Unlisted Brand • Renpure Ren Rosemary Mint Cleansing Conditioner • Shampoo

rated 3.0(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chowchowface on 12/15/2013 12:11:00 AM more reviews by chowchowface

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

As a cleansing condition, Renpure's Cleansing Conditioner performed so-so for me. I have thick, oily hair. I followed the directions on the bottle to the T but I got so-so result.

Firstly, the conditioner itself was a lot thinner than I imagined. It was watery and an opaque white. I have long hair so I used probably closer to 18 pumps to cover my head. I massaged it in for a few minutes and waited until the end of my shower to rinse it out. I spent a lot of time rinsing it out because my hair easily looks weighed down because it is so oily at the roots. I towel dried my hair and noticed that as my roots dried, they looked surprisingly clean. But as the rest of my hair dried, I noticed that the ends felt dried-out and even the dried hair felt like it was covered in some waxy, semi-oily residue. I guess I did not rinse one spot on the back of my head as thoroughly because it was really stringy and even oilier than the rest of my hair. While my hair wasn't as "dirty" looking as I thought it would be, it looked weighed-down and flat. There was no shine and softness to my hair at all. I ended up washing my hair later that night with a sulfate-free shampoo and my hair looked infinitely better- much less limp and stringy-looking.

I'm giving this 3 stars because instead of throwing this away, I decided to see how well it would work as a shaving cream on my legs. And it worked wonderfully like this- my razor glided over my skin like it never has before and I didn't nick myself once. And my legs were especially moisturized after the shower.

So as a cleansing conditioner for thick, oily hair? I don't think this would work out without weighing the hair down and making it dull and stringy. But as a shaving cream, it's pretty awesome. I'm glad I'm using it in some way or another.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladysonoma on 11/11/2013 8:57:00 PM more reviews by ladysonoma

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very nice cleansing conditioner. It smoothed, de-frizzed and de poofed my wavy hair. The only thing that I can say, negative about it, is this left my hair crunchier than HairOne and Wen. I have to say that, hands down, Hair One is better and perhaps equal to Wen. Renpure is also a great alternative, and you get more for your money. Also, I woke up the next morning and not a single hair was out of place. This Renpure might be good to have on hand as a replacement for hair gel and mousse. Even after I shook out the crunch, there was not a single hair out of place. After I slept on it - and I toss and turn like crazy - my hair was perfect. And when I say de frizzed and de poofed, I do mean not even a bit of frizz, which is hard to do with my hair. So anyway, this is not the best, but it has winning qualities. It might just be good to have as a back up for special occasions. Hair One and Wen for everyday use.

Hair One: 12 ounces $10 + shipping
Renpure: 16 ounces $13 + shipping
Wen: 6 ounces $20-$30 + shipping
(This is just based on where I live)

It seems they all have mint in them, though. I guess that's the active ingredient? I'm thinking about just buy some mint oil and making my own.

Next, I'll be trying the L'oreal and see how that goes.

Once more, over conditioning is a strong possibility with this, even for my porous hair type. Every other day or so, maybe every other couple of days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BethInAlaska on 8/28/2013 2:03:00 AM more reviews by BethInAlaska

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this on a whim after deciding not to try the Wen (cost). First time I used it i was very skeptical that my hair would feel clean. But it did feel clean. And it looked nice too - no frizz, shiny and smelled great (I actually used the pomegranate). I have thick but fine curly hair that is prematurely gray and kind of getting pubic-y in its texture, and this shampoo was a good way to smooth it without using dimethicone products (can't use these ). No problems with tangles. The second day ( I generally wash every other day) I could comb through and it looked nice and wavy, very good. By that night, I could see my hairline starting to look oily ( never ever happens).

And then it got hot outside and my scalp started to break out. And I wondered what causes it so I checked the ingredients. And I apparently had missed that it contained dimethicone. It's only enough to screw my scalp up if its warm out but I think its probably best for me to stay away from dimethicone all together,

So off to find a different , less economical product with no dimethicone! But I actually like this,product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 devitini on 4/8/2013 3:26:00 AM more reviews by devitini

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Please don't call something 'organic' when it's not! RAWR! Green-washing aggravation aside, I did not like this product. I bought this during a drugstore BOGO and during a happy love affair I was having with cleansing conditioners. I've never used WEN, so I cannot compare - but if WEN is *anything* like Ren, I would NEVER purchase it!

Pricing: Pricing was very fair for the amount provided.

Cleansing: I cleansed with this as I did with other products I use to 'co wash' - dilute with water, massage very well. In doing this I found this product to be an effective cleanser.

Conditioning: This product was a terrible conditioner. I would have to fight my wide-toothed comb through my hair post-shower, all effort towards trying to detangle my poor strands.

The brightside: It smells really nice! And overall let my hair feeling very soft and smooth, you know - after the half hour I spent detangling!

Overall would not purchase again. I don't see this as a good fit for somebody who has hair similar to my own (very long, thick, coarse) but could be effective for somebody who's hair is thinner or less coarse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shwin on 4/2/2013 9:07:00 PM more reviews by shwin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Like another reviewer says, this has zero cleansers in it... So if you have oily hair, don't bother. It was great the first day after using a clarifier so that my hair would be rid of any left overs from my other cleansing conditioners. Every use after that slowly became more and more built up and greasy. I'm not sure what to do with the rest. I even tried using it as a leave-in conditioner just for the hell of it and as a condition to regular shampoo and it was still a greasy mess. I gave it one lippy only because it does control frizz.... by weighing down.

