Essie Butler Please

2.4

76 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/13/2015 4:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I just recently purchased this so I am reviewing the revamped formula. I understand the old formula was horrendous. The new one is great. It applies easily with no issues, 2 coats and its done. It's not too thick or thin.

It's a beautiful cobalt blue that is intense. Sinful Colors Endless Blue is soooo close I can't tell them apart honestly. If you have one you don't need the other necessarily.



on 4/10/2015 12:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I, unlike most reviewers here, did not have much trouble working with this formula. I understand where they say it gets goopy. If applied too thickly, it will drag the polish and create a clump at the time. I applied a base coat, two THIN layers, and a top coat to add shine as this color dries without much shine on its own. But it did dry quickly. This color is so fun. I've received many compliments already.


on 3/16/2015 11:56:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this color! It's so pretty :) As for the formula, at first I thought it was terrible, but then after using it a few more times I got the hang of it. This type of formula is a little hard to work with so you have to apply it a bit differently then most polishes. What I do is I apply a base coat then I apply a thin layer of butler please. I let it dry then I apply a thick layer (and I mean thick) for the second coat. If I make the second coat thin then the application is not smooth and it's streaky. I know globing on nail polish is a big no no, but it works for this formula. First coat thin, second coat thick. It looks perfect. Then I just add my quick dry good to go top coat from essie and it dries fairly quickly. This polish doesn't take long to dry. Overall I love this polish and would definitely but it again :)


on 2/23/2015 7:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This polish made me go "ugh." Butler Please has the worst formula of any polish I own at the moment. Thick and gloopy. While the color is nice and unique, it doesn't make up for the unpleasant application.


on 2/6/2015 6:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

I'm not sure if I got a good bottle, if Essie reformulated this polish, or if I just have low standards, but to me Butler Please isn't that hard to work with. It gives opaque coverage in two coats, and the color is true to bottle, maybe even a bit more vibrant. The main problem I have with Butler Please is that it's not self-leveling at all, so it always dries with ridges and bumps. Thankfully, it's not that bad, so a layer of topcoat smooths everything out perfectly. Butler Please also dries to a confused satin matte finish, which makes applying a topcoat even more essential. I think the color alone makes up for the issues this polish has; it's a saturated medium blue that's between electric blue and cobalt. Bright and deep at the same time, so beautiful! Blue is one of my favorite nail colors, and Butler Please is definitely unique in my eyes. There seem to be a lot of polishes that are darker or lighter than it, but none that really match it. This definitely isn't a polish for those who want a fast and easy manicure, but If you're willing to fuss around with your polishes, consider this little beauty!


on 2/1/2015 6:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product at a clearance beauty supply in NYC and I actually got this for only $3. I was very disappointed with the outcome of this lovely looking blue, though! As others mention, the product applies thickly and unevenly. You have to work really quickly as the top layer dries quickly and it can easily become a mess. It also dries to a matte finish which I do not appreciate for a vibrant color like this :( I'll probably buy a dupe for this shade as this is a no-go for me.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very excited when I found this at my Shopper's. Yet when I looked at the bottle, it seemed separated and the color was foggy and greyish- not the bright bold hue online. Still I bought it. Took two coats for opacity and still streaky, thick yet somehow sheer. I think I purchased a bad bottle! Packaging the usual embossed glass essie bottle


on 11/4/2014 11:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Love the colour but it's literally the worst formula I've ever used. It's goopy, uneven, and chips like no other. Don't buy it.


on 9/13/2014 12:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I kept seeing this polish every time I went to Target, so I finally bought it. This is my first Essie polish and my first venture into brights. I love the color in the bottle, but on my fingers it looks cheap and tacky, like something a teen would wear. It goes on streaky and thick, despite feeling very liquid when you apply. I made quite a mess trying to apply it and have to re-do a couple of fingers. I wouldn't by this polish again, and will probably save it to wear on my toes next summer, especially since my boyfriend keeps complimenting the color. I'll try Essie again but make sure to research specific shades before buying.


on 7/18/2014 5:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Beautiful polish- Definitely a favourite of mine. It's a bright, almost electric cobalt blue. Darker in some lights and lighter in others, it's definitely a chameleon polish. I painted my nails with this colour on Tuesday night, it's now Friday and it's only starting to chip now, and I type a lot at work, so I can usually only get two days out of a manicure. It does go on streaky, but after 3 coats it's opaque and thick. It dries to a lovely semi-matte finish, which I love, mattes are always a plus for me.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

50 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
image

Lady Like

65 reviews
Back to Top