Hada Labo UV Creamy Gel SPF 50 +

3.8

13 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, butylene glycol, isononyl isononanoate, alcohol,, dimethicone, PEG-12 dimethicone, polysilicone-15, glycol dimethacrylate crosspolymer, bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, sodium acetate hyaluronate, sodium hyaluronate, hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, diethylamino hydroxybenzoyl hexyl benzoate, polysilicone-13,, ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/vp copolymer, polystyrene, polyvinyl alcohol, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, triethanolamine, titanium dioxide, silica, hydrogen dimethicone, aluminum hydroxide, methylparaben, propylparaben.


on 5/30/2015 4:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Note: Ratzilla mentioned that this was discontinued and is being replaced by Hada Labo Koi Gokujyun Perfect UV Gel. I've heard the ingredients are the same and the order is the same with the only exception being silica is now hydrated silica. I'm hoping this the replacement is just as good, if not better.

For reference, I have dehydrated-normal skin. This is the first Asian sunscreen I've tried, and I'm really pleased with the thin lotion-like consistency and how light and moisturizing it is. I can easily apply 1/4 teaspoon of this to my face and have it set nicely in about 15 minutes. It does smell heavily of alcohol upon first application but that dissipates soon.

I am probably about NC30 in depth, and I have never noticed anything remotely resembling a white cast from this sunscreen. This sunscreen also acts like a primer for foundation since it leaves my face smooth and soft, although it doesn't have any pore-filling capabilities.

This is cosmetically elegant and very functional on my dehydrated skin, however I imagine oily skin types wouldn't care too much for it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I bought this sunscreen based on the many good reviews it got on various sites and was sort of excited to get. Sadly, it doens´t work for me. Like, not at all.
I have dry, sensitive skin that get aggrivated by, well, everything. The product contains a good amount of alcohol which seems to be the culprit here.
Even with my dry skin the texture is still kinda greasy and leaves your skin feeling uncomfartable, as if under a layer of something gross.


on 5/8/2015 11:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this sunscreen, but it just didn't work for me - it left my face uncomfortably greasy and shiny after application.

********************************************************************************************************

UV Filters: Octinoxate (Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate), Parsol SLX (Polysilicone-15), Tinosorb S (Bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine), Uvinul A Plus (Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate), Titanium Dioxide

Other: Water, Butylene Glycol, Isononyl Isononanoate, Alcohol, Dimethicone, PEF-12 Dimethicone, Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Acetate Hyaluronate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolized Hyaluronic Acid, Polysilicone-13, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Polystyrene, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Triethanol Amine, Silica, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Aluminum Hydroxide, Methylparaben, Propylparaben

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2015 10:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The consistency is a light, creamy-gel fluid, but it takes a long time to absorb into my dry skin. I already moisturise separately so I now only reach for it on days where my skin is ultra dehydrated and I'm not in a rush to apply make up after. I layer on a quarter teaspoon and usually have to wait at least 20 minutes for it to sink in. Once it does absorb there is a noticeable hydration in the upper layers of the skin. It doesn't adversely affect primer or foundation as long as I let it dry.

The formula is non-irritating and I find it much more gentle and less alcohol content than most Asian sunscreens. It does have a very, very light scent in the tube that is gone by the time it reaches the face. It's soothing to apply because the texture is so soft and moisturising. Not even a trace of white cast.

When I visited Australia I get darker each day and my sunspots multiplied. It was winter, I wore a hat at all times, stayed in the shade, and reapplied this every 1 hour to my face and 2 hours to my body. I did not experience any redness or discomfort from sunburn though, so I'm happy with the SPF protection for UVB rays, but I'd like a higher PPD (or PA) rating to give me extra protection from those nasty UVA rays that make hyperpigmentation worse. This may not be a priority for some of people, nor should you feel you ordinarily need to apply a decent broad spectrum sunscreen like this every hour, but the Australian sun is mighty harsh year round and I have a lot of pigmentation issues like melasma and sun damage already, so I'm extra vigilant about reapplication and very demanding of my sunscreens!

