Essie • Butler Please • Polishes

rated 2.2(62 reviews)

Average Rating.2.2
Would buy this product again.20%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 nolagranola on 3/24/2014 6:34:00 PM more reviews by nolagranola

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Out of all of the nail polish I own, this has the worst consistency. But, because the color is so freakin' awesome and I'm a glutton for punishment, I slog through the polish application process and in the end, have some pretty happenin' nails. The smell isn't bad at all compared to other "vibrant blue" polishes. Tips: I use a couple of SV Restore drops every few or so uses, apply ~3 thin coats, apply a coat of Zoya Armor, followed by a coat of SV fast dry top coat. The last two tips really help reduce tip shrink and I can go a whole week of wear with no chips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 vic21 on 2/12/2014 9:29:00 AM more reviews by vic21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was excited about receiving this polish as I adore vibrantly coloured nail polishes. All I can say is what a disappointment! It is a very strange consistency and looks so uneven and cheap when it is on, it's so hard to work with and get an even coverarge. It was too messy looking to leave on my fingers but left it on my toes. It had chipped badly within days! I don't know about anyone else but even the the cheapest polish lasts forever on my toes and this had a top coat on! Very poor quality, such a crying shame as it is the most beautiful colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Fessyfare on 2/5/2014 3:09:00 AM more reviews by Fessyfare

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

What a shitty bottle of polish. Ugh. I wish I would have read the reviews before spending almost 9 dollars on this crap. It's clumpy, stringy and hard to apply. The color is absolutely beautiful in the bottle but looks a mess on the nails. Essie always looks better in the bottle. I've had a problem with a few others so I definitely won't be wasting my money on anymore. Do yourself a favor and don't buy this sorry excuse for a polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 starradke on 1/12/2014 9:19:00 PM more reviews by starradke

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this Essie nail polish a while back ago, and for some strange reason, I didn't try it until recently. Unlike most of the reviews on this polish, I love it! When I look at my nails from a further distance, it looks a bit dark, but when I see it a bit closer it is a stunning electric blue. Without a top coat, it finishes with a semi matte finish. Put on a top coat girl. It's gonna look fantastic!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrysim on 12/14/2013 1:04:00 AM more reviews by starrysim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a gorgeous colour. It's a true bright electric blue creme, which doesn't pull either purple or green. I bought it without reading reviews, and got scared after I checked MUA. I'm happy to report that, for me, it was much easier to work with than these reviews suggest. First coat was streaky, second coat was opaque and even. Isn't that like 90% of the nail polishes out there? Wear time was just average for me, hence 4 lippies instead of 5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jrl521 on 12/12/2013 10:19:00 PM more reviews by jrl521

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love Essie polishes, and I love this color. I get many compliments when I wear this color but is a shame that it chips within 2 days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Squarebulb on 12/12/2013 10:02:00 PM more reviews by Squarebulb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This polish is terrible. You would think that a company who charges $8 a bottle of nail polish would put out a decent product, but that's not the case with this one. The formula is extra streaky, I mean, there is no way to get a nice even coat of this polish. Save your money and skip this color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* listenlikethieves on 11/28/2013 9:30:00 AM more reviews by listenlikethieves

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Dr. Who fans will recognize this color as TARDIS blue, which is why I bought it. Just gorgeous. This gets me tons of compliments.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Avonlea82 on 11/21/2013 8:41:00 AM more reviews by Avonlea82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Generally, I like Essie polishes. I have quite a few. I really like the colour of this one but the formulation is problematic. It is very clumpy and it goes on streaky as well. It is very difficult to apply a nice light coat and because of this, and the clumpiness, the end result appears thick and ugly and not at all attractive. Too bad as I like the colour quite a lot but I think this one is going in the trash. I didn't buy this very long ago - a few months maybe. A few weeks back I bought the Watermelon from Essie and that formula works so much better - so it's not Essie overall, just Butler Please that I so far have had major issues with.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kimber7 on 10/21/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Kimber7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

SIMPLY AMAZING!! This color is so unique! I love Essie polishes overall but I find this formula to be especially nice. Very creamy, super coverage and impossibly beautiful color payoff. I did one coat and a top coat, perfect! I keep my nails shorter and this looks very nice on them. Longer nails might be a bit too much of a good thing. GET IT!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products