Tokyo Milk Dark Lip Elixir in Salted Caramel

3.2

15 reviews

46% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 2.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/23/2015 12:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this. The packaging is gorgeous, if impractical, and the balm itself smells luscious. However, I'm not in love with the formula. The balm is a bit dry and waxy, and doesn't do anything for my lips!



on 1/31/2015 10:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Omg this made me so nauseas!!! I don't know what I was thinking because I usually only use mint or plain balms! This made me so sick because it is so strong smelling ! I have the Tokyo Milk Bon Bon lip balm in rose water and it I like it a million times better than this. I don't know if it was just this particular scent but it was gross and I will probably end up giving this away or tossing it.


on 10/15/2014 8:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I'd love to give a review, but I can't get the tin open.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/7/2014 8:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this on a whim as I was checking out at Sephora (those little boxes by the cash really do work). I'm a bit addicted to lip balms, so I was quite excited to give this a try! I've been wearing it to bed for the past few weeks and I must say I am very impressed. I usually just put Vaseline on my lips at night, and then some kind of stick balm during the day. I like how this stuff is a bit stiffer than just plain Vaseline, which is obviously quite slippery. It both moisturizes and protects, and I feel like I have noticed a difference in my lips over the time I've been using it. Others have said that the flavour is too syrup-like for them, but I have to disagree; while it is definitely a very sweet scent, I'd liken it more to caramel corn than fake syrup. There is a definite buttery undertone to the smell, and it doesn't last too terribly long once you've put it on. The packaging looks lovely, but I will note that I am generally not a fan of tinned products because, like others, I don't like the idea of contaminating my pot. While it is kind of pricey for just a lip balm, you get a TON of product, so I feel like I've gotten my money's worth.


on 9/2/2014 10:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

apparently a lot of people have had trouble with opening this little sucker, but i had no problems at all (though i have to agree that tins tend to be unreliable). that being said, i love this lip balm.

a friend of mine had raved about the TokyoMilk Dark lip elixirs, and i'm a bit of a lip product junkie, so when i saw them available at the Sephora in Fairview Mall, i decided to pick it up. when i looked at the ingredients list, i have to admit that i was not too excited to see petrolatum as the first ingredient (simply because petrolatum products tend to be too slippery for me to be a substantial balm ~ with the exception of Aquaphor) but decided to give it a go anyway to satisfy my curiosity (and because i could always return it if i really didn't like it). boy am i glad i decided to go for it.

i had expected it to be like Smith's Rosebud Salve (which is one of those products i don't really get the hype for, because it's simply glorified rose-scented Vaseline to me), but was pleasantly surprised that it is definitely a more substantial lip balm. it goes on smooth and rich across my lips and doesn't just rub or slide right off, and (it might just be me) my lips appear pinker and plumper. not only is it a great occlusive, but it's an excellent emollient as well and makes my lips so soft and supple. while the scent is more syrup than caramel, i don't find it unpleasant. i'm thinking of trying La Vie en Rose next (or Clove Cigarette, if i can find it).


on 3/12/2014 10:59:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

HOLY SH*T. I don't know if I got a defective tin or something but it literally took three strong men and a screwdriver to get the damn thing open. I had been lemming the Salted Caramel forever and was so excited when it arrived from Sephora. Cut to me an hour later, still clawing at the container. I had to take it to work and get some co-workers to take a run at it. Finally, they managed to pry it open with the aforementioned screwdriver. So even if it contained liquid nirvana and instant oneness with the Universe, I would not order this again. Sadly, I also ordered the Coco Noir flavor. Have not yet worked up the nerve to even try to open it.

That said, it's a good little balm and you get quite a bit of it for a fair price. As others have noted, it's basically scented, flavored Vaseline. It does taste quite a bit like salted caramel, right down to the salty note. However, it smells exactly like pancake syrup to me instead of caramel. I feel like I'm in the middle of IHOP when I wear it. Gorgeous tin - looks great on my desk. (I keep it half open now lest it get locked shut again.)

If this had been expensive, I'd send it back on sheer principle due to the ghastly experience of trying to pry it open. As it is, I'll use it up but will NOT be re-purchasing. Disappointed but wiser, I guess.

UPDATED:
Okay, so it must have been a mutant tin because the Coco Noir just popped right open. That's the good news. The bad news is that - while it tastes lovely, just like maraschino cherries -- it smells atrocious. The Coco aspect (AKA chocolate note) is extremely overpowering and smells exactly like a Dollar Tree "chocolate" candle. The smell is so bad that I am going to take this one back to my local Sephora. Argh! I SO wanted to love these.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2014 5:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown


EDIT 8.1.14: I have inexplicably developed an allergy to this balm. My lips become bumpy and puffy after wearing this. I have never had a topical skin reaction to any product in my life, no clue what is triggering it, but thought I would share in case others had a similar experience.

This is a strange product. I purchased this in the little set from Sephora. The lip balm's scent is incredibly strong. I could smell it through the plastic wrapper. The black tin is very beautiful, but I have never been a fan of tinned balms. It can be a little tricky to open. The product itself definitely has the texture of a sticky Vaseline. It goes on clear and doesn't really glide on or sink into the lips quickly. That being said, I do really like this as my nighttime lip balm. It leaves my lips velvety and supple. As far as the fragrance goes, it does smell like salted caramel, but in a very saturated way. I think I would repurchase this product in the clove cigarette next time. If you are a lover of sexy black packaging, this may be worth buying but otherwise, it's not a must-try.


on 10/15/2013 4:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I was so excited to try this, and ultimately bought Coco Noir because I liked the idea of maraschino cherries with dark rum. As other reviewers have mentioned, it does have a semi-strong scent when open, but I don't find it overpowering once the tin is closed. I'm able to keep this in my purse without the scent permeating everything in the bag.

The tin itself is pretty and rather decadent-looking. The lid fits securely, but not so snug that I'm having to pry it off with fingernails or flatware. The tin is roughly the same size as the wildly popular rose salve, and I only have to repurchase those every couple of years, so I anticipate that the balm will last a good while.

As far as wear, I find it comfortable for the first few minutes, but then it becomes waxy verging on sticky. I can't genuinely say whether it's moisturizing or not, because after 15-20 minutes, I can't stand the texture and wipe it off.

Overall, this was a huge disappointment, and I won't be repurchasing. The only reason I haven't thrown it out is because I like the packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/21/2013 10:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this in a set from Sephora. At first I was thrown off by the scent, it's pretty strong and very accurate, salted Carmel. It's slightly sweet tasting but nothing that would encourage licking it off. The moisture! This is diffinitly a fav. It's non greasy, not sticky or glossy. I don't usually like balms in pots but this is the exception.. Love it will buy it again. EXCEPT!!!! The Coco Noir.. That smelled so god awful

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm addicted to this balm. It's matte, sweet tasting because of the stevia, and the smells are amazing. Salted caramel is my ultimate holy grail, but I bought the rose, and the cocoa noir. I liked them all, but they are ALL very heavy and unique smells just like the tokyo milk perfumes. The salted caramel smells just like it sounds... The rose kind of old- timey floral with a fruity base. It's weird, but I heard someone on a review describe it as reminding them of a vintage showgirls dressing room... What a perfect description! The cocoa smells like thick chocolate, but wears with a cherry base. It smells so strong I have to store it alone and my dresser smells of it, which isn't such a bad thing... But it is potent. I will be restocking on these, but probably won't be trying any of the other flavors.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
1481 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
3593 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
172 Reviews


Back to Top