Stila • Stay All Day Waterproof Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.7(19 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HeatherDiva on 3/23/2014 8:33:00 PM more reviews by HeatherDiva

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow. Awful. Not only does it not "stay all day," but it doesn't even stay for a couple hours. This is the most aggressively smudgetastic mascara I have ever used, and frankly, one of the worst I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jdmcgi2 on 1/11/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara does everything I would want a mascara to do except stay all day. Which is unfortunate since stay all day is actually in the products name. I have serious smudges under my eyes within an hour and totally black raccoon eyes within three. I really don't think this is even waterproof even though it claims to be. Worst part is I love it other than the fact it doesn't stay. It applies rather wet and is so easy to build. It both lengthened and volumized my lashes and best of all it held my curl. I use djv mascara right now since it's the only one that stays on my lashes all day without smudging but it leaves a bit to be desired in the holding curl and the ability to build up your eye lahses. If this stayed all day I would purchase but since it doesn't I won't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KrystalJiang on 11/2/2013 7:13:00 AM more reviews by KrystalJiang

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Recently bought this mascara as it was recommended by the sales person at Sephora. Firstly, I have to agree with other users that this mascara takes FOREVER TO DRY!!! I think this is by far the only mascara I own to take so long to dry. Hence as a result, I have to blink my eyes really gently and if I don't, it'd ink on my skin and gets really ugly. Secondly, even though it's waterproof, it does smudge and gives me raccoon eyes at the later part of the day. So I have to look in the mirror quite often to make sure I'm free from raccoon eyes. Those two problems stated, I HAVE TO STAY THIS MASCARA'S HOLDING POWER IS AMAZING!!! It holds my curl so well, so much better than Benefit's They're Real mascara. The holding power is really 100%. I guess this is why I forgo the 2 problems stated and continue using it. Hehe. Tips: remove any excess product from the wand first before applying. It really helps :) so if you're looking for a mascara that holds your curl, this is the one for you :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Becky12 on 10/23/2013 10:22:00 PM more reviews by Becky12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

To second the other reviews, this mascara did take a considerable amount of time to dry, however, that didn't bother me too much with my short lashes that barely curl. Just had to remember not to touch my eyes too soon! It's a VERY waxy formula with a slightly sticky feel. Personally, I prefer slightly crunchy to slightly sticky. I am very, very picky about not having "spider legs" (when the mascara clings unevenly to the lash), so while this mascara did offer definition, volume, and above average length, it ultimately failed because after 2 coats I definitely saw some spider leg issues. Maybe this wouldn't bother others, but as mentioned, I'm picky- especially when I'm paying $20 for mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bebeblondie on 8/27/2013 4:06:00 PM more reviews by bebeblondie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm surprised by all the negative reviews of this mascara! I have a sample tube that I got in Sephora's 500-point-perk Stila set. Around the same time that I got this, I also had several samples of other mascaras from Lancome, Smashbox, Rituals, and some drugstore brands like Maybelline. Out of all of these mascaras that I tried, the Stila one was by far my favorite because it provided the most dramatic volumizing effect, and held my curl the best. As the other reviews have mentioned, it is quite difficult to remove (none of the other mascaras were waterproof like this one, so that at least partly accounts for this), so I only use this for special nights out, or when I'm going swimming. That said, I haven't found it to be *that* difficult to remove - I just rub some oil (whatever I have at the time - e.g., olive oil, vitamin e oil) over my lashes, wipe it off with a tissue, and then wash my face as usual. Haven't really had any problems, although as I said I probably wouldn't use this every day. In any case, I've found that this looks great when applied, and I use it when I really want my makeup to stand out. I answered 'yes' to whether I would repurchase, because I will be sad when my little sample tube runs out, although in reality I don't know if I'll be able to justify the price of this mascara (I normally purchase drugstore mascara since a tube of mascara doesn't tend to last that long before it dries out, and you're technically supposed to replace it every 3 months anyway). My previous HG mascara was Maybelline Full n Soft, and Full n Soft Waterproof, but they discontinued those sadly. Overall, I think Stila Stay All Day is a great mascara when you want a dramatic effect and when you don't mind putting in a little extra effort to wash it off at the end of the day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angiee0215 on 8/27/2013 3:22:00 PM more reviews by angiee0215

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I received this in a sephora sampler kit. I had a miniature size that lasted me the entire summer. It is a wet formula and you seriously cannot do anything while you are waiting for it to dry. If you blink or squint your eyes within a few minutes of applying it, you will end up with smudged mascara on your lower and upper lash line. Throughout the day, I found it still smudged. I wore it at my summer day camp job where we go swimming and I never fully put my head under water but I would get droplets or my mu would melt from the humidity near/around the pool. Some days, this would stay on one hundred percent and other days, it would smudge all over. It was too unpredictable for me. Then, as it started to dry out and become a more dry formula, it caused my eye lashes to clump. I will not be repurchasing. Then, at night, it would a b*tch to remove even with a waterproof eye makeup remover or cleansing oil. Never again will I buy this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AimeeNicole91 on 8/10/2013 1:23:00 AM more reviews by AimeeNicole91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I'll admit I'm a little picky about mascaras. I got this in the sephora mascara sampler and I would have to say it was my least favorite. My issue with this mascara is that it is so wet and never seems to dry. It constantly leaves marks on my eyelids and it's also a super pain to get off- I always end up loosing my eyelashes. It's looks nice but it's just not practical for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Xaephan on 8/7/2013 10:10:00 PM more reviews by Xaephan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Haaate this with a passion! The formula is super wet and the tube does a very bad job of cleaning off the excess, so a ton of formula just gloops all over my lashes and glues them all into maybe five giant spider legs. Actually, not even spider legs--this didn't give much length or volume, and didn't hold my curl at all due to the wetness. It is very waterproof though, but it's very very hard to clean and I'm pretty sure I yanked off a couple of lashes even though I was using a cleansing oil. If you have a special event on a hot/rainy day and you like wet formula, you can try this out, but you'll have to really maneuver to get good looking lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 purplerain71 on 7/19/2013 3:05:00 PM more reviews by purplerain71

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I always tried many many brands to find best mascara for my thin, short and invisible lashes. This mascara is only one I keep coming back to. I know some women don't like this mascara, but my secret is to use Urban Decay Primer for eyes then this mascara would not smudge on your lid or browbone. This mascara makes my dull looking eyes pop and eyes color more pop. This is my third purhcase. *Tip: buy Sonia K eye remover from Target, it will remove this mascara with no problem!*

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kgriggs8 on 7/17/2013 1:33:00 AM more reviews by Kgriggs8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have really long lashes, however, they are thin and straight as can be. They have been compared to cow eyelashes. Like no joke. So, as you can tell, this is a problem for me. I have tried every mascara under the sun to help my lashes hold the curl that my lash curler had so nicely created. Every single mascara I had tried weighed my lashes down and left them looking very cow-like. I tried this Stay All Day Waterproof mascara because I wanted, well, a waterproof mascara. And I'll be darned if this mascara was the answer to all of my prayers. It gave my lashes volume and HELD THE CURL. It did not give my lashes length, so if that's what you are looking for then this is probably not right for you. BUT, if you are looking for a mascara that will hold the curl of your lashes then this miracle worker in disguise will be your best friend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Mascara products