Essence • Superfine Eyeliner Pen • Eyeliner

rated 3.0(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 mostronic on 3/11/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by mostronic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVED this at first, gave such a nice dark line when I tried it in store and for so cheap. Then as I applied it at home, the pen tip dried out so quickly and was difficult to apply because of it. As I wore it throughout the day it transferred to my upper lid and stained! Even when I tried to rub it off, it wouldn't come off. Lastly when I tried to take it off with my waterproof makeup remover, it stayed stained on my eyelids! I would much rather pay for my Stila than have the transfer to my upper lids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 swaggy on 3/1/2014 4:59:00 PM more reviews by swaggy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This product is not the best. After two weeks, the tip was dry and after 20 minutes, I would find some of the eyeliner above my lid ( I have semi hooded eyes). The pigment is ok but it easily could be better. In the end I would not buy it again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* adrenirushxaudri on 2/23/2014 9:52:00 PM more reviews by adrenirushxaudri

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm one of those people that uses liquid liner on a daily basis but only ever have one laying around so at Ulta the other day, I picked this up having never tried Essence before. I plucked off the cap and there was this long, ultra-thin felt tip and I had to have it. (For $3, I was willing to gamble!)

If you're torn between the precision of a felt-tip, pen-style liner and the fluidity of a brush-tip, look no further - or at least give this one a shot. The liner is flat black in color and could honestly be more pigmented and deeper but for a basic black liner, it's just fine. (One of two negative points here.) The tip is, again, long and ultra-fine at the end that makes for a wonderfully easy application and one of the best "wing" makers ever. And boy does this stuff last. I had it on last night, washed my makeup off, and this morning I woke up with a stained dark line around my eye. Be wary when you remove. Oil-based or waterproof m/u remover will probably be best here.

If not for the staining and the "just okay" pigmentation, this is a good stand-by! For the price, I can't ask for much but this little guy delivers just what I need daily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RayvnNA on 2/19/2014 7:21:00 PM more reviews by RayvnNA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love pen-type liquid eyeliners, but unfortunately the best are very expensive. Stila Stay All Day and Smashbox Limitless are the best. The Physician's Formula one is great and gets tons of love, but it is also pricey for drugstore brand. I decided to try this little cheapie. Certainly can't complain about price! The packaging is fine, nothing fancy. It glides on fine, but by the time I get to the end of my lining for the day the tip has dried out a bit and doesn't glide as smoothly. The problem is in the lasting, smudging, and staining. I really don't have any unrealistic expectations about how long this is supposed to last, it's also not waterproof. But I have decided I will not even do a little wing with this stuff because if my eyes water at all throughout the day it completely runs. Not only does it run, but it begins to stain where it ran immediately. Interesting how an eyeliner that doesn't stay at all will stain so badly. If I'm at work or out the stain will not remove with a little water and rubbing. The stuff generally removes fine with my oil cleanser at night. So the problem is that I'm completely insecure when I'm wearing it, worried that it has started to run. No thanks, I'll just pay more next time I buy a liquid liner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DrGMart on 2/9/2014 2:42:00 PM more reviews by DrGMart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for under three dollars, and it has a super fine tip. Application is smooth, doesn't drag across the lids. Creates a nice and thin line, but it could be slightly more pigmented. It wore beautifully throughout the day, no smudging or flaking, but my big issue was taking it off. It stained my lids! It would not come off! I was so perplexed so I'm weaning off using it for a bit...but I would still use it (I use a brown liner for every day) and for two fifty, im not complaining

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 madamshay on 1/6/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by madamshay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first liquid liner I have ever purchased, and I have only had it for less than 24 hours. I went to my local drugstore where I knew they sold Essence, looking for concealer. I discovered the Super Fine liquid liner as well, and decided to give it a try.

I tested this product in the store, did not budge from my hand, dried well. I was impressed. I get home, test it on my eye. The liner is super super fine, much finer than I expected, but still good. Great pigmentation, but hard to remove. I used water and soap, and it barely budged. Left a slight shadow on my eye where the liner was put. Overall, I would give it a rating of 3 of 5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ixSNOWBUNNYx3 on 12/28/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by ixSNOWBUNNYx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is not bad at all! I really liked the tip, it created such a flawless smooth and thin line, just like how I like my eyeliner.

I've read some of the reviews before going out to buy it, and it was... about 3 dollars at SDM? Dirt cheap prices, if you ask me. Some people were saying how it was not pigmented enough, I've come to realise that the reason for this is because they don't have security seals on the packaging, and other people already touched it, so it dried out. I made sure to get one that worked.

This is an amazing product, and since eyeliner pens dry out SOOOO quickly, finding a good one that works well is key.

I found that the packaging wasn't as neat as some of their other products, I just couldn't seem to get it open.... It took wayyyy too much effort!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 12/22/2013 5:43:00 AM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

just as good as any high end equivalent i've tried. actually, better than some. very pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HannaBanana73 on 12/4/2013 4:48:00 PM more reviews by HannaBanana73

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fairly decent product, but overall, it wasn't easy/quick to apply.

Pros: Great price, nice packaging, nice tip
Cons: The formula seemed kind of thin to me. While applying, I would have to press hard and repeatedly line my eyes until the eyeliner would actually show.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nitala on 11/13/2013 5:56:00 PM more reviews by Nitala

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE the tip on this pen. Super fine and very easy to make a nice winged eyeliner look. It's not as super black as I would like, but it's definitely buildable.

It was pretty easy to remove using Pond's cold cream and I didn't notice any staining on my eyes after removal. Cold cream or baby oil is best when it comes to removing this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Eyeliner products