The Body Shop • Seaweed Purifying Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.3(26 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 kicko719 on 7/31/2014 3:17:00 PM more reviews by kicko719

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've only been using this product for a little bit, so it might be a little earl for a review. That begin said, in all honesty I think it's a very average face wash. I use it in the morning and my face tends to feel nice for the rest of the day. Since I don't use it for makeup removal, I can't comment on its effectiveness in that department. Although I will say that it does not claim to remove makeup and I would never use it for eye makeup removal, so I find it worrisome that people are commenting about that. I have normal skin that tends to be on the dry side, so I find that I can't use this in combination with acne medicine. At the same time, when I don't use it with acne medication, my skin doesn't feel overly dry. Overall it's a really nice face wash, but I don't really fell that it's much different than some other similar cleansers on the market. If you don't want to spend the money, Cetaphil for oily skin might do the trick just as well. Did get on sale though for $7 so look out for that. I may post another review after I use it a little more :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ahya146 on 7/17/2014 3:50:00 PM more reviews by Ahya146

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Overall the product was good in removing oil and make up, but after using it for 3 months, it didn't do anything to make my skin look clearer and brighter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nknier on 5/17/2014 7:21:00 PM more reviews by nknier

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used the entire bottle of this cleanser and I felt that overall, this cleanser was fairly good. I have combination skin and so this cleanser was great for cleaning away the oils and removing makeup without drying out my skin. However, I felt that it wasn't that great in terms of clearing up present blemishes. I used this cleanser with the Clarasonic and felt that the "lotion" texture wasn't that compatible with the Clarasonic in comparison to a gel cleanser. I do recommend this cleanser for someone who wants a gentle cleanser that doesn't dry out the skin and doesn't have many skin problems.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jealouspony on 10/3/2013 8:42:00 AM more reviews by jealouspony

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not used to this kind of cleanser, but I'm really starting to like it. It doesn't lather, so it's difficult to know how much product you need in the beginning, but you get a hang of it eventually.

I have combination/oily skin, but not acne prone, so this is great for my type of skin. I just massage it on to my entire face and then wipe it off with a cotton pad. I finish with the Seaweed Toner and my face feels super fresh and smooth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Adversely on 8/7/2013 8:34:00 PM more reviews by Adversely

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I mainly used The Body Shop's "tea tree" line but I found it was drying out my skin, especially in the winter months. I went to my local Body Shop and asked the sales associate which product would be best for me and explained the problem that I had with the tea tree line. She recommended that I try the Seaweed Purifying Facial Cleanser.

To be honest, I wasn't at all excited to use it. It is a cream cleanser and I never really liked cream cleaners. I decided to take a chance on the product because it came in a "bundle" (seaweed cream cleanser, seaweed toner, and seaweed moisturizer) for 30 dollars.

I started using this as my morning facial cleansing routine the next day. I decided to continue to use the tea tree products as my nightly routine. Using both the seaweed and the tea tree products on a daily basis have really helped clear my skin. I have used the seaweed cleanser as my morning cleansing routine for over six months. It worked wonders in the winter, my skin was no longer dry!

I really do like this product. You don't need a large amount of product to wash your face, (even though it doesn't lather), so the bottle probably lasted me about half a year. I did not break out while using it, I love the smell, so would definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nanadinside on 4/4/2013 1:07:00 PM more reviews by nanadinside

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I asked the lady in the Body Shop whether I have to choose this or the tea tree one because I got oily skin but not acne prone. She told me to get this one. It was pricey for me, but I thought it'll worth it. I was wrong. It burns my skin, and I thought it was because my skin was exfoliating due to the usage of retionic acid. But as I see there are so may ppl complaining the same, the fault is not on my skin. It doesn't remove make up completely, I need to clean my face twice or even three times to get it totally clean, and again, it burns like hell when I apply it more than once. That isn't the worst part. I've been using this only less than a week, and now I have small red bumps here and there, and pimples on my chin, cheek. HORRIBLE!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 labesitos on 3/15/2013 2:23:00 PM more reviews by labesitos

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It doesn't work. It didn't help me with my acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ROFLsmacker on 3/9/2013 6:15:00 AM more reviews by ROFLsmacker

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Not really for me. It couldn't remove all my mascara, it stung my eyes a little and it smelt like sea breeze, which isn't really for me. It is an okay product, not amazing. I Will not buy again as it is not worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Vickybliss on 3/2/2013 1:05:00 PM more reviews by Vickybliss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have no idea what prompted me to buy this, but it made me break out and the fragrance (light as it is) stung around my mouth. I think it's the linalool my skin didn't like. Sensitive-skinned people, I would steer clear. I examined each and every cleanser in their store and I couldn't find any product that DIDN'T have my triggers (shea butter, excess oils and extracts, and coconut derived ingredients). Those of you with better skin than I might have better luck.

Plus the saleslady was a boo about the return, but that isn't influencing my review. It just makes me not want to shop there for any other products, despite their nice sales and easy availability.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whitecatdisguised on 10/23/2012 10:06:00 AM more reviews by whitecatdisguised

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff makes my combination skin feel sooo soft. It's a really good product to be used as a cleanser. I haven't seen any fault in it, except the price. It is pretty pricey, and the cleanser will run out fast if you do a daily routine, unless you change the cleansers up. But I don't, so this stuff is running out pretty quick.
This is a great product, but I wish it could be cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Cleansers products