Australis • Fresh & Flawless Pressed Powder • Powder

rated 4.3(41 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 shay1995 on 3/23/2014 1:49:00 AM more reviews by shay1995

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this product. Super, super cheap! Easy to apply and looks great I used it to set my liquid foundation and it stays on all day without looking cakey or wearing off. I would defiantly recommend this product and if you haven't already tried it I suggest you do :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LeslieBerk on 2/18/2014 12:16:00 AM more reviews by LeslieBerk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great powder. It goes on smoothly and doesn't wear off leaving you with just specks of glitter like other powders I've used. I have dry skin and I doesn't cling to my skin or look chalky in the lest. I've even used it as a foundation a few times and been pretty impressed. The bad side is the colour range. Three colours is pretty crappy. But it's cheap and it is a heap better then more expensive ones I've tried. If it had a better colour range it would be perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 akarianhuntress on 1/31/2014 11:18:00 PM more reviews by akarianhuntress

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Colour Reference: MAC NC15-NC20. I bought the shade Deep Natural.

I've bought this product before and I'm onto my second. This is a great, low-budget powder that I would recommend for anyone with normal to oily skin. The powder does mattify the skin and keep shine at bay, however I'm still looking for the ultimate shine-controlling powder. This won't be it. Dry skin gals - this will be ok as a setting powder but if you use this as a foundation the powder will catch onto dry skin and since it is a powder, you may get a tight feeling on the skin.
The powder comes in three colours, one for fair skin, one for light-medium skin and one for well, medium skin. The shades are neutral in colour, so I can't use this powder as a full foundation without it contrasting against my olive skin tone.
The coverage is definitely buildable. One layer with a kabuki brush gives me light-medium coverage. It doesn't really get past heavy medium coverage.
You can definitely use this powder wet and it won't ruin the product. This gives a sheerer coverage and satin finish to the skin.
Overall, I think this is a very good product, very budget friendly and I can definitely see why other MUA users enjoy this so much!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cath12 on 1/8/2014 2:45:00 AM more reviews by Cath12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this as finishing powder with good success but I've been reading that others were using this as a foundation so I road tested it along side the Australis Fresh and Flawless liquid foundation. As an all over foundation the winner was the liquid version as I found the powder to be a little too dry looking for my taste. Both wore very well though with no oil seep through.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* IrynaHarpy on 12/18/2013 12:04:00 AM more reviews by IrynaHarpy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've noticed that only one other mature-aged woman has written a review on this. I'm 54, while she's in the 56+ age group. If you've been using makeup for as long as we have, I suggest you read her review: I absolutely agree with her.

I was just in a hurry to grab a compact for touch-ups and a sweet lass in Priceline said that a lot of women were swearing by it. I'm sick of paying ridiculous amounts of money for HE brands that are all so-so. I'm actually surprised that so many of the reviews are glowing and wonder how long they've used the product.

I don't write reviews on first impressions. It was adequate, so I used it for about a week before I started developing horrible pimples. No, they weren't just pimples, they were deep-seated abscesses I had to get antibiotic gel from my doctor to get rid of. It took about 2 months for them to disappear. Considering that I hadn't changed any of my skincare routine or any other cosmetics, this stuff is the only possible culprit.

Perhaps younger skin is somehow more forgiving of the cheap nasties to make this product (check the ingredients list against EWG org or the GoodGuide) but, for me, it was a 'bin it without regrets' product.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vladmyra on 12/7/2013 11:54:00 PM more reviews by vladmyra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have tried a lifetime's worth of powders by now, including quite a lot of expensive supposedly superior ones. I keep coming back to this one- it is without a doubt the best powder I've ever used. It creates a beautiful, smooth, lasting matte look (I don't ever reapply throughout the day). It doesn't break me out and goes on smoothly with great powder coverage. Its unbelievably great value for money in Australia, where we are constantly being ripped off compared to most other countries with the price of makeup (and everything else too).
The one complaint I have is, as others here have stated, that this only comes in 3 colours. I have pale, creamy neutral to slightly pinkish toned skin and the lightest shade "natural" is too dark for me by several shades. However I have found the same problem with almost every single powder I've ever bought from an Australian store- obviously the makeup powers that be don't believe we have any light skinned women here. It's a huge problem for me, and I really resent it. But when you find a powder as good as this you don't let that stop you, so I attempt to lighten it a bit by using a little very pale mineral powder over the top of it (which, by the way I had to buy overseas to get it in a pale shade).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kayci21 on 12/5/2013 6:34:00 AM more reviews by kayci21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is okay - I don't hate it but I don't love it either.

Colour - I have it in the shades "Natural" and "Deep Natural". When I tested them out on my hand in the store, there really didn't seem to be much difference between these two. But then when I tried them on later, I found that Natural was closer to my skintone, if not a shade too light. Deep Natural is about two shades too dark for me and looks a bit orange-y when I layer it on.

I've never used this as a foundation. I use it usually as a concealer or as setting powder. As a concealer, it's alright. Since the shade "Natural" is too light for me, it doesn't really provide much coverage, but on the other hand, since "Deep Natural" is too dark, it makes my skin look orange, so I like to mix the two.

The major plus side is that this doesn't seem to break me out. I actually even noticed at times after I'd worn it that it seemed to help remove some small blemishes. Since I wasn't sure if this was the powder's doing, I looked on the Australis website for more information on ingredients and found that it contains some things that are meant to help get rid of blemishes. Though in my experience, it only works on small ones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 courtney771 on 12/3/2013 8:28:00 PM more reviews by courtney771

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I used mac studio fix for years until a friend introduced me to this! Absolutely amazing, great coverage and you can't go wrong with $10 for a pressed powder compared to $35 + for mac. It's a 100% dupe! I actually prefer this powder to mac :) never breaks me out either, please never stop selling this Australis!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tashab17 on 11/26/2013 6:15:00 AM more reviews by tashab17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I love this powder so much.

- It lasts all day.
- It is such a great price.
- My skin does not freak out.
- Gives you flawless looking skin.

Amazing. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blushhour on 11/11/2013 1:21:00 AM more reviews by blushhour

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've worked in cosmetics for 10years and have tried a lot of powders. Awesome powder. Adds coverage. Better coverage than Napoleon camera finish and in my opinion looks better in photos. Very affordable yet high quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Australis products

More Powder products