LUSH Let the Good Times Roll

4.4

72 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Maize Flour, Glycerine, Talc, Water (Aqua), Corn Oil, Polenta, Fair Trade Organic Cinnamon Powder, Perfume, Gardenia Extract, Popcorn


on 4/17/2015 9:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This lovely caramel corn-scented cleanser hasn't been a game-changer for me skinwise, but I still think it deserves five stars. I've been using it for about four months now, and I really appreciate the gentle exfoliant effect it has on my face. It doesn't strip any oil from my skin and doesn't irritate me. The product leaves no residue behind, so I always feel very clean after use. It's gentle enough for twice-daily usage.

I don't wear a full face of foundation every day, but what little makeup I do wear can be removed in full with a facecloth and a medium pinch of this product. However, I wouldn't recommend this to those among us who do wear heavier makeup, since Let the Good Times Roll contains no soap and doesn't lather.

I say that it hasn't been a game-changer because it hasn't done much to prevent redness and the occasional small breakout. Based on its fairly simple ingredients maize, cornmeal, glycerine, and popcorn I didn't really have high, pimple-reducing expectations for it to begin with. However, it leaves my skin feeling quite soft and smooth in general, and above all, clean, qualities I love in a daily cleanser.

I can't help but mention the fun aspects of this cleanser. It is activated by mixing a small piece with water, and I've enjoyed incorporating this step into my daily skincare ritual (though it might be a deterrent for the time-poor). I like to rub it on my legs to remove dead skin before rinsing and shaving, and it leaves me very soft. As an added bonus, Let the Good Times Roll has a strong sweet scent that I personally adore. I can usually smell it on myself, so this product probably isn't ideal for those who are sensitive to strong perfumes. However, my partner has noticed it and complimented me on my sweet soft cheeks. :~) Win-win tbh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using this cleanser in the morning for the past 4 months and I couldn't be more pleased with it, even though the price doesn't reflect the quality of its ingredients which are quite cheap. I have oily skin but I've noticed that if I use harsh detergents that strip all the oils, my skin tends to overcompensate by producing more sebum and I end up with more spots. The maize flour in this gently exfoliates while the oil and glycerin cleanse and moisturise the skin, leaving it nice and soft. It also smells gorgeous, which is a big plus.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2015 12:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I think this is a lovely scrub. Like with Angels on Bare Skin, I have no idea why it is marketed as a cleanser when it has no cleansing properties. Now, I have very dry, sensitive skin because of illnesses and gentle exfoliants are always part of my routine to buff away flakes and brighten. Angels on Bare Skin is my all time favorite exfoliant, even compared to products 3-4 times more expensive and so I thought I would try this one out. I was not disappointed at all. It leaves the skin smooth, bright, and even without stripping the skin. I had run out of my exfoliator and my skin is pretty much flawless and soft on it's own so I didn't think it would do much unless it was out of this world amazing, but after one use the texture and tone was improved a lot. The only complaint I have is that the scrubbing granules are a little harsh and can hurt the skin if you're sensitive, like me. Also the packaging sucks and is gross. But overall, it's lovely. It doesn't replace Angels on Bare Skin for me as my HG, but it's definitely amongst my top five exfoliants.


on 2/14/2015 1:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Let me start by saying I bought this 2 Christmases ago because it was a limited edition Christmas scrub. Then during boxing week last Christmas, I bought it again on a Lush spree. I've sinced used it all up, along with my boyfriend who loved it as well. Just ordered the large container of it online. When I bought this for the second time (this past December) I was breaking out for some reason. I was in and out of the hot tub in the dead of a Canadian winter, with the stress of the holidays and meeting extended family I've never even heard of. Finally seeing my dad for the first time in about a year.. maybe a bit more. Anyways I suppose you could say the stress is what caused me to break out all over my face. I'm not one to break out. I get the occasional pimple here and there but never anything serious. I have blackheads all over my nose and that's usually about it. My skin is pale (think vamp-y) and sensitive, oily on the nose and incredibly dry and rough on the cheeks in these cold months. After using it for about 2 days, my skin was clear again. No other product I've used has been as effective. 100% fantastic. As others mentioned it being too rough on their skin for every day use, I didn't find that (which is odd because even gel face washes without the exfoliant are too rough for me) The scent is perfect. Hard to explain what it smells like without also describing angels. It has that sweet cookie dough scent, but then wait its a little bit salty? But not salty.. just yummy. No word of a lie, I tried eating it to see if it tasted as good as it smells. It doesn't. lol. A little does go a long way, though I find I use more than I should because I love the feeling it has on my skin. The scrubbies are very very fine, not coarse. It doesn't lather, in case anyone was wondering, and the feeling after you rinse it off is slightly 'slimy'. Now, when I use other face washes, when I get out of the shower my entire face is itchy and tight and just so dry. The slimy residue LTGTR leaves is nice and moisturizing. So much that I don't have to put moisturizer in immediately. Once dry, there's no residual feeling. Just the super delicious smell. I love this product. I'd definitely buy again. (I actually did.. waiting for it to arrive in the mail..) The price is a little steep but I think for what you're getting in comparison to grocery store scrubs, its worth the money. The packaging is alright. Typical Lush recycled black tub, nothing special. If you don't like scooping it out with your fingers every time you use it, the container isn't good. But I don't mind. 10/10 for how the product works and smells. 7/10 on price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2015 4:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I initially began scoping out Lush products for two reasons: 1) I was looking for facial cleansers which do not contain tree nut ingredients, which I am allergic to, and 2) I was attracted to Lush's easy-to-read ingredients list. Let the Good Times Roll was my first purchase from Lush, and despite being quite nice in all other areas, it wasn't a great purchase as it is quite harsh on sensitive skin.

