Tokyo Milk • Dark Lip Elixir in Salted Caramel • Lip Treatments

rated 3.4(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 vagabondking on 9/2/2014 10:39:00 AM more reviews by vagabondking

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

apparently a lot of people have had trouble with opening this little sucker, but i had no problems at all (though i have to agree that tins tend to be unreliable). that being said, i love this lip balm.

a friend of mine had raved about the TokyoMilk Dark lip elixirs, and i'm a bit of a lip product junkie, so when i saw them available at the Sephora in Fairview Mall, i decided to pick it up. when i looked at the ingredients list, i have to admit that i was not too excited to see petrolatum as the first ingredient (simply because petrolatum products tend to be too slippery for me to be a substantial balm ~ with the exception of Aquaphor) but decided to give it a go anyway to satisfy my curiosity (and because i could always return it if i really didn't like it). boy am i glad i decided to go for it.

i had expected it to be like Smith's Rosebud Salve (which is one of those products i don't really get the hype for, because it's simply glorified rose-scented Vaseline to me), but was pleasantly surprised that it is definitely a more substantial lip balm. it goes on smooth and rich across my lips and doesn't just rub or slide right off, and (it might just be me) my lips appear pinker and plumper. not only is it a great occlusive, but it's an excellent emollient as well and makes my lips so soft and supple. while the scent is more syrup than caramel, i don't find it unpleasant. i'm thinking of trying La Vie en Rose next (or Clove Cigarette, if i can find it).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AmandaHope17 on 3/12/2014 10:59:00 PM more reviews by AmandaHope17

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

HOLY SH*T. I don't know if I got a defective tin or something but it literally took three strong men and a screwdriver to get the damn thing open. I had been lemming the Salted Caramel forever and was so excited when it arrived from Sephora. Cut to me an hour later, still clawing at the container. I had to take it to work and get some co-workers to take a run at it. Finally, they managed to pry it open with the aforementioned screwdriver. So even if it contained liquid nirvana and instant oneness with the Universe, I would not order this again. Sadly, I also ordered the Coco Noir flavor. Have not yet worked up the nerve to even try to open it.

That said, it's a good little balm and you get quite a bit of it for a fair price. As others have noted, it's basically scented, flavored Vaseline. It does taste quite a bit like salted caramel, right down to the salty note. However, it smells exactly like pancake syrup to me instead of caramel. I feel like I'm in the middle of IHOP when I wear it. Gorgeous tin - looks great on my desk. (I keep it half open now lest it get locked shut again.)

If this had been expensive, I'd send it back on sheer principle due to the ghastly experience of trying to pry it open. As it is, I'll use it up but will NOT be re-purchasing. Disappointed but wiser, I guess.

UPDATED:
Okay, so it must have been a mutant tin because the Coco Noir just popped right open. That's the good news. The bad news is that - while it tastes lovely, just like maraschino cherries -- it smells atrocious. The Coco aspect (AKA chocolate note) is extremely overpowering and smells exactly like a Dollar Tree "chocolate" candle. The smell is so bad that I am going to take this one back to my local Sephora. Argh! I SO wanted to love these.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinkerbellonCrack on 1/30/2014 5:08:00 PM more reviews by TinkerbellonCrack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT 8.1.14: I actually love this as a night treatment. It sinks into the lips gradually, leaving them nicely hydrated by the time you wake up. My sister has complained that this smells like IHOP and now that is kind of all I can smell. I recommend selecting a different fragrance from this line, I will try the clove cigarette one next.

This is a strange product. I purchased this in the little set from Sephora. The lip balm's scent is incredibly strong. I could smell it through the plastic wrapper. The black tin is very beautiful, but I have never been a fan of tinned balms. It can be a little tricky to open. The product itself definitely has the texture of a sticky Vaseline. It goes on clear and doesn't really glide on or sink into the lips quickly. That being said, I do really like this as my nighttime lip balm. It leaves my lips velvety and supple. As far as the fragrance goes, it does smell like salted caramel, but in a very saturated way. I think I would repurchase this product in the clove cigarette next time. If you are a lover of sexy black packaging, this may be worth buying but otherwise, it's not a must-try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mccarla on 10/15/2013 4:13:00 PM more reviews by mccarla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was so excited to try this, and ultimately bought Coco Noir because I liked the idea of maraschino cherries with dark rum. As other reviewers have mentioned, it does have a semi-strong scent when open, but I don't find it overpowering once the tin is closed. I'm able to keep this in my purse without the scent permeating everything in the bag.

