Aquolina • Gold Sugar • Fragrances

rated 3.9(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 suestew2 on 8/5/2014 8:30:00 PM more reviews by suestew2

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am a big fan of Prada Candy and thought that this couldn't possibly be a viable rival for such a smaller price. But you know, it really is. It does have a somewhat sharper opening, but oh, my goodness, the dry down is delicious, warm caramel -- in this case, listed as "creme brulee."

What's incredible is the strength an longevity, given that this is an EDT. It outshines Prada Candy in that respect, which is an EDP.

Like Prada Candy, the sweet factor is not overdone here. It is a lovely, cozy fragrance. Two or three judiciously placed spritzes is all you need.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 6/11/2014 8:58:00 PM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

My husband bought me this for Christmas, just getting around to writing a review now. He very rarely buys fragrance for me, but happened to be in Ulta when I tried this out, and he knows I love Pink Sugar. So it was a nice surprise to get it as a gift.

I am terrible at describing fragrance, so I won't give it too much of a try. I admire how some people can give a detailed description, but I can't. I just know I like it. It's sweet and definitely has a lot of vanilla going on, but is not just vanilla. I enjoy wearing it, and have had some compliments while wearing it. It is not a sophisticated fragrance, so if that is your thing, then this probably wouldn't be for you. I'm a 50 year old who likes Britney Spears Fantasy, so that should tell you a thing or two! :)

It's simple and pretty, and I like it a lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lipglossjunkee on 6/11/2014 8:25:00 PM more reviews by lipglossjunkee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Let me start by saying: I LOVE sweet scents. I do. I wanted to love this one so much. I enjoy both Pink and Blue Sugar, and with the coconut angle on this one, I thought "Bingo! Winner!"

Well...the opening is A LOT of artificial really really heavily sweet coconut and sugar. I think the faux coconut note is what caused my headache. :(

I got no neroli in the opening, but I do get the strong lemon sugar (similar to Pink Sugar) and I was ok with that. I prefer the lemon sugar goodness of Al-Rehab Soft for that particular type of scent. As for the Creme Brulee...yes, I caught whiffs of that, which was very nice, but it is much better done with Britney's Curious In Control.

All in all, the faux coconut is what really killed it for me. The drydown is sweet and fairly tenacious...and it is VERY lovely at the base, but I will not be purchasing a full bottle of this. Your mileage may vary, this might be just the sweet coconutty dessert fragrance you're looking for. They have it billed as an 'oriental vanilla'--no, don't let that fool you. This is full on gourmand.
(crosspost)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kahou79 on 6/4/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by kahou79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a coconutty summer scent and this was real cheap on ebay so I did a blind buy. I really enjoy pink sugar so I figured I would like this one too for I really enjoy foody fragrances. This didn't disappoint at all! So yummy and it reminds me of coconut cream pie with extra whipped creme. I love this for summer and it also has great sillage, like pink sugar. I even like this more than the pink for it's a bit less sweet and has a warmer scent. This will be one of my summer staples!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TinkerbellonCrack on 5/6/2014 2:35:00 PM more reviews by TinkerbellonCrack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was a blind buy for me. Gold Sugar sounded like a true gourmand delight and once I saw it compared to YSL Cinema on Fragrantica, I was sold. Gold Sugar bears no resemblance to her older sister, Pink Sugar. I get a lot of coconut and creamy sugar in the opening. After a few moments, it is reminiscent of a much creamier, more vanillic version of B&BW Coconut Lime Verbena. The coconut stays very sweet throughout. I wasn't a huge fan of the opening, but the drydown was absolutely heavenly. It is the perfect creamy marshmallow scent and I couldn't stop sniffing my wrist. You definitely need to enjoy sugary-sweet fragrances to like this one; I could see some finding the initial burst too sweet. That said, the longevity is terrible. It's shocking that an EDT lasts only an hour or two. I will probably seek out JLo Miami Glow next time I want a tropical gourmand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BeautySleep9 on 3/3/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by BeautySleep9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Such amazing potential!! I bought Gold Sugar unsniffed because I like both Pink and Blue Sugar. Shouldn't have done that. Don't like the opening at all.. although I can smell, in the background, a BEAUTIFUL elegant sandalwood coconut vanilla that doesn't smell like suntan lotion (something I've been looking for) ....BUT there is something that ruins the whole thing for me and I think it might be the creme and the creme brle, or the creme/orange mix. It just smells off to me. It does get a lot better in the dry down and it did inspire my first review here at Makeupalley, in hopes that someone from Aquolina will read this review and think about making the perfect sensual warm close to the skin, coconut/vanilla/musky/woody fragrance that doesn't smell like Banana Boat tanning lotion. It's not too bad but I would def say smell before you buy.

EDIT* to say I'm pretty sure now that it's the powdered creamy orange aspect that turns me off to this. You know how they have lavender baby powder or vanilla? This smells like orange baby powder layered over one of those old school cold creams to me. I do still love the dry down tho.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kellergirl on 3/3/2014 12:46:00 PM more reviews by Kellergirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Just sickeningly awful. I sprayed this, and it immediately gave me a haedache and made me nauseous. I didn't think anything could be worse than Pink Sugar, but this is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/5/2014 6:12:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

OMG I love this scent! I wanted to try Pink Sugar (the original) and was put off by the overtly sweet smell (caramel I think) and saw this at the last minute. I thought, "meh betting it's no different." WOW. THIS is exactly what I was hoping for in the original.
It is very vanilla, very sexy, very warm, and sensual. This is no "cheap" scent either, it is very nice. I don't have anything like it in my collection either.
I have a hard time with some notes because they never show themselves on me, and tend to go after scents with sandalwood and amber in them to notice the notes more.
This scent is very delicious but not in an annoying way. It makes me feel very cozy and comfortable. It has good staying power, my first time I tried it on it lasted well over 8 hours. Since then it has lasted 6-8 hours or more with the lingering vanilla note and sandalwood.
On me it smells like creamy vanilla with a warm woody note. I can smell the coconut but its subtle. I don't smell the citrus on myself, but I do smell the neroli & musk. There is a very slight floral note in here but I cannot identify it. It is not sweet or cloying & I think anyone could wear this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 12/27/2013 10:03:00 AM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A few mua'ers are fans of this particular Aquolina scent and recommended it. I like warm heavy vanilla/musk winter scents and this is currently on sale at Ulta 1 oz for $17 so I had to try it out. This is a sweet scent but not as sweet and sticky as Pink Sugar. Gold Sugar has more of a woody base rather than a cotton candy & caramel one. On me, the predominant notes is creme brulee and musk. The citrus is there but is in the background.

I hardly wear fragrances due to the problem of most inducing headaches. However, Gold Sugar doesn't do that. I find this scent comforting, calming, pretty and delicious. I don't get that typical Aquolina "hussy" vibe from this particular scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clarissa90 on 10/17/2013 6:49:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I had very high hopes for this fragrance. I really like the vanilla/creme brulee scent, although Gold Sugar has a very strong orange note to it. I really felt like I had to work with this fragrance or try to overlook to orange note to it. I have been looking for a cupcake vanilla type scent for quite some time now and this doesn't seem to be what I was looking for. I also found that the scent could be cloying at times, similar Pink Sugar. Maybe next time, Aquolina. I will not purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aquolina products

More Fragrances products