On first glance: the packaging is nice, it smells great, you only need to use a tiny amount each wash, and it works into a paste easily. It also did not contain any ingredients that irritated my sensitive skin--however, the texture of it is quite harsh. I do not use scrub exfoliants anymore, but back when I did, Let the Good Times Roll is something I might have used as an exfoliator, not as an every day face wash. I would not buy it again for this reason. If you have sensitive skin, I'd give this one a pass. Otherwise, it was nice.

*Pricing: While I don't think Lush's face washes are particularly overpriced with their intended 3 month date, I took a star off because the store I bought from sold me a pot with only 6 weeks left until its expiration date. The staff told me the one pot would last me about 6 weeks--it expired long before I used it all. If you're a first time buyer of Lush's face washes, make sure to check before purchasing! I just received Aqua Marina in the mail after purchasing it from the Lush website and the expiration date is about what it should be. I am liking the product more for my sensitive skin as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2015 11:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After using this for a couple weeks now, i'm in love with this product.
I wouldn't use it as a regular cleanser bc it is a bit thick exfoliator. I used it after using the regular cleanser, and it removed all dead skin cells. Feeling the thick texture of the product,
I thought it was going to be really harsh on my skin, but instead, it left my skin feeling dewy m moist and very fragrant. Prior to using this, I had a slight redness and breakout due to fine dust, but that also seems to have gotten better with this product!

Surprisingly satisfied with this exfoliator! :)


on 12/2/2014 11:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

THIS STUFF SMELLS AMAZING!! As far as my skin goes, I have acne prone, sensitive and dry skin (quite a combination). LTGTR is a great exfoliator. I have repurchased this stuff a couple of times because it smells amazing and does the job without breaking me out, which is rare. Don't get me wrong, for me personally, it hasn't been a miracle for my skin, it is simply an exfoliating cleanser that smells great. With that being said I still consider it five star as it is definitely worth having in your skin care collection when you need a good exfoliating and a nice glow to your skin.


on 11/11/2014 9:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Maize flower, glycerin and corn oil. Cheap, cheap, cheap ingredients. Everything else in this scrub is superfluous. You could make a half gallon of this at home yourself for the price of a large tub from Lush.

One of things that upsets me about Lush is their gimmicky marketing. Not that they don't have some great products, they absolutely do. But they also have a whole bunch of over priced, over hyped crud, and this is one of them. I mean pop corn? Really?

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2014 10:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I'm so torn with this product. On the one hand, it's an exfoliator that does wonders for when my skin is dehydrated and flaky. I use this as a scrub instead of a cleanser and it's just perfect for removing dead skin and leaving everything smooth and silky. You just can't beat the feel of this stuff when your skin is tired and dehydrated and Cryptkeeper-esque.

The downside is that it breaks me out a little bit. I hardly ever get honest-to-goodness pimples (knock on wood) and this stuff always gives me one little spot somewhere on my face. I don't know if it's the corn oil or what. I'm generally OK with glycerin so I don't think that's the issue. However, when my face is very dehydrated I'll probably continue using it. One pimple is better than a haggard, bumpy, dehydrated face any day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/22/2014 5:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like this, but as a gentle scrub and not a cleanser as advertised. It's a fine grained scrub packaged in one of LUSH's recycled black pots, relatively conveniently packaged as far as LUSH products go. I was hoping for something like Angels on Bare Skin but it's much scrubbier, and not something that I'd personally use everyday. That said, it's a nice gentle scrub (sand texture) with a delicious caramel/vanilla scent.

The biggest pros for this product are that it's almost all-natural (just a bit of synthetic perfume added), moisturising for a scrub, and no animal testing. Cons are that it's harsh as an everyday cleanser, and the included pieces of popcorn are completely useless.

LUSH on the whole makes a good range of mostly-natural skin cleansers, so I would still recommend this product if you're in the market for this sort of thing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top