Olay • Total Effects Tone Correcting "CC" Cream • BB Cream

rated 2.4(44 reviews)

Average Rating.2.4
Would buy this product again.29%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Dotsie1 on 10/23/2014 4:57:00 PM more reviews by Dotsie1

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This product is causing atopic dermatitis for me. I develop itchy, red flaky patches and even with Rx hydrocortisone and Aquaphor it takes several days for this to clear up. I have never had a reaction like this to any product. In the trash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lcastro on 7/25/2014 7:30:00 AM more reviews by lcastro

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I actually like the way this product goes on my skin. It is light and natural and seems to be all the coverage I need. However, I've been using it for several weeks and my skin has been breaking out (it hasn't broke out in 20 years). At first, I thought it was coincidence and was due to the summer, but it is getting bad and after looking at other reviews, I think it is the product. I am going to stop using it immediately and will let folks know if my skin clears up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xojamie0923 on 7/1/2014 9:51:00 PM more reviews by xojamie0923

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This product does nothing. Literally looks like I didn't even apply anything. What a waste of $23

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jhollieb on 5/26/2014 3:02:00 PM more reviews by jhollieb

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I normally only look at reviews for products I am thinking of trying. In this case, this is a product I have used for at least two years, both under its previous name a different line of Olay and without the CC cream in the name) and the newer incarnation. I also normally don't write reviews. But here my experience is so different from the norm

I love this product. I am over 50 and anything else I try, whether BB cream, CC cream or foundation, settles into my fine lines, accentuating them. They make me look older. I keep trying to find something with a little more coverage for certain occasions, but keep reaching the same bad result.

I use this product over a little argon oil and it blends smoothly. I don't notice any change in appearance throughout the day.

My only problem with the packaging is that it is not environmentally friendly, a problem with most packaging, whether for makeup or other.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Chas2761 on 5/2/2014 11:43:00 AM more reviews by Chas2761

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really don't like ths product. Dosent blend well at all. I can't say anything good about this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 YourMajesty on 4/15/2014 2:19:00 PM more reviews by YourMajesty

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I used to use this product when it was called Tone Correcting Moisturizer (no "CC", no "7 in 1") before it was re-formulated to "7 in 1 CC Cream". It was easy to use, had just the right amount of buildable coverage, and blended into my skin perfectly (light to medium). Best of all, it did not irritate my skin. When I opted instead to use a foundation with a bit more coverage (L'Oreal True Match), I stopped buying it for a while.

Last week, I bought what I thought was the same Olay product I had liked before--it looked the same in the bottle, with a little bit different wording on the label. I didn't think it would be so different, but this time, it felt much "goopier" going on. The product gave me a red rash everywhere I had applied it. I had used it a couple of times before I figured out that it was the Olay (duh). Of course, I stopped using it, and a day or two later, my skin began to flake and peel. Not nice! It isn't an expensive product, but I felt ripped off all the same. I think I will contact Olay and tell them why I won't buy their products again: they cannot be trusted!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fleurne on 3/30/2014 3:35:00 AM more reviews by fleurne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Got this at Costco when it was in a pack of 2 for $25. It's alright, the colour correction is very subtle. Like the SPF though. I only use these on casual days when I just want a little bit of cover up and hiding my redness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 xina08 on 2/27/2014 1:40:00 PM more reviews by xina08

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I wanted to like this because of the "all-in-one" concept - a moisturizer, a touch of color, SPF 15, etc. I like the bottle, nice and small. But when you put it on, it feels kind of greesy at first, till it dries, and you can build the color up (which was nice for me "light to medium"). However, the problem with this lotion is that the colour smears off easily. It doesn't seem to want to bind to your face! It could be hours later, you think it has dried, and it still smears off. Very disappointed. This is why I only gave it a two - it has potential, if only the stuff stayed on your face!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MonsterMeow on 2/19/2014 3:38:00 AM more reviews by MonsterMeow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Well. This isn't as bad as the others say it is but in fact it's really good. It does what it says: Tone Correcting, but it only lasts for a few days.
It doesn't smell like anything and it gives a medium level of coverage (still doesn't cover all my acne) so maybe you'll need some concealer to give it more coverage.
During the day it DOES turn a little pinkish but hardly noticeable since I got powder on top.
Hope this helps!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KimA219 on 2/12/2014 1:42:00 PM more reviews by KimA219

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have never had such a harsh reaction to a product before. I bought this cream after believing the hype. I used it on a Monday morning, applying it to my face, neck and upper chest. (Lets face it, we all want our skin to look its best, not just our face). I figured since it has the sunscreen, it would be a good way to help my skin, not only on my face.
The next morning I found the area on my neck and upper chest was red, inflamed and looked like I had a major sunburn. Thank goodness I didn't have the same reaction on my face! It was truly horrible. I had to go and ask a doctor what I could do to alleviate the rash covering my neck and chest, and I ended up having to take Benedryl and use a cortisone cream. I'm still suffering with this rash 48 hours later.
It gets worse. I call the 800 customer line and explained my situation. For no other reason than to let them know. I was told that the directions on the package only state to use on the face and since I used it on my neck and upper chest, they feel that I mis-used the product! However, in their opinion, I could continue to use the cream on my face only because I did not get a rash on my face. WHAT!? I have a bright red rash on my neck and its suggested that I continue to use the product?? Truly inexcusable. I have since returned the product to the pharmacy and received a refund. I have warned all my friends about this product and I will NEVER use it again.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More BB Cream products