I went back to L'Oreal Cleansing conditioner. Wen is too expensive but to be honest I love L'Oreal's scent better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PrairieRoseGoldDust on 3/13/2013 12:47:00 PM more reviews by PrairieRoseGoldDust

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think this is a great product, but, then again, I haven't used shampoo on my hair in at least ten years. Before this product, I would use only conditioner, diluted, as a 'wash' for my hair. My hair is color treated, very long, thick, wavy and somewhat dry. I normally use only Moroccan Oil to style my hair, and a dab of Moroccan Oil Curl Cream or Ojon Restorative to tame frizziness. So, bearing that history in mind, I may have a somewhat different take on Renpure Cleansing Conditioner than some other reviewers because I'm not used to shampoo anymore. I haven't felt that squeaky clean feeling in years - and my hair has been happier for it. After using Renpure for a couple of months, I found that this product works best mixed with at least an equal amount of water, possibly even two thirds water and one third product. It really seems to be key in making it work well for me. I transfered some to an empty Renpure container (I save cosmetic containers because I make some of my own beauty products!), added water and shook it up to mix. Since I can't stand the tedium of pumping enough for my long hair (it takes alot of pumps to really get enough product!) so I just open up the bottle and pour it out. I kind of wish it came in a non pump bottle, but that's no biggie. I massage it through my hair and scalp, let it sit as I finish my shower and then rinse. Normally I add Moroccan Oil and let my hair air dry. I'm left with great body, beautiful waves and gorgeous, soft, shiny, lovely hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmburk on 2/28/2013 4:12:00 PM more reviews by pmburk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Let me start by saying that although I am caucasian (Irish-American), my hair is incredibly thick and very coarse. I home color it and heat-style, so it is dry and somewhat damaged. I bought this since I cannot bring myself to drop the money on Wen. Although this contains a light 'cone (amodimethicone), it isn't loaded down with them like Hair One or the Lisa Rachel cleansing conditioners are. First, the rosemary mint smells amazing, and it feels awesome on my scalp. The product itself is thick, creamy, and had plenty of "slip." I had no problems spreading it through my hair & detangling. I had NO issues whatsoever with tangling, contrary to all the online reviews stating otherwise. After the final rinse, my hair feels totally clean, but also very moisturized - not at all coated, waxy, or dirty. Overall I think this is a fantastic product for someone with hair like mine - thick, coarse, dry, and damaged. I can see this being too heavy for people with normal, thin, or fine hair. Even with my thick/coarse hair, if you use Ren exclusively and if you use styling products (especially anything with 'cones as this won't fully remove them) this can leave your hair feeling coated, and you will get scalp build-up. I find that if you shampoo every few times, and use the Ren as a conditioner after, it works just as well. I wash my hair 2-3 times per week, and I use shampoo/conditioner probably every other time, alternating with Ren. This works best for me, rather than using Ren exclusively.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 leamarie1 on 1/27/2013 3:43:00 AM more reviews by leamarie1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is garbage!!! I've been using Wen for 4 years & nothing compares to it. My hair felt so dirty after using it that I actually used shampoo to wash it out. It has no cleansing agents in it, too many oils. It feels like you put wax on your hair. And Wen is cheap cuz you don't need styling aids. I threw it right in the garbage! Don't waste your money. Use it on Wen. If you can't afford Wen then try hair one at Sally's, or Loreal creme cleansing conditioner or any sulfate free S/C. But I have the best hair of my life since using Wen. Nothing can ever compare

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 11/3/2012 8:51:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I spotted this on sale (buy one, get one free) at my local Rite Aid, and I thought I'd give it a try. It's a sulfate-free, non-lathering, cleansing conditioner much like Wen Cleansing Conditioner but at a 1/3 of the price. This smells good, and the price is right, but that is where the good times end. I had to use way more than the 10-12 pumps recommended in the directions, and I have short hair. After I rinsed, my hair felt tangled. So, I used a little of the product as a leave-in conditioner as recommended in the directions and blow dried my hair. The results were a tangled mess that felt heavily coated. My hair also looked greasy within 24 hours. This might work for someone with very coarse hair, but it was a disaster on my medium fine hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellbreaker on 10/22/2012 1:08:00 AM more reviews by hellbreaker

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I picked this up after trying several other cleansing conditioners (first Wen and then L'Oreal Everpure). Wen is absolutely my favorite, but at $30 for 8 ounces, its pretty unreasonable to use on my long, thick hair (it would take about 1/8 of the bottle to get it to completely clean my hair).

Overall I think this is a pretty decent product for what you pay for ($10 for 16 ounces, I still use the same amount as Wen, but it is significantly cheaper per use). However, it DOES NOT REMOVE PRODUCT BUILDUP OR OIL. Therefore I only recommend this if you have drier hair and don't use styling product. If you're trying to cut back on shampooing this is an excellent transitional product.

Since using it (about 2 weeks) the texture of my hair has improved tremendously. I no longer have any fly-aways, wispies, or frizz. My hair looks gorgeous air-dried. It smells fantastic and certainly leaves my scalp feeling clean, moisturized, and slightly tingly. I will definitely repurchase since the price is too great to pass up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Shampoo products