Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Mascara

3.0

23 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Isododecane, Paraffin,VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Beeswax (Cera Alba), Disteardimonium Hectorite, Pentaerythrityl Hydrogenated Rosinate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Talc, Polybutene, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Polyquatenium-7, Silica, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol May Contain ( /-) Iron Oxide (CI 77499).


on 6/26/2015 2:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I live in the Philippines where the season is only either warm or rainy so makeup here should always be waterproof/sweatproof.

I knew I got my instincts right when I read the comments on the bad wand in this mascara but I still thought I'd try it out myself because after all I love their Stay-All-Day lipstick in Beso. Indeed, the brush was the WORST. Staying power is OKAY but not the best. I still had the occasional sudden smudges on my upper lid (I wonder why?) and below my eyes for no reason at all (I don't usually touch my face) throughout the day so I have to wipe it off and check the mirror often. Also, it takes a long time to dry and when it does, it drops some tiny patches below the eye so I have to wipe it off again with a tissue (luckily my foundation is "intransferrable" a.k.a. Estee Lauder Stay in Place Liquid Foundation which is the best!). Still, I give it 3 stars because it was the best from the other waterproof mascaras I have tried (MAC, Clinique, MUFE, Smashbox, Buxom) which won't make it through lunch time.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am surprised this mascara has as bad of reviews as it does. I'm quiet in love with it. It's the first mascara I have found in along...long time that is able to withstand the AZ heat. It is a little difficult to remove, but I don't mind that. Especially considering it has no parabens!

The claims:
Waterproof and long-wearing
Plush volumizing formula
Contains a nourishing conditioning agent, coconut oil, and antioxidant-rich mango butter, which leave lashes soft, protected, smooth, and shiny
Innovative 3-d triangular brush utilizes 3 wells to dramatically load mascara onto lashes for volume, and 3 rows of combing bristles to lift, lengthen and define each lash
Paraben free

And I have to agree with everything.

My add on's to that:

Builds well
Formula isn't too wet, but doesn't dry out fast
Sets on the lashes quickly
No transferring, smudging, smearing, etc...
Easy to use and control
You can get a really natural look all the way to full on lashes
No clumping or sticky-ness

Highly Recommend


on 7/17/2014 7:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Possibly the best mascara I have ever used. Got it in the sephora holiday mascara set and didn't use it for a year and a half-- so I am guessing it was pretty dried out the first time I used it, and I guess I just preferred the formula that way. Anyways, this mascara is amazing, or at least once it is dried out it is amazing! It holds curl better than any mascara I've ever used and it never smudges. It also doesn't clump and I love that the wand is a medium size rather than a large size.

Will not repurchase because I don't like to buy high-end mascara when drugstore mascara is just as good.


on 6/18/2014 5:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This mascara was good for my use. It's holding power has been the best out of all the mascaras I have. It was a little difficult to keep my lashes from clumping during application, but I was pretty satisfied with the thickening and lengthening aspect. It can be a little messy, you just have to be extra careful not to get it all over your eyelid. I didn't have any problem with it not drying fast enough or smudging throughout the day. I might repurchase this mascara when I run out, it was pretty decent for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2014 8:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Wow. Awful. Not only does it not "stay all day," but it doesn't even stay for a couple hours. This is the most aggressively smudgetastic mascara I have ever used, and frankly, one of the worst I've tried.


on 1/11/2014 6:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This mascara does everything I would want a mascara to do except stay all day. Which is unfortunate since stay all day is actually in the products name. I have serious smudges under my eyes within an hour and totally black raccoon eyes within three. I really don't think this is even waterproof even though it claims to be. Worst part is I love it other than the fact it doesn't stay. It applies rather wet and is so easy to build. It both lengthened and volumized my lashes and best of all it held my curl. I use djv mascara right now since it's the only one that stays on my lashes all day without smudging but it leaves a bit to be desired in the holding curl and the ability to build up your eye lahses. If this stayed all day I would purchase but since it doesn't I won't.


