Matrix • Biolage Exquisite Oil Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.7(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 3/22/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am very surprised that this worked out for me. I also had low expectations when I bought it, but since I love the matching Exquisite Oil, I knew I had to try this. I would classify it as a smoothing shampoo. It does lather gently and does a decent job of cleaning my scalp when I really work it in and let it sit for a few minutes. I wouldn't use it daily on myself and I would have to remember to clarify if I did, since it does feel a bit heavy on my medium textured strands. However, when my hair air-dried it didn't feel too greasy. It looked soft and had sheen and movement. It gave me good curl definition when I used the matching conditioner. I think if I was going to flat-iron my hair, this shampoo would be good for that since it takes some of the bulk away from hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LBVero on 2/28/2014 9:58:00 AM more reviews by LBVero

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love this! I am 59, have straight colored thick and rather coarse, blonde hair cut in a Bob and it makes my hair shiny and healthy looking and feeling. I have not experienced any greasiness thus far, cross my fingers! I went from biolage hydrating to this and I loved that too!
Edit, 1 month later, this makes my hair feel greasy and flat within a few hours of washing and blowing it dry.....yuk!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DemiH on 2/24/2014 2:58:00 PM more reviews by DemiH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Overall I really liked this product. I have very fine, baby soft hair but have quite a bit of damage on my ends. I use this product daily and it doesn't seem to have much of a buildup. I shampooo my roots only. I then condition by putting most of the conditioner on my midshaft-ends with whatever is leftover on my roots. This way I don't end up with greasy hair, but shiny soft hair. I LOVE the smell of the shampoo but the conditioner has an almost non existant scent. I would buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Pheebie on 1/23/2014 9:36:00 AM more reviews by Pheebie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

What a dud. Back in the 90's, I used Biolage Hydrating Shampoo - it was my go-to and I loved it. But then you move on, try new things, you know how it is. When I saw this newer formula in Ulta, during their $15.99/Litre sale, I read the ingredients list, was impressed with what I saw, and thought, "Why not?"

Ugh. I realize there are oils in this shampoo, but man, oh, man - I was NOT expecting the coated, unclean, heavy, weighed-down feeling they would leave behind. Rarely am I so incredibly displeased with a product right out of the gate. By midday, my hair was limp and greasy-looking.

Because I hate to waste things, and since I DO like the smell (it's the classic Biolage scent), I'll use this as a hand soap and possibly as a body wash. It's not going anywhere near my hair, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 laurentate on 11/28/2013 12:25:00 PM more reviews by laurentate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've left a review for conditioner as well** bought as a gift set for holidays. Minimal to no smell. Nice lather. Very good shampoo for what I was expecting. Will continue to buy conditioner, but probably not shampoo. Shampoo seems drugstore quality honestly but the conditioner is wonderful. It did help weigh down my curls which is nice when I blow dry straight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Stepane on 6/20/2013 6:58:00 PM more reviews by Stepane

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up at the JC Penney salon a couple of weeks ago when they were having their sale. I went in to get my hands on some Sleek shampoo/conditioner, but the associate pointed me toward Exquisite Oil shampoo and conditioner because she preferred that one, so I thought I should try it. I did like it, and my hair felt clean after washing and soft after conditioning....but it was very clear that there was a ton of oil in there, even though I rinsed well. Of course this is typical for me as I have very fine oily hair. I have to wash every other day or my hair can get pretty funky looking (and not in the cool 80's funky way), and is usually starting to show signs of greasiness toward the end of day 2 before I get out of work. Needless to say, I was NOT surprised when this shampoo and conditioner set with oil in them caused my hair to be a bit oily. I then decided to try it another way....

I have been intrigued by several accounts from women online who have been conditioning their hair before washing it. The reviews are great from those who have tried it, but I am one of those who must have silkysmooth hair. I haven't gone without conditioner in years, and I mean for about the last 25 years (I am 36 now, so most of my life). I was really worried that my hair wouldn't be smooth and would be unmanageable. I am sure you figure that if I made it this far, my fears were unfounded, and you would be right.

I have washed my hair in reverse about three times now, but didn't want to say anything until I was absolutely certain of the results. Here is how I do it: I wet my hair really good, because for some reason conditioner doesn't spread the same on hair that hasn't been washed. Then I put in my Exquisite Oil conditioner, work it in like I would a shampoo, then let it sit for a few minutes. After the conditioner has been in for a few minutes, I get some shampoo and work it into my roots only. NOTE: DO NOT rinse the conditioner out between these steps. After I am done shampooing, I rinse the shampoo and conditioner out of my hair at once.

The result of my reverse hair shampooing is silky smooth hair that is not weighed down, even right now when I am almost off of work on day two. My hair appears fuller, shinier, and is still super soft. Will I continue doing this? Yes. With this product? Absolutely.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jasiah on 1/5/2013 1:12:00 AM more reviews by jasiah

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

My hair dresser recommended this & I love it. It makes my hair shiny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 khuston1 on 11/21/2012 6:47:00 PM more reviews by khuston1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have very fine hair. I had high hopes for this product, but I should have known when the word "Oil" is in the name. It was a bit waxy feeling on wet hair, but after I rinsed and styled my hair, my crown and roots were oily, felt dirty, and my hair was veryyy flat with no volume! I used the accompanied conditioner on the bottom half of my hair, and really liked it. They don't lie---your hair will be really soft and shiny, just not the best for roots!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bloodymerry52 on 11/20/2012 8:22:00 AM more reviews by bloodymerry52

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I loved the exquisite oil so I knew I had to try the shampoo/conditioner. It is a clear shampoo and you only need a small amount. Mine produced a good lather, and cleans really well. I did notice a slight waxy coating feeling on my hair prior to applying the matching conditioner. It does soften my hair to the point where I could skip conditioner if I wanted. But I think I could probably find the same qualities in a drug store shampoo. I wouldn't shell out the money for this again though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jskellis on 11/15/2012 5:52:00 PM more reviews by jskellis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Note: I use this in combination with the accompanying conditioner.

This is a beautiful shampoo! I had low expectations because in the shower it has the same feel of Biolage's Smooththerapie shampoo which left my hair waxy and tangled. This shampoo lathers very little and seems to leave a slippery feel when washing it out. But the results are magnificent- my hair when air dried was silky and shiny but NOT weighed down at the roots. I have very long hair and its heaviness flattens my roots to my head with other moisturizing shampoos (I was thinking of getting a volumizing shampoo in my desperation), but with Exquisite Oil it moves so well and my bangs are light and wispy! Crossing my fingers for liter duos!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Matrix products

More Shampoo products