mascara. I was looking for an alternative to my CG lashblast, it is really similar, but this has a bigger wand.
Perfect if you would like a natural look, lengthens and volumizes your lashes slightly, you could easily build it up.
But if you have straight asian lashes like mine, advice is to let the mascara dry before curling your lashes, or it wouldn't stay.
I got so addicted to using this mascara because i just loved the wand- clump-free definitely, but the formula was average.



on 5/19/2015 9:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

For the price I figured I may as well try it as I needed more mascara but I'm really not impressed. I have long lashes, I find it clumps them and doesn't give any volume. On the plus side it doesn't smudge or flakes and lasts all day.The packaging is basic for mascara but I find the wand is easier to hold with the fat and skinny ends. I don't think I'd buy this again.


on 5/17/2015 10:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is pretty good, but it didn't live up to all the hype. I used it for awhile because I did enjoy it, but I definitely have better mascaras. It might be my own eyelashes though (they're kind of thin and point down...they're pretty bad in short) because I've seen it on other people and it looks amazing. I find it clumps too much and doesn't really give too much length (I don't remember if the packaging said it would give length though) I used it on my bottom lashes for awhile, because it looks kind of nice there.

Overall, the mascara is pretty good, I don't think I'd repurchase it though because I have mascaras I like more. I would recommend it, but not as much as other ones.

Also, I bought the waterproof version (waterproof is the only thing that actually holds the curl on my lashes) and it came off fairly easily when I tried to remove it with a remover.


on 5/13/2015 11:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This stuff does not move at all! I rub my eyes sometimes then remember I have makeup on and it doesn't go anywhere! AND it keeps a curl! The BEST mascara I have ever used.


on 5/8/2015 4:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been looking for a holy grail drugstore mascara and after MANY months and MANY mascaras I have found it. It makes my lashes longer, thicker and separates, gives an overall great look. One of my eyes waters a lot late in the day and NO issues with this mascara. I have noticed the more coats I apply the harder to remove. However, I started to use coconut oil to remove my makeup and this helps to remove it.


on 5/8/2015 5:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Huge disappointment. I really don't understand how this mascara has such a good overall rating. I bought it because I needed an affordable mascara and hoped for the best.
It does define lashes and give them length. Pretty effect on lashes - initially. But after a little while it starts smudging like there's no tomorrow. I seriously never had a mascara smudge as much as this one. But ironically, it's nearly impossible to remove in the evening, with make-up remover. Awful.


on 5/6/2015 3:57:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

1. The packaging is unique. It's not a typical long rectangular packaging for a mascara. I've seen other brands esp. local brands (where I live) try to mimic the packaging, no. Those other brands cannot pull it off. Only Maybelline. Deal with it. lol

2. The colour stays true to it's name. Very pigmented. I have mine in blackest black and it is veeeeerrrryyyyyy black. :)

3. The bristle don't bother me to be honest. It is kind of an unusual shape but I have no complaints about it.

4. It claims to give volume your lashes? Yes, yes it does. Although I have naturally long-ish lashes, this mascara makes them much longer. I really love it for that. And the black pigment does give a bit of thickness as well (at least in my use).

5. Affordable. I'd buy it again and again and again!

6. After a few months of using it, you'd notice some clumps. What I do to lessen those clumps, I get a tiny cup, fill it with 'warm-on-the-verge-of-hot' water and stick the mascara there about 10-15 mins before applying. :)

Overall, I love this mascara. <3 :D


on 5/4/2015 8:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I loved this mascara from the first swipe! It isn't life-changing, but it gives me more than the clump crusher gives me. (Although I do love clump crusher for layering.) This does give me volume and separates, with decent length. I can actually use this on my lower lash with nice results, too, despite the larger brush. My only gripe is that the brush is super hard and pokey. This is nice for combing thru lashes, but if I were to poke my eye -- it could be fatal. I could also tell when it started to dry out on me because it wouldn't fan my lashes out as nicely as it did when I first opened it. But even if it just lasts me 2-3 months -- I don't mind -- I will buy this again because it makes my lashes very pretty.


on 5/1/2015 3:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

fun packaging.

reasonable price.

... that's about it for this product.

it hardly does anything to your eyelashes aside from adding clumps to them, there is "volume" added or anything else.

this one is better left on the shelves.


on 5/1/2015 2:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this mascara! I use it in the non-waterproof formula on a daily basis. It provides a nice amount of length and volume. It leaves my lashes clump-free and soft - no crispness whatsoever. The lasting power is INSANE... I wore this all day while I was sick and my eyes were watery, AND I fell asleep in it. I woke up to find my lashes looking just as good as when I had first applied my makeup. I was so pleased! However, I wish this thickened my lashes a bit more, and I wish the chubby wand was a little smaller. I've poked myself in the eye with the wand before and boy, that was not a pleasant experience.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
421 Reviews
Roller Lash
103 Reviews
They're Real
2005 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Maybelline "The Rocket" Volum' Express | Mascara Review by Apollo-milkchocolate



Back to Top