on 11/2/2013 7:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Recently bought this mascara as it was recommended by the sales person at Sephora. Firstly, I have to agree with other users that this mascara takes FOREVER TO DRY!!! I think this is by far the only mascara I own to take so long to dry. Hence as a result, I have to blink my eyes really gently and if I don't, it'd ink on my skin and gets really ugly. Secondly, even though it's waterproof, it does smudge and gives me raccoon eyes at the later part of the day. So I have to look in the mirror quite often to make sure I'm free from raccoon eyes. Those two problems stated, I HAVE TO STAY THIS MASCARA'S HOLDING POWER IS AMAZING!!! It holds my curl so well, so much better than Benefit's They're Real mascara. The holding power is really 100%. I guess this is why I forgo the 2 problems stated and continue using it. Hehe. Tips: remove any excess product from the wand first before applying. It really helps :) so if you're looking for a mascara that holds your curl, this is the one for you :)


on 10/23/2013 10:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

To second the other reviews, this mascara did take a considerable amount of time to dry, however, that didn't bother me too much with my short lashes that barely curl. Just had to remember not to touch my eyes too soon! It's a VERY waxy formula with a slightly sticky feel. Personally, I prefer slightly crunchy to slightly sticky. I am very, very picky about not having "spider legs" (when the mascara clings unevenly to the lash), so while this mascara did offer definition, volume, and above average length, it ultimately failed because after 2 coats I definitely saw some spider leg issues. Maybe this wouldn't bother others, but as mentioned, I'm picky- especially when I'm paying $20 for mascara.


on 8/27/2013 4:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm surprised by all the negative reviews of this mascara! I have a sample tube that I got in Sephora's 500-point-perk Stila set. Around the same time that I got this, I also had several samples of other mascaras from Lancome, Smashbox, Rituals, and some drugstore brands like Maybelline. Out of all of these mascaras that I tried, the Stila one was by far my favorite because it provided the most dramatic volumizing effect, and held my curl the best. As the other reviews have mentioned, it is quite difficult to remove (none of the other mascaras were waterproof like this one, so that at least partly accounts for this), so I only use this for special nights out, or when I'm going swimming. That said, I haven't found it to be *that* difficult to remove - I just rub some oil (whatever I have at the time - e.g., olive oil, vitamin e oil) over my lashes, wipe it off with a tissue, and then wash my face as usual. Haven't really had any problems, although as I said I probably wouldn't use this every day. In any case, I've found that this looks great when applied, and I use it when I really want my makeup to stand out. I answered 'yes' to whether I would repurchase, because I will be sad when my little sample tube runs out, although in reality I don't know if I'll be able to justify the price of this mascara (I normally purchase drugstore mascara since a tube of mascara doesn't tend to last that long before it dries out, and you're technically supposed to replace it every 3 months anyway). My previous HG mascara was Maybelline Full n Soft, and Full n Soft Waterproof, but they discontinued those sadly. Overall, I think Stila Stay All Day is a great mascara when you want a dramatic effect and when you don't mind putting in a little extra effort to wash it off at the end of the day.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/27/2013 3:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I received this in a sephora sampler kit. I had a miniature size that lasted me the entire summer. It is a wet formula and you seriously cannot do anything while you are waiting for it to dry. If you blink or squint your eyes within a few minutes of applying it, you will end up with smudged mascara on your lower and upper lash line. Throughout the day, I found it still smudged. I wore it at my summer day camp job where we go swimming and I never fully put my head under water but I would get droplets or my mu would melt from the humidity near/around the pool. Some days, this would stay on one hundred percent and other days, it would smudge all over. It was too unpredictable for me. Then, as it started to dry out and become a more dry formula, it caused my eye lashes to clump. I will not be repurchasing. Then, at night, it would a b*tch to remove even with a waterproof eye makeup remover or cleansing oil. Never again will I buy this product.




Back to Top