I do like this sunscreen in a lot of ways and think it is superior to many sunscreens in both Asian and Western markets, but I'm going to keep searching for something with higher UVA protection and hopefully one that absorbs a little easier.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2015 1:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My absolute HG. Just bought my 4th tube!! My skin is dry, this feels like a hydrating gel/cream. Doesn't sting my eyes, doesn't leave a white cast. Definitely works- I've gone down a foundation shade since I started using it! Would highly reccomend


on 3/18/2015 6:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Ingredients: Water, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Butylene Glycol, Isononyl Isononanoate, Alcohol, Dimethicone, PEF-12 Dimethicone, Polysilicone-15, Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Sodium Acetate Hyaluronate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Hydrolized Hyaluronic Acid, Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate, Polysilicone-13, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Polystyrene, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Triethanol Amine, Titanium Dioxide, Silica, Hydrogen Dimethicone, Aluminum Hydroxide, Methylparaben, Propylparaben

I bought this 50 ml tube from ebay for about 14 dollars. I use this up in little less than 4 weeks when using the 1/4 tsp rule and only applying it to my face ( I used this during winter so I didn't use it down my neck).

Applying the right amount makes my face very shiny and greasy. A powder is a must. It burns like hell when coming into contact with eyes and other times the SS migrates and makes me just really teary. This was the major drawback that led me NOT to repurchase this SS again. I don't know what it was I reacted to. I used the rest of this SS on my hands as a moisturizer and sun protectant and I fount that it works really really well at this job. The tube is small and it fits easily in the medium/large school bags I carry (I'm in college).

As for its moisturizing properties I feel that it would work great for my dry face in summer but it doesn't do the job in the other months. I need a moisturizer before I put this SS on.

Summary: 3/5. Would repurchase but ONLY as a hand cream.

Pro: Good protection, works really well for rest of body.

Cons: Burns when in contact with eyes, not really moisturizing for someone with dry skin, medium price level that feels in your wallet if you are on a budget since you need to replace it frequently.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2015 10:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

my skin loves it.

pros:
-absorbed very well, and goes well under the makeup.
- watery, and light.
- no white traces


cons:
- don't know where to buy it in uk.


on 10/25/2014 10:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this based on some rave reviews. It's pretty affordable at ~$14 for 50 g and it's also on Amazon Prime right now, so you don't have to wait for it to come from Japan. I've heard this sunscreen described as "moist" and that is the perfect word. It is very moist. It kind of feels like my skin stays wet for a long time, but not in an uncomfortable way. It is PA++++ (which means UVA rating is 16+) which is pretty good. It also doesn't contain avobenzone, so I can layer this with makeup and it dosen't stain my clothing. It contains 3 types hyaluronic acids, which are good for your skin and keep you hydrated. It does contain alcohol, and I find that I can smell it, but it doesn't seem bothersome and it's supposed to be less alcohol than other Asian sunscreens. I actually just purchased my second bottle of this so I plan to keep on using it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/31/2014 1:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My skin: dehydrated, dry, acne-prone

This is a fantastic sunscreen that does not break me out/contain fatty alcohols and dries to a very smooth finish that's perfect as a makeup primer. Like, seriously smooth and I am always tempted to touch my face afterwards. It leaves no white cast or greasy residue and it is not matte. This is a fairly hydrating sunscreen, but I personally still need an extra moisturizer with this. The tube packaging is functional and non-messy which I love.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I've tried most of the trending Japanese sunscreens, but this has been my favorite by far. It avoids the super high alcohol content of other sunscreens (it still has some, just not as much), it's moisturizing, and it doesn't ball up under my makeup. It's also easy to apply, with absolutely no white cast. It's just a basic sunscreen that does a great job. I'm going to order a couple more tubes of it soon.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Hada Labo Products

Back to Top