The tin itself is pretty and rather decadent-looking. The lid fits securely, but not so snug that I'm having to pry it off with fingernails or flatware. The tin is roughly the same size as the wildly popular rose salve, and I only have to repurchase those every couple of years, so I anticipate that the balm will last a good while.

As far as wear, I find it comfortable for the first few minutes, but then it becomes waxy verging on sticky. I can't genuinely say whether it's moisturizing or not, because after 15-20 minutes, I can't stand the texture and wipe it off.

Overall, this was a huge disappointment, and I won't be repurchasing. The only reason I haven't thrown it out is because I like the packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Carmen0 on 6/21/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by Carmen0

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a set from Sephora. At first I was thrown off by the scent, it's pretty strong and very accurate, salted Carmel. It's slightly sweet tasting but nothing that would encourage licking it off. The moisture! This is diffinitly a fav. It's non greasy, not sticky or glossy. I don't usually like balms in pots but this is the exception.. Love it will buy it again. EXCEPT!!!! The Coco Noir.. That smelled so god awful

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChaChaHeels83 on 3/28/2013 4:37:00 AM more reviews by ChaChaHeels83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm addicted to this balm. It's matte, sweet tasting because of the stevia, and the smells are amazing. Salted caramel is my ultimate holy grail, but I bought the rose, and the cocoa noir. I liked them all, but they are ALL very heavy and unique smells just like the tokyo milk perfumes. The salted caramel smells just like it sounds... The rose kind of old- timey floral with a fruity base. It's weird, but I heard someone on a review describe it as reminding them of a vintage showgirls dressing room... What a perfect description! The cocoa smells like thick chocolate, but wears with a cherry base. It smells so strong I have to store it alone and my dresser smells of it, which isn't such a bad thing... But it is potent. I will be restocking on these, but probably won't be trying any of the other flavors.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kashagroll on 3/25/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by kashagroll

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I am very thrilled with my Salted Caramel lip elixir by Tokyo Milk Dark. It smells like salty caramel and has a general sweet flavor. It is petrolatum based, so it is fairly soft and very moisturizing. I did not have any trouble opening the pretty tin that it is in. It is the same size as my tin of rose's lip salve, which has lasted forever. I think this new lip treatment will be used up faster since the scent and texture are so wonderful. The product does not have any color and appears slightly shiny on the lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SUPAtime on 12/27/2012 5:26:00 PM more reviews by SUPAtime

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not a bad lip balm but not that great either. For reference my favorite lip balms are Korres Lip Butter, Neosporin Overnight Lip Treatment, and Qtica.

This lip balm doesn't feel very moisturizing and it has an unpleasant waxy quality when I rub my lips together. The scent is strong and caramel like... it's ok I guess. I just don't like the texture of this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TaniaRides on 11/16/2012 2:19:00 PM more reviews by TaniaRides

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really think that this product is awful. I mostly bought it because of the look of the black tin and figured that I can always use more lip balm. I also liked the idea of an exotic salted caramel flavor. Unfortunately, both the tin and the balm have been a letdown. The tin is a flimsy, sharp metal that started sticking shut after the first time I opened it. I've actually cut myself on the sharp metal lid and I now have to use a butterknife whenever I want to pry the tin open, which just doesn't seem safe. You can easily crush the tin in your hands, that's how thin the metal is. The balm itself kind of reminds me of Vaseline, only it's really sticky and doesn't feel moisturizing to me. The flavor/scent is also a huge letdown. I don't think that it really smells like caramel, and definitely not a salted caramel. It just has a waxy, vague sweetness to it.
I love so many of Margot Elena's products and fragrances, but I'm ready to just pitch this tin in the garbage. It doesn't even manage to look attractive on my dressing table these days, because it's like the balm inside is melting and leaking out of the package. Messy and all around just a huge letdown.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EmbalmerBabe on 11/9/2012 12:07:00 AM more reviews by EmbalmerBabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased two of these on Sephora.com the second flavor being Cherry Bourbon. I should have read the ingredient list, the first ingredient is petroleum and i'm not a fan of that in my personal care products. I expected a petrol free natural lip balm. It smells and tastes great, however I will not be re-purchasing.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tokyo Milk products

More Lip Treatments products