Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector in moonstone

4.3

23 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

-Vitamins A, B, D, and E: Guard against daily damage caused by free radicals. -Avocado Oil: Provides antioxidants and emollients. -Witch Hazel: Tightens the appearance of skin and reduces the look of puffiness and redness. -Aloe Extract: Soothes the skin. Water, Glycerin, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Homosalate, Glyceryl Stearate, Octyldodecanol, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane (Avobenzone), Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Trilaureth-4 Phosphate, Propylene Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Hamamelis Virginiana Witch (Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Water), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Ceteareth-12, Ceteareth-20, Phenoxyethanol, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Paraffinum Liquidum/Mineral Oil/Huile minerale, Glucose, Fructose, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Alcohol Denat, Dextrin, Sucrose, Urea, Propylparaben, BHT, Hexyl Nicotinate, Glutamic Acide, Aspartic Acid, Alanine, Aloe Barbadensis Extract (Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract), Butylparaben, Parfum (Fragrance). May contain/peut contenir [+/-]: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77499), Tin Oxide, Mica.


on 5/22/2015 7:37:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was excited to try the shimmering skin perfectors after seeing Lisa Eldridge praise them in her videos. I've been searching for a while for a liquid highlighter. The cheaper ones all seem to have too much shimmer that they begin to border on glitter, while the more expensive ones are not easily accessible for me. I think that this is expensive for a liquid highlighter. The packaging is a bit disappointing. I am not rough with my products and I haven't taken this on travels yet there are multiple cracks running through the lid and it just does not look durable. The shade itself, I guess I would describe as a warm toned yellow gold champagne. It is gorgeous but not too pigmented. This is not a particularly intense highlight and some might find that in comparison to the balm's Mary Lou, this lacks oomph.
It doesn't look like rocket science but I actually had difficulties getting this to work on my skin. I tried fingers, brushes and sponges and it would apply too sheer, mess up my foundation or would make my skin look like it had a dry texture where I applied it. I think it is due to the slight tackiness of the formula that it moved my foundation around or lifted up the skin during application. I did find a method that worked for me and this is to rub it between my fingers and warm it up and then I pat it onto my cheekbones. This must thin out the formula or something as it then applies beautifully. It really makes you look as if you have an inner glow and it makes you lovely and dewy without looking greasy. It also seems to meld into the skin beautifully given that it really suits my warm complexion. It becomes a part of my face rather than looking like I applied it on top. However, I feel like I need a bit more impact from a highlight and while I do really like this, I cannot repurchase it at this price when Mary Lou pleases me enough and is much more affordable.



on 5/5/2015 1:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have found my HG hightlighter in a cream form. This stuff is magic. I bought the travel size for $19 and oh my -- that is more than enough! It doesn't mess up my makeup when I dab it onto my cheekbones after makeup. I mix it in with my moisturizer for an all over glow. It looks so natural on my fair skin and I just love the effect out of all my highlighters.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS: Love the tone of the yellowish gold. Won't leave you greasy at all. Gives you a glow under or over your foundation, especially as highlights. Works for me when I'm NC15 to NC25.


CONS: This particular one would probably be too yellow for cool-toned people. And although there are others too choose from, the lighter one than this is a LOT lighter, as in practically white. And the darker one is a LOT darker. So if you're fair enough to wear this one but want more cool-toned, you'd probably be out of luck. Another con, at least for me, is that it doesn't give you any slip or even a little additional moisture, like I like a primer to. And if you have wrinkles, be prepared for this to make them more obvious. This has more sparkle than I expected from the other reviews describing it.








3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2015 3:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I tried to tell myself i didnt need this, bought it once, and returned it, then bought it again. It's hard to justify the price.

I have the pressed powder, and smooth this over my cheek bones and the inner third of the eyelid. Its super subtle, but makes you look fresh and awake. I also love benfefit highbeam, but this is slightly subtle, more transparent and gold rather than pearl pink. Hard cores will want both, for sure.

I short this one lippie because i have to believe theres something similar for less money!

This would be great all over for the super pale. I'm nc25 with yellow undertones, so this is strictly a highlighter. I muchly prefer this to the matte skin toneish highlighters you get when contouring. I also got opal in liquid and pressed powder, and all together the effect is stunning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2015 12:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing amazing product. There is nothing else that comes close! It's so beautiful, so worth the money!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really love this product, and find it expensive though very high quality. I prefer my skin to look dewy, and this product does it very well. I mix it in with foundation, or use it to highlight my cheekbones, cupids bow etc.

I bought this in the travel size from Sephora, and I am glad because I probably won't even finish it before the product goes bad. I would never go through a fullsize product. I chose the colour moonstone because I am very fair, with slightly warm undertones, and it is a good choice for me. It is very light with slight gold to it. I would almost compare it to Josie Maran's highlighter, which seems a bit more concentrated and glittery. I much prefer BECCA, though I also enjoy Josie Maran's. The luminosity in Becca is not chunky or glittery - it looks very natural. It does not emphasize any fine lines for me.

Sometimes I find that there is too much luminosity if I use it in conjunction with a very dewy foundation (such as MAC face and body foundation). I do not have oily skin but my skin actually looks oily if I pair it together with my MAC F&B, without any powder. I own this in the pressed powder as well, which I use if I am going to use a heavier foundation powder on my face, as I find it blends with my powder better than the liquid version.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2014 9:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Man, don't i hate the pump dispenser!!! it gets so much out that half of it goes to waste or I'd end up looking like a disco ball.

I am not quit sure if I like it, I regret the 50$ I spent on it let me say that.

It doesn't last very long on my face, it messes up my foundation even with a small stippling brush or fingers..i'm unsure if i like it.

I love the color though. I think that the pressed version would have been much better.

I try it under or mixed with the foundation for a glowy finish and that's much better.

I think dry skin would really like this. But it doesn't last long. I got opal in pressed powder and I love it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2014 5:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this product but don't understand the huge bottle. I use such a small amount that it makes no sense to me not to also sell a smaller size. I ended up decanting some of this into a Muji squeezie tube and use that instead. I haven't tried the other shades but Moonstone is very subtle on my fair to medium skin. I tend to use this as a highlighter on my cheeks rather than mixed in with foundation because I love how it adds youthfulness to use it sparingly. I've actually had comments when wearing this about my youthful glow! Clear winner!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2014 3:36:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Own it in moonstone. Will use Pearl in winter. Glows. Great on this aging skin. Not at all glittery.


on 4/20/2014 4:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

For skin ref, I am about a NW20-25 and I have combination/oily skin. I have this in the liquid version.

I've seen Lisa Eldridge use this a lot in her tutorials and it looked so great on every model she put this on. When I went to Sephora to get this, I cringed at the price...$41. Mind you I'm a college student and my wallet isn't that full...but I bought it anyways.

Oh man, this was probably one of the BEST decisions I've ever made.

I probably got this about 5 months ago and it barely looks like I've used a lot of the bottle! You really just need a pinch of this on your hand (maybe the size of a pea) I use this mainly on the top of my cheek bones, browbones, sometimes inner corners of my eyes and on my cupid's bow on top of my lip. This blends like a dream on top of my skin. It gives me that fantastic kind of a golden glow and it's not overly glittery like my ol' Benefit's High Beam was. It's so natural looking and it lasts about 6-7 hours on me.

I said I'd probably repurchase but this bottle is going to last me for a very, very long time! I'm really happy with it and very worth the $41 for me! Can't wait to use this over the summer when I get more color under the sunshine!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Becca Products

Back to Top