Matrix • Exquisite Oil Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 3.6(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 3/22/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has a high amount of oils in it, yet it made my hair soft and super curly after my hair air-dried. My hair didn't feel greasy at all. It did take away some volume, but with my thick hair, sometimes I need it. I will not use this daily, except when I feel like my hair needs extra control or when I use my flat-iron. It definitely helps a lot with frizz, especially surface frizz. This has a slight lemony scent that is very light unlike the shampoo which I found it hard to pick up a scent for some reason. The trick is not to apply this conditioner too much to your scalp if you are prone to a greasy scalp like I am. This has a thick and rich consistency so you also don't have to use a lot either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HollyWould123 on 3/20/2014 12:49:00 PM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I only used this a few times, but definitely noticed a softness and shine to my hair that wasn't previously there. However, I've been using a few new products, including Alterna's bamboo oil and Fekkai PrX..this is definitely worth a shot if you have very dry and damaged hair. It's a little pricey, and personally I would recommend Fekkai PrX system over this! Would repurchase if on sale, though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WendyW on 3/1/2014 8:22:00 PM more reviews by WendyW

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Itchy scalp after use. Left a film on my scalp and I think triggered my perioral dermatitis. Was it the high oil content in the ingredient list? After one day my hair smelled dirty, not sure if oil or other ingredients created a yeast overgrowth. Also, there is a lot of cinnamon type ingredients which can be very irritating. Cinnamon can trigger eczema and perioral dermititis. I found some ingredeint lists stating that this conditioner also has mineral oil and some where it's not listed. Lots of other oils in this conditioner--oils that seem to provoke seborhhea, build-up, smelly scalp, etc. Not ever using again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hancam1030 on 12/26/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by hancam1030

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I received this as a Christmas gift. First off, my hair is super thick, frizzy, and wavy. Combine that with hair dying and it's a dry damaged mess. I use deep conditioner every day. I always buy the cheap drugstore brands because well, it's cheap and my hair soaks up conditioner. I basically use up half the tube in one showering. But this stuff has changed my mind. I've only used this twice with the shampoo and I love it. I only need to use about a quarter sized amount and it glides trough my hair effortlessly. Since it has oil in it, I avoid my roots and apply it from the mid part of my hair to the roots. I leave it on for a few minutes and rinse out and my hair feels amazing. Once it dries it looks even better. It still looks damaged, but a lot better than when I use the drugstore stuff. When I brush out my hair it's nice and smooth and easy to brush through and not frizzy at all. Which was definitely not the case before. I will invest the money and buy this again. It outranks any drugstore conditioner I've ever tried.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 laurentate on 11/28/2013 12:22:00 PM more reviews by laurentate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this on sale as a holiday gift set - shampoo and conditioner. Extremely pleased. Minimal to no smell, extremely moisturizing and makes bleached damaged hair look good. Will keep buying. I was more impressed with the conditioner though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lms526 on 10/18/2013 10:06:00 AM more reviews by Lms526

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I got a sample of this from my mom because my hair has been extremely dry and damaged for the past few months. I gave it a try this morning. I can't really say if this stuff works or not. Shortly after I applied it to my hair, my scalp felt like it was on fire. I was hoping I could tough it out for the 3-5 minutes you're supposed to leave it on your hair. But I couldn't. The burning just kept getting worse. I'm guessing I had this on my hair for less than a minute. But even that was too long. I am obviously allergic to something in this conditioner. Needless to say, I won't be using this again and won't purchase a full-size bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BethInAlaska on 8/28/2013 12:45:00 AM more reviews by BethInAlaska

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

My husband bought this for himself instead of some other matrix product by accident and thought it felt gross and slimy. I have thick but fine curly and long hair that is prematurely gray. Can be frizzy and horribly, I cannot use any product with silicone (dimethicone or similar) because I break out terrible. This basically has left me shopping at the health food store for shampoo and conditioner, reading labels like crazy. It's very hard to find anti-frizz products that work without silicone. I haven't been able to straighten my hair because of this for a long time.

So read the label of the exquisite oil, and NO dimethicone. Figured it was worth a try - worst case it would make me break out and have to wear a pony tail.

My initial impression is that my hair felt very oily and weird after shampooing and conditioning, and I thought it would look flat when I twisted sections and let air dry. It's actually not flat at all. It's got great volume, and is pretty unfrizzy. It's also straighter than usual, so I might try blowing it out to see what happens. I washed yesterday morning and expected it to look greasy this afternoon but it doesn't at all, although it does feel smoother. My scalp has no breakout symptoms.

Might be a good product for ethnic or curly hair, especially for women who don't like silicone. I am not crazy about the scent. Would be inappropriate for hair that tends towards limp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 usherlover695 on 12/19/2012 2:23:00 AM more reviews by usherlover695

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first conditionerb ive actually noticed a change in my hair. I have very curly dark hair. I felt like the conditioner in conjunction with the shampoo for some reason made my hair grow..and my hair never grows. Very silky smooth feeling when applying and rinsing out this fabulous product!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bloodymerry52 on 11/20/2012 8:25:00 AM more reviews by bloodymerry52

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had to try the shampoo/conditioner since I loved the Exquisite Oil. I only applied this from my ears to the ends of my hair. I let it sit for about 5 minutes and rinsed it out. It does make your hair really soft and manageable. This conditioner is really good, but I wouldn't shell out the money on this again, because I can find a drug store product that works just as well on my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jskellis on 11/15/2012 6:04:00 PM more reviews by jskellis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Note: I use this in conjunction with its accompanying shampoo.

This conditioner is heavenly. My hair is silkier and shinier than with any other moisturizing conditioners I have ever used. I love love love all soft and Matrix Sleek but this blows both of them out of the water. It is very heavy in oils (its third or fourth ingredient is oil) and makes my hair move like a I'm in a pantene commercial. I have very long hair that gets greasy at the roots and dry and tangled at the ends, this smoothed my flyaways, left my roots fluffy and volumized, and kept my ends untangled on a windy day.

I have been looking into oil serums lately, trying It's a Ten, Biolage Smootherapie Camellia serum, Moroccanoil, Redken Argan-6, Biosilk, and Paul Mitchell Gloss Drops among others. I finally settled on Moroccanoil Light, which I love. But when I use the Exquisite Oil Conditioner, I find no need whatsoever for a serum! My hair has the same beautiful silky feel as it does when I use a serum and I will not be repurchasing the Moroccanoil Light as long as I can get ahold of this conditioner. Praying for liter duos!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Matrix products

More Conditioner products