Essence • Better than gel nails high gloss top sealer [DISCONTINUED] • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.8(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.8
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MymyD on 10/17/2013 3:10:00 PM more reviews by MymyD

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I soooo love this product! Bought it since the reviews were tremendously positive, and I needed something that made my polish stay longet non-chipped. This product is easy to apply, dries super fast and gives an extreeeme gloss! Bought 3 bottles bcs they're sold out so fast normally. Have been doing a lot of chores around the house the last couple of days, but none of them seem to bothet my BTGN topcoat, it's still on perfectly!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NikitaRose on 7/14/2013 6:49:00 AM more reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

This is my first high-shine top coat so I am not sure how well it works, all I know is that my nails end up looking amazing, almost professionally done after I put it on. The texture is very thick and almost goopy so I can imagine the product will get used up fast. Sometimes it seems that my manicure starts chipping faster but it's a bit unfair to attribute that to only this top coat. All that matters is that it makes my nails look beautiful, it's especially flattering on a pale pink nail polish. Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Peskypixie on 4/23/2013 2:12:00 AM more reviews by Peskypixie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my HG topcoat. It's really expensive to get from Europe, but they don't sell this line or a comparable product here. If I cap my tips and refresh (usually with Color Club Vivid) my manicure looks good for 7+ days with just tipwear.


I have noticed that if it is applied before my polish is dry it can be a little streaky. I usually spend and episode or two of a BBC miniseries doing my nails, so I can't really comment on drying time. I have noticed that I don't get any marks with this. I will usually use quick dry drops to speed the process up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alexskyline on 3/26/2013 1:51:00 PM more reviews by alexskyline

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

There are two kinds of BTGN top coats: the fast dry one and the high gloss one (little blue triangle on the label). According to the official list of ingredients from the Essence website, the former contains phthalates (hence many complain on the strong smell, I guess), so I went for the former, which I'll be reviewing.

I've had it on my nails for only three days so far, but I can already say it's miraculous! No tipwear whatsoever, very glossy, and doesn't scratch easily. The application was a breeze, too: this top coat has just the right viscosity and flows easily, self-levels, and doesn't dry with a visible bumpy edge between the polish and itself (looking at you, Seche!) No shrinkage observed (used with China Glaze polish), although I can't yet comment on its nail art performance.

The drying time may not be minute fast, but once it's set and dry, it's rock solid. I have a nasty habit of going hard on my freshly painted nails, and usually end up with polish being pulled in folds off my tips, but not with this one.

While it may depend on one's perception, I didn't notice any bad smell neither during, nor after application. In fact, it's one of the least smelliest polishes I've used!

Lastly, I can see how the opaque bottle may be a problem (you don't want to run out of this stuff!), I like it, too. It's a pretty metallic grey and can be easily distinguished from my other lacquers. The brush is ok: about the same shape and thickness as those of Nails Inc or Rimmel.

Aaaaand it's cheap! (Mine was about 3 euros.)

Final verdict? So far, I love this product very much and definitely recommend looking for it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misszb on 2/11/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by misszb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this, it's my HG topcoat! It makes my nails look shiny, it dries them quickly and my nail polish doesn't chip at all!
The only con, i would say, is the brush (because i really like those wider brushes) but i don't really care that much because it's a clear topcoat

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chester99 on 2/3/2013 12:55:00 PM more reviews by Chester99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is the best top coat I have tried so far. It dries my manicures very fast, doesn't get overly thick over time, does not shrink on me, is cheap and readily available to me.

IMO this great product has only one downside: the black packaging. I'm not able how much I've used up already and when I need to get another bottle. Not even tipping it under a bright light helps as the bottom is also black. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FakeLashes on 12/9/2012 6:44:00 PM more reviews by FakeLashes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I already bought my second bottle of this, so yes I would repurchase. This was actually made to use with the Better Than Gel Nails set that Essence offers but I use it over my normal nailpolish. And let me tell you, bye bye Seche Vite and all those other fast drying top coats that shrink your manicure and hello BTGN! This gives your nails that glossy salon look, dries very quickly and it's cheap! Essence brought out two of these top coats one for high shine and this for fast drying don't buy the other one it's crap! ;) Now the things that I dont't like and hence the lippie off, is that on my nails I did not notice that it helps with chipping but no top coat really does that, at least not on me! And just like the other reviewer I also don't like the opaque bottle because I don't wanna be without this and I would like to know how much is still left so I know when to repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PrettyL on 11/29/2012 5:22:00 AM more reviews by PrettyL

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A new favorite top coat. I wear it over regular nail polish on natural nails. Dries super fast. Super glossy, shiny finish. Cheap!! I'm wearing it over my current mani, had it on for over a week with no touch-ups and have only minimal tipwear. Definite repurchase. I also love Mavadry and Sally Hansen Insta Dri, but may switch over to this exclusively as it's a lot cheaper.

Only downside is the opaque packaging, but I've heard you can scratch off the paint somehow so you can see how much is left.

(ETA: this review is actually for "better than gel nails top sealer"... there are a few different versions (plain, high gloss, quick dry?) and I'm not sure whether/to what extent they differ (and some may be discontinued, I'm not sure), but just wanted to point out that my review was for this particular version)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hoppla on 10/16/2012 10:19:00 AM more reviews by Hoppla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This clearly has to be my best purchase of the year!

This top coat has to be the shiniest on the market.
They make my nails look like I have just had a professional manicure.
Gives a gel like look and is super shiny.

Applies very well and dries super quick. I get the impression that it makes the polish underneath dry a lot quicker.as well.

This is my absolutely favorite top coat of all times by a mile.
Definately will buy lots more, love this product so much.

I recently wore this top coat over Catrice forget me not and it made the polish last 11 days, without any chips at all :-))). On day 11 I removed my many cos I got bored. It would have probably lasted even longer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Essence products

More Top/Base Coats products