Chanel Le Volume De Chanel

4.2

204 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, synthetic Beeswax, Paraffin, Stearic Acid, Acacia Senegal Gum, Triethanolamine, Butylene Glycol, Carnauba wax, Glyceryl stearate, Polybutene, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Potassium Sorbate, Ascorbyl palmitate, Tocopherol, (+/-, CI 75470, CI 77007, Ci 77163, Ci 77288, Ci 77289, Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499, CI 77510, Ci 77742, CI 77891, Mica).


on 8/24/2015 4:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Given the reviews I had such high hopes for this mascara so I splurged on it. Essentially, it makes me look like I have about 5 eyelashes. I now realise this is what volumising mascaras do. Silly me - everyone else probably knew this, but I NOW know (since a shop assistant explained it) that voluming mascaras deliberately stick lashes together so they're more bulkier (volume). This is just not something that works for me at all.

I find it hard to believe it actually looks like nice eyelashes on anyone, but given the ratings I must be wrong there. At least on me, it looked like $2 goop. I'll go back to my tried and true Lancome Hypnose.



on 8/23/2015 5:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This mascara is honestly the best one I've tried so far. It gives me the thick, full, and long look I love! I usually use more than one mascara at a time but with le volume I didn't need to at all, it's that good. It is on the pricey side so I just use it for special occasions. Looooooooove ittttttt!!


on 8/18/2015 2:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My favourite on the market , huge volume , lengthening , 10/10 from me !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2015 2:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I ask a lot of my mascara. I want it to give me dramatic volume. I want my lashes to look separated and fanned out. I want it to last all day without making my lashes feel like I smeared asphalt/ tarmac on them. I do not want to look at myself in a public bathroom and look like I'm a 12 year old with cheap eyeliner running under my eyes nor do I want to have flakes sprinkled all over my cheek bones. I want it to come OFF at night without feeling like I'm going to war on my eyes. Simple things really ;) ...but, it feels like for every quality that I want, I must sacrifice another. This mascara delivers it ALL! It makes my lashes look gorgeous, it stays soft feeling all day without smudging at all (even in this very hot and humid weather we're having right now here in the Midwest.) No flaking at all and it comes off so easily with soap and water, no gearing up for battle to remove my eye makeup. It's truly a pleasure to use. The beauty of this mascara to me is absolutely how it delivers in every area that I want. I can make my lashes look gorgeous with other products, but there will always be a penalty to pay later in the day.

It's true that the mascara needs to "dry out" a little bit after the initial opening, but after the 2-3 day, it's the perfect consistency. I also can see how people who have very full lashes already might not care for this. The brush really does lend itself to slathering for volume purposes and I could see it just smearing a wall of mascara on thick lashes. I have thin wimpy lashes though, so it works magic on my eyes.

I stalked this mascara for a couple of weeks after I got my sample and fell in love, but I was really afraid that the sample would be better than the real thing, like so many mascaras I've tried (what is with that?) The high reviews here on MUA made the final sale for me because I never see mascaras with this high of a rating. I finally broke down and bought it a few weeks ago and I am not disappointed with the full size version. It's love.

Gawd! THIS mascara. I despise the term "Holy Grail" mainly because it gets thrown around so carelessly. But I honestly cannot think of any other possible way of explaining how I feel about it. It makes me act in ways I never do. Like how I want to quote Jaclyn Hill and say "This. Mascara. Gives. Me. Life!" lol. You could ask my family, they ALL know that I've found my soul mate mascara haha. I also plan on going to a counter next week and purchasing the brown one because I wear brown mascara just as much as I wear black. To have both black and brown in the perfect mascara is almost unfathomable lol.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2015 9:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Other

Long lasting, the bottle lasted for a long time without drying and that is why in the long run is worth. But do not take the waterproof one!! It's sticky, dried very quickly and the worst of all my lashes started to fall in a month.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2015 12:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Love this mascara, really works for me!


on 6/26/2015 7:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Damn I didn't want to fall in love with this but I totally did. Packaging is classic Chanel; it is black with the white c's and has a basic shape. The brush itself looks rather large but surprisingly I had had an easier time manoeuvring it throughout my lashes compared to other mascaras with a large brush. This may be due to the bristles, which are quite small and not bushy. They are also plastic/elastic?

This dispenses a good amount of product onto my lashes and covers them evenly. The brush is good in that it doesn't grip onto my lashes with rough bristles and pull them out. Yes,this is something that has happened to me before with other mascaras.

The colour is a nice, rich black and the volume.. Oh the volume! Most volumising mascara I have tried to date. There is a slight degree of clumpiness, which I think accompanies voluminous mascaras, but it never looks dry, spidery or like I only have three lashes. Mind you, if you just went for it like crazy this may still happen! I also find that it isn't too dry or too wet, being wet enough to glide on but not so wet as to take ages to dry. What makes this a nice surprise is that this also lengthens really well in addition to adding volume and also helps curl my lashes. It won't replace an eyelash curler but I have gotten lazy and stopped using them. I find this gives a nice lift and adds some curl, which I have not experienced before ever. I didn't take the curl claim seriously until I tried. However, due to the formula I feel that if you have easily weighed down lashes, pre curled lashes might droop a bit after application So this is my most dramatic mascara and the closest to creating a 'falsies' effect.

Now, I do have a problem with mascaras smudging due to having oily eyelids. As long as I wear a mattifying shadow primer and wipe away any messy mascara application on my lower eyelid, then I'm fine. If I don't do this I will get a bit of smudge on my lower lid, but it surprisingly does not create a panda effect. But I have yet to try this in a hot, humid environment. Lucky for me I live in a super dry climate.. I also haven't had it smudge when rubbing my eyes or having them water.

Completely addicted to this product and would definitely repurchase. A bit bummed that I have fallen in love with another Chanel product but I feel this is worth it. Also, not going to lie, who doesn't love displaying these on their dresser, makeup cabinet etc.?!

I am trying to think of cons.. The price... And the wand may be too large and awkward for some eye shapes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2015 3:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Actually nothing special for me. Although one of my friends raves about it) for me L'oreal telescopic is a waay better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2015 4:07:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this mascara!

I am on my second tube now (my first tube was in the colour 30 Prune) now I have the black one - and I have to say it delivers in all aspects.
It is pretty wet at first so allow to dry for a few seconds. It layers beautifully and I agree with previous reviews, it gets better after a couple of weeks of use - it gets a bit thicker in the tube and makes for a more dramatic effect.
It is not only volumizing but also lengthening and if applied with a light hand, good enough for daily/office use. It lasts all day and doesn't smudge.
Applied over a coat of Lancome's Cils Booster it gives a false lash effect, but in a good way. So good that I was once I asked if I have lash extensions.

The packaging is phenomenal as well.

Will definitely repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/31/2015 3:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Awful brush - I saw this on You Tube and it looked amazing on the makeup artist. I purchased a mini off eBay for $7. The mascara formula is very wet and was gooped up all over the brush. I did like the intense blackness but the applicator is awful. I don't like plastic brushes so this started off bad for me - this "snowflake" brush did nothing. The formula does lengthen and thicken BUT for $30 a tube it really should do more. I definitely wouldn't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top