Essence • Breaking Dawn Shimmer Powder - Bella’s Secret • Highlighters

rated 4.7(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 imaunicorn on 6/23/2013 12:02:00 PM more reviews by imaunicorn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I'm not really a highlighter person but I still highlight certain areas like cheekbones, under my brows etc. This does the job just fine without making me shine like a disco ball. Especially great for using on the nose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FairlyVanilla on 3/1/2013 8:03:00 AM more reviews by FairlyVanilla

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Ah, I can see what all the hype about was now. :) This shimmer powder is LOVELY. What a bargain for $2.99! You get a ton of product, and it's a lovely, subtle finely-milled shimmer powder. Just perfect for highlighting the eyes, brow bone, and cheek bones! LOVE! I thought this would be all sold out by now (March 2013) -- but I found one Shoppers location that had almost the whole in tact display of the BD2 Limited Edition collection. I'm thinking of going back and getting more! For $2.99, how can I not? ;) Definitely recommend and would re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bananasx3 on 12/31/2012 7:39:00 PM more reviews by bananasx3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Don't have time to write about how beautiful this is.
That is all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SoniaStrawberry on 12/17/2012 1:55:00 PM more reviews by SoniaStrawberry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Not too shimmering,really nice product~

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupAddict444 on 12/9/2012 2:10:00 PM more reviews by MakeupAddict444

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am a fan of Twilight, so I was thrilled when this collection came out. I bought two pigments, a lipgloss, a nail polish, a glitter eye liner and the shimmer powder. I am satisfied with everything (except the glitter eyeliner, which I have to apply over another eye liner or an eyeshadow applied wet) but this product is really fantastic. It gives my cheekbones a nice, gold-shimmery-ish glow. It comes in a quite big compact, so I don't have to worry about using it up. (If that happens, I will probably cry since it's a LE and it's sooo amazingly beautiful) And it was dirt cheap.
I also love the packaging. It has angular (Well, it's still a round compact, but I mean angular as in: not rounded) edges and a black font instead of silver. Those two things really make a difference, because, to be honest: I think Essence's regular packaging is C-R-A-P. But the LE packaging looks great most of the time.
There's nothing more to say, right? Beautiful color, nice glow, amazing price. The only con about it is that it's a LE, so I won't be able to repurchase but if I could, I sure would!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tbeezy07 on 12/8/2012 3:27:00 PM more reviews by tbeezy07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

First off, I'll state, I am not a twi-hard. I watched the movies, but eh...I'm not obsessed. I will state however, I AM obsessed with Highlights and anything that can make me glow. I have owned/own the infamous NARS Albatross, Too Faced Candlelight glow, MAC Soft & Gentle, STILA Kitten, theBalm Luminizer etc.
I stumbled across this when I was visitng ULTA (as I so often do) in the brushes section. There were polishes, blushes and glitter powder but none compared to this beauty.
It reminded me right off the bat of theBalms Mary-Lou Luminizer, but with more of a brown peachy undertone.
I got home and swatched them both. As you can see from the picture I've included, Bella's secret is more of a subtle sheen. not overly frosty or glitter ball at all. Mary-lou is more light, white champagne colored with medium frost and mid glitter. Telling from both, Bella's secret would be great for mature skin because it does not highlight wrinkles or fine lines (which I have alittle of, even though I am 23 yrs). Mary Lou is more over dramatic and noticeable. For three dollars, you can NOT go wrong with Bellas secret. You get .38oz which is TONS!
It is not even slightly powdery, which can be a result of drugstore products. It goes on nice and smooth. I use my Real techniques stippling brush to apply. Its like I got kissed with the highlight fairy! It lasts just as long as my face make-up does. I make sure to add my setting spray, to make sure this melts right into my skin.
Even though the packaging looks cheap, I LOVE the fact that you can see from the outside whats inside, how much and what color. When I'm in a rush, it will be a godsend.
I even did a Holiday look with this and it looks so great with a light smokey eye and bold lips.
ULTA's return policy is great, so if you want to try it out, and don't like it afterwards and doubt you'll ever wear it, you can always return it. For me though this is a keeper and I am sure to use it when I need a soft lit glow to highlight my cheeks.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* winterfairy on 12/5/2012 12:20:00 PM more reviews by winterfairy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My first highlighter, so I can't compare it with others. It's golden and shimmery, but not over the top and it gives very nice and subtle sheen. Maybe a bit too yellowish for my taste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautyglitter on 12/3/2012 8:06:00 AM more reviews by beautyglitter

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I picked this up as soon as i saw it at Ulta due to the raves on the MUB, and I am sooo glad I did. This is a beautiful golden highlighter, and is shimmery, not glittery in the least. Not as finely-milled as the KA Candlelight one, but definatley awesome quality for such a small price. I apply this with my Real Techniques blush brush lightly to the tops of my cheekbones and the bridge of my nose, and it gives me a pretty golden-tinted glow.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 11/30/2012 12:02:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I stumbled across this display at Shoppers Drug Mart and was intrigued by this new limited edition collection from Essence as for an inexpensive drug store line they have a few gems that I have loved and repurchased. One of the few things I purchased from the Twilight Breaking Dawn Part 2 Makeup Collection was the shimmer powder. For $3.99 you get 11g of product which is massive quantity and surprisingly a high quality product. I have become obsessed with this golden highlighter. It's finely milled, extremely pigmented, wear well all day without fading, and departs an amazing glowing luminosity without obvious glitter. It is truly a hidden gem and have recommended it to my friends. I even went back and purchased two more to give as gifts.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Essence products

More Highlighters products