Essie • Butler Please • Polishes

rated 2.3(71 reviews)

Average Rating.2.3
Would buy this product again.23%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 polishedheadtotoe on 11/9/2014 6:59:00 PM more reviews by polishedheadtotoe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was very excited when I found this at my Shopper's. Yet when I looked at the bottle, it seemed separated and the color was foggy and greyish- not the bright bold hue online. Still I bought it. Took two coats for opacity and still streaky, thick yet somehow sheer. I think I purchased a bad bottle! Packaging the usual embossed glass essie bottle

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HighPriestess on 11/7/2014 2:00:00 AM more reviews by HighPriestess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A real "clunker" shade formula-wise for Essie...unlike most of their super-smooth, thin formulations, this one starts out thick and applies unevenly.

Definitely not what I am used to from the brand! Kind of a shame--it's a beautiful bright-cobalt blue, no gloss. Next!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CatG68 on 11/4/2014 11:33:00 PM more reviews by CatG68

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love the colour but it's literally the worst formula I've ever used. It's goopy, uneven, and chips like no other. Don't buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missvelveteen on 9/13/2014 12:32:00 PM more reviews by missvelveteen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I kept seeing this polish every time I went to Target, so I finally bought it. This is my first Essie polish and my first venture into brights. I love the color in the bottle, but on my fingers it looks cheap and tacky, like something a teen would wear. It goes on streaky and thick, despite feeling very liquid when you apply. I made quite a mess trying to apply it and have to re-do a couple of fingers. I wouldn't by this polish again, and will probably save it to wear on my toes next summer, especially since my boyfriend keeps complimenting the color. I'll try Essie again but make sure to research specific shades before buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 floramaiden on 7/18/2014 5:37:00 AM more reviews by floramaiden

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Beautiful polish- Definitely a favourite of mine. It's a bright, almost electric cobalt blue. Darker in some lights and lighter in others, it's definitely a chameleon polish. I painted my nails with this colour on Tuesday night, it's now Friday and it's only starting to chip now, and I type a lot at work, so I can usually only get two days out of a manicure. It does go on streaky, but after 3 coats it's opaque and thick. It dries to a lovely semi-matte finish, which I love, mattes are always a plus for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mzciciness129 on 6/25/2014 9:52:00 PM more reviews by mzciciness129

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE THIS COLOR!!! <3 the formula is kinda iffy to work with but the color is worth it. i just painted it on my nails and i cant stop looking at my hands

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sparkle506 on 6/10/2014 5:47:00 PM more reviews by sparkle506

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Lots of people do not like this polish, they review that it has a terrible formula. However, I feel it isn't the worst formula. You just need to understand it has a semi matte finished, similar to essie haute as hello expect it dries even faster than that. Using one thin, letting it dry and a thicker coat makes this polish pretty nice. You need to be careful when applying but its not the worst. Love this colour! As like any essie polish Ilike the brush, probably because I have smaller nail beds and I find other polishes with larger brushes diffcult to apply. Maybe that's why I keep on coming back to essie. Again I would recommend but I find even if essie has a more difficult formula, its not terrible and I can work with it especially for the colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jencompras87 on 6/6/2014 6:19:00 PM more reviews by jencompras87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pacific Blue is 10 times better then this, last wayyyy longer than this and is cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 McEllen on 5/2/2014 7:49:00 PM more reviews by McEllen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This color is awesome. I didn't have a problem with application like other reviews. Hm. 2 coats and solid coverage. Love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nolagranola on 3/24/2014 6:34:00 PM more reviews by nolagranola

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Out of all of the nail polish I own, this has the worst consistency. But, because the color is so freakin' awesome and I'm a glutton for punishment, I slog through the polish application process and in the end, have some pretty happenin' nails. The smell isn't bad at all compared to other "vibrant blue" polishes. Tips: I use a couple of SV Restore drops every few or so uses, apply ~3 thin coats, apply a coat of Zoya Armor, followed by a coat of SV fast dry top coat. The last two tips really help reduce tip shrink and I can go a whole week of wear with